We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good for the price.”
Review of Hotel La Pradera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Pradera
Gardermoen, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good for the price.”
Reviewed February 3, 2007

Very charming and good hotel. Good value for the money! The people that worked there where friendly and offerd a good service. The organised trips and even helped me with getting my next hotel. The breakfast was just ok, but else everything was great for the price. Will recommend!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Ines R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    163
    39
    11
    6
See reviews for
81
175
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2007

We stayed in the cabins and had a wonderful experience. The cabins are "like new" and our cabin was part of a group that was nestled in the woods with a great balcony view of the volcano. Its not the lava side, but still beautiful. The pool area was georgous and the walking path from the dining room to our cabins was georgous and lush with tropical foliage. The staff was helpful, but if you don't speak spanish make sure you "brush up" before going because they speak almost no english which can be a little complicated.

  • Liked — The privacy of the cabins
  • Disliked — The langauge barrier with the staff
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank rileyreese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2007

We arrived without a reservation, switching from another hotel in Fortuna that we weren't happy with. Since we stayed on a Sunday night when it wasn't busy, the hotel gave us a great discount that made it affordable for us.
La Pradera has awesome views of the volcano right in front of the hotel. The pool is beautiful blue tiles, and the cabins are new, made up of all wood which looked like teak or cedar, and are very quiet, with ceramic tiled roofs. Some rooms are not in the cabins- you need to decide whether to stay in a "room" or a "cabin". I thought the cabins were much more charming and desirable and include a very comfortable front porch with rocking chairs, and ceramic tiles throughout the cabin.

Staff is very friendly and attentive. There are two computers available for guests to use and it is very reasonable with internet fees of only 400 colones for 1/2 hour (about 80 cents). Rooms have cable tv, and you can actually watch the NBC channel from Erie PA, plus there is hot water in the attractively-tiled bathroom, and an air conditioner.

Hotel is situated 2 km from downtown Fortuna, so it is about a 20 minute walk to stores and restaurants. There are about three restaurants close to La Pradera, about 5 minutes away, but they were pricey relative to the restaurants in Fortuna. We ate at the hotel in the open air restaurant, and the food was very good.
The only downside is that there is apparently a skating rink close by, and music was blasting until 10pm. However, after 10pm, it was very quiet.
I would recommend La Pradera and would stay there if I were to return to the area.

  • Liked — The clean, charming cabins and awesome view of the Volcano.
  • Disliked — The loud skating rink nearby and the snake we saw as we walked to our cabin.
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a discount, especially if you arrive off-season.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank LauraNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2007

We enjoyed our stay at La Padera. We stayed in one of the cabinas. The room was large and clean, and the bathroom was too. We had a view of the volcano from our front porch, although the hotel isn't on the lava-side of the volcano. The breakfast is great and the pool is small but nice. The location is convenient, although it is right off the road, so it is a little noisy. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and arranged tours for us to both Cano Negro & Rio Celeste (both were great - esp. Rio Celeste!).

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank scout4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2006

When traveling with friends to the Arenal Volcano area we needed a budget-friendly yet not barebones hotel. Hotel La Pradera was reasonably priced, the rooms were spacious and clean, and the grounds, while not overly fancy, were full of flowers and very pleasant. The pool area is lovely, and if Arenal hadn't been perpetually topped with clouds, the view of the mountain would have been superb.
The only drawback was that our room was near the road and the traffic was clearly heard. Request a room farther back on the property.
Staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were great as well. A good buy for the money and a great location for the many activities in the area

  • Liked — Good Value
  • Disliked — Traffic noise
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to Tabacon Hot Springs for a day. It is well worth it
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank SirVerity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2006

La Pradera is about 2km west of La Fortuna and the property is right across the street from the volcano which dominates the view. The grounds are nicely landscaped and there are two nice swimming pools. Our room was basic and clean with satellite TV, good air conditioning and hot water, and a small porch with chairs to relax while admiring the volcano. The restaurant and bar area was pretty plain and uninspiring. The only meal we ate there was the free breakfast which was basic but good nonetheless. There is fast internet connection available in the lobby. I think it was $4/hour.

Overall it was a good bargan - we paid $65 for one night with all taxes and breakfast included

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 22, 2006

My Husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during our 3 week honeymoon in Costa Rica. We loved this hotel! We stayed in the Bungalows here ( a little more expencive than the normal rooms) and we loved it! They were very clean and looked like they were brand new! We loved the King Size bed!! The bathroom had a huge shower!! We loved that! The pool was very nice wtih a nice waterfall. The view of the Volcano was amazing!! Don't bother spending more money to be at one of the overpriced hotels closer to the Hot Springs, it is not worth it! This hotel has everything, if not more than what they can offer. It is only a few min from the Hot Springs. The staff was great! They were super helpful! They helped us book tours and activities. We spent the first day on a hike to the waterfall, which is a must see!!! The walk is well worth it! The weather was beautiful when we were there, it was cloudy, but the clouds moved very quickly and we had clear views of the Volcano more than once. We also went on a tour up the Volcano and then to the Hot Springs in the evening. IT was great! The Volcano erupted while we were on it!! Really cool!! I would not recommend going to the Hot Springs during the day, I can't even imagin it!! We went at night, and it was perfect!! Not too hot! We even saw the lava flowing down the Volcano that night!!! How cool!!

The Resturant at this hotel was very good!! We loved the food, they have excellent beef!! A must try! The breakfast included was excellent too! Lots of fresh fruit and the coffee you have to bring home with you! We stocked up!!

Overall, we loved this hotel and would deffinatley stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#30 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#26 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pradera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pradera

Property: Hotel La Pradera
Address: 2 Km West From la Fortuna, San Carlos | (on the way to Arenal Volcano), Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Pradera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pradera Hotel
Hotel La Pradera Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing