We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet hot tub, great cabins” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Pradera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Pradera
Seabeck, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sweet hot tub, great cabins”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2009

The rooms are super nice, we stayed in a cabin with another couple and it was really affordable and spacious. The room had a great shower and roomy deck. The grounds were lush and manicured, the staff was nice, a cute little boy showed us to our room. Had the volcano not been covered with fog the whole time we were there I'm sure we would have had an amazing view. The restaurtant was fabulous! Get the japapeno steak every night or you will regret it for the rest of your life. The only problem with this place is it is not really walking distance to town, we didn't really find this to be a problem, it doesn't cost much to get there, it's also on the way up to the volcano so that is nice. The hot tub is HUGE and the pool was nice too. You can set up any adventure through the hotel, very convenient. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobopug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    158
    38
    11
    6
See reviews for
79
168
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NSW Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

I stayed here mid Nov 2009. View of the volcano is amazing, especially from the hot tub. Food was wonderful and at great prices. The staff were extremely helpful. They arranged all our tours very well. A cabin cost us about US$80 per night for 2 people including breakfast with complimentary crowds of hummingbirds buzzing in the flowering trees right outside our door. Rooms were clean and serviced daily. I only wish I'd found more time to sit in the rocking chairs on the verandah and enjoy the views but we were too busy throwing ourselves around art galleries, hanging bridges and riding horses up Arenal Volcano. I would return to La Pradera in a heartbeat. If you go, take a taxi to DANAUS Gardens, a 5 min ride to the other side of town. That's where you'll see Morpho butterflies, Blue Jeans frogs, beautiful birds and we even saw a sloth! Danaus does not seem to be very well known by tourists. We saw more animals there in 40 mins (which was all the time we had left on our last morning) than on the Cano Negro trip.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ozjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

I ate lunch next to a volcano. enough said.
No really, this place is great. When you check in they give you a page long list of fun stuff to do in the area from ATV tours, canyoning (which i did), ziplines, horseback riding, rafting, etc....
The location is great. Tabacon hot springs and La Fortuna are about 5 minutes away.
The view from our room was spectacular! We just walked out and there was a volcano right at our front door.
The restaurant was great. I had the best soup ever. It came in a bowl the size of my head and was only 5 bux. I couldn't even finish it. And 2 beers for 2000 colones!! That's like $3.50. I saved the receipt because that will never happen again....unless i go back :)
The staff was very friendly. They set up all the fun stuff that we did.
I'll let the pictures speak for themselves.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skylahnite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

This hotel is gorgeous, has incredible views of the Arenal Volcano. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the prices are reasonable. There is a restaurant on site that prepares delicious food for good prices as well. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jackiepace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

This hotel is just a bit down the road from town and so was nice and quiet. It is impeccably kept and the gardens and pools are among the cleanest I have ever seen. The desk staff help set up any adventures you would like and the breakfast provided will tempt any appetitie!!
I love the porches to sit on and watch teh butterflies and hummingbirds play against the awesome view of the Arenal Volcano.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reneezd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ON
Level Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2009

Nice hotel to overnight when going to see the Arenal volcano and Baldi Hot springs. The staff is really nice and a close taxi ride to the town. The town of Fortuna has many places to stay but we were happy with this hotel - best of all, it was only $60 for two people in an AC, cable TV room.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank voyagerprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Ca.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

This hotel was a great place to stay. The location is right in front (or back) of the volcano. While you won't be able to see the lava you may be lucky enough to see the top on a clear morning. The included breakfast was great. There is one computer with free internet use. The pool is an added plus. The regular rooms are sufficient--comfortable beds, A/C, TV, and a well sized bathroom. The cabins, while quaint, aren't much more than the standard rooms. They have a bit more space to spread out, and a mini-fridge. We had more bugs in our cabin that our friends did in the regular room. The cabins' walls have slats that can let in the occasional bug, especially at night when the lights are on inside. Be sure to bring a flashlight. The paths, specifically those leading to the cabins, are pretty dark at night. Overall, a good location, good food, nice staff, and clean rooms. Not directly in La Fortuna, but a comfortable cab ride away. Much nicer than the hotels we saw in La Fortuna.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn2181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#29 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#25 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pradera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pradera

Property: Hotel La Pradera
Address: 2 Km West From la Fortuna, San Carlos | (on the way to Arenal Volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Pradera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pradera Hotel
Hotel La Pradera Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing