We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this PLace - God Location”
Review of Hotel La Pradera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Pradera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2009

Really enjoyed our stay at La Pradera. The grounds are really nice and spacious, so was the room. Very clean room, nice big bed and loved our front porch. Location is good, only a $3 taxi ride to the main strip in La Fortuna. Breakfast was really good too, two options of a typical Costa Rican breakfast or an american Breakfast. My wife was tired of the rice, beans, and fried plantains after a while, so the American Breakfast was good for her. This place also had a computer in their lobby where you could check your email and do some research for free. Pool area was very nice, but didn't get to enjoy it much since it was raining the whole time we were there. At night we would walk the grounds of the resort and look for frogs onthe palm trees, in the morning, we would set tons of humming birds. one night while kicking back on the porch, i saw a giant milipede.. it was awesome!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rawkneee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Pradera
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 382 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2009

Positives:
--AMAZING breakfast included in the price
--Rooms are set back from main road, so its very quiet
--Patio w/ chairs in front of all the bathrooms
--Excellent maid service - very clean rooms
--Free fast internet in the office
--Restaurant (and bar) on-site if you're feeling lazy
--Very reasonable price given all this!
--Pool, and the biggest hot tub I've ever seen

The only potential negative is that it is a good 15-20 min walk to town along a busy road (not something you want to do at night). But taxis are cheap (and we had a rental car).

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcornel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2009

My husband and I were in Costa Rica for our honeymoon in June of 08. Our first stop was La Fortuna/Hotel La Pradera. We absolutely loved Hotel La Pradera. We stayed in the little cabins and would definately recommend them for anyone who stays there. The grounds of the hotel were amazing and it felt like a resort with all the flora! La Fortuna offers a taste of "real" Costa Rica. You get a taste of their culture and if you are open to talking to guides and hotel workers there is more than meets the eye in this small town!

It was amazing to sit in the pool/hot tub and be able to look right up at the Volcano. Everyday we were there it would rain almost on the dot of 2 pm for about 45 mins. We would sit on our patio and play cards and enjoy a cerveza!

The walk/bike to town was do-able. Just keep in mind you will be walking/biking the whole way back from town. And the taxis were reasonable. It is nice to have a car to get out to Arenal Waterfall (which is a must) as well as to the other side of the volcano where it is easier to see the lava at night. There are car rental places in town that are very cheap for a day rental! Very worth it!

The breakfast which was include was great! Definately recommend the desayano typico! The resturant was so-so, but many better options in town!

As far as tours I would recommend the Pure Trek Canyoning tour. It is repelling down waterfalls and words can not describe how amazing it was! We also did the canopy tour which is a must when traveling Costa Rica! We also hiked down to Arenal Waterfall. Such a great trip, swimming by the waterfall, playing in the rapids.

Overall Hotel La Pradera/La Fortuna was an excellent place to visit/stay! We left there to head to the coast where we stayed at an all-inclusive and on the second day there we were wishing we were back in La Fortuna. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank witraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2009

My husband and I spent 4 nights in Arenal area at La Pradera hotel. The hotel is close to La Fortuna - an easy walk. We also walked to the Waterfalls from the hotel -- a not so easy walk. La Pradera is one of many roadside hotels along the main road. We did not have a car and I would recommend a car if staying in the area. The hotel service is very friendly and will arrange your tours, cabs etc. You get towels for the pool at the front desk. Pool area is very nice and a good place to met other guests. The water in the pool was too cold but the hottub is warm and enjoyable. The restaurant was nice but served only until 8pm. They had a special menu for hotel guests - salad, entree, dessert and a glass of wine for $12. The restaurant's pet parrot was a delight. We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet - local fare, fresh fruit, eggs, pancakes. The restaurant is wireless.

We stayed in a very roomy cabin with a refrigerator and hair dryer. There were 2 queen beds and a porch. The only problem was where to store your clothes. We put them on one of the beds. We could see the volcano from our cabin but since it was always rainy or cloudy, the view was limited. I don't think we saw the sun the whole time. We were told this wasn't unusual. Seeing the sun was a happening according to the locals. Our room was clean and our maid each day created towel art for us. My only complaint with the room were the sheets. They were like sheer curtains. The website said laundry service but I think that means clean towels. There are laundry services available along the main road in La Fortuna.

All in all we liked the hotel and the activities but not the weather.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDNPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

I recently spent 10 days in Costa Rica, 2 nights of which were at La Pradera. The area is beautiful & the property grounds are as well. There's a nice size pool with waterfall & pretty nice jacuzzi too. With a very clear wide view of the Arenal volcano, you really can't go wrong for the price. The bathrooms have nice tile & the rooms were very clean. Everyone that worked there was also very eager to please. With a hot buffet breakfast included, $65.00 including tax is my version of Costa Rican luxury. It's not a resort, but when you get there, you will see it's a NICE option. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingMiamiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

The Hotel La Pradera is set in a beautiful place and a great location to see Volcan Arenal. Unfortunately, it rained almost the entire time that we were there. I´ve visited the area before and so know what it can look like when the sky is clear.

I traveled with a church mission group to the hotel. We had negotiated a good rate but on our arrival, the hotel staff refused to honor the rate.

I stayed in room 47. It was a good basic room with a working television and a comfortable double bed. The shower head was a real trip and the water flow was not consistent. There was only a full sized towel with no face cloth. Breakfast was okay but very slow. There were only two tables occupied when I went to eat breakfast. There were several staff members hanging around just talking. Because of the rain, and a jolt from Arenal in the middle of the night, I was awakened a number of times with the loud noise from the roof. It appeared to be fiberglass and made a lot of noise with the rain beating down. I did not find that charming.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2009

Nice place to stay while in La Fortuna. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to town and a $2 taxi ride back which is convenient. Nice grounds and pool. The front desk was helpful with arranging a car rental and zipline tour which was great!!! . They also have a really good buffet breakfast. We had a standard room which was pretty basic but comfortable. Would definitely recommend..

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank possystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#34 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
244 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
574 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Magic Mountain
Hotel Magic Mountain
#20 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
770 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pradera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pradera

Address: 2 Km West From la Fortuna, San Carlos | (on the way to Arenal Volcano), Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $68 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Pradera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pradera Hotel
Hotel La Pradera Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing