We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value”
Review of Hotel La Pradera

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Pradera
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great value”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We found this place to be extremely comfortable and affordable. From the patio of our room, we could sit and look right out onto Arenal, while from one of the hottubs, you could look onto the prairie. The room itself was large and adequate - no bells and whistles, but certainly met all our needs. The fact that breakfast was included in the price made it an even better deal. We also had dinner there one night which was also very good.

Location is also a huge plus. It is not in La Fortuna, making it a quieter place, but is only a short drive (even walk) to nearby restaurants and 2km to town. Going the other direction, the hot springs are nearby, so really, everything is very accessible. Thanks to everyone for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    163
    39
    11
    6
See reviews for
81
175
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Beautiful grounds, horrible bungalows. We stayed in Rm 48. Ants in the bed, bugs and spiders in our room, we had to actually ask for bug spray. They left us with a can to keep in our room. Food was just okay in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else unless you want a camping style hotel. Basically this was like camping outdoors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurajedmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This place was gorgeous. You open your hotel room door and there is the volcano. Beautiful setting, clean rooms, buffet breakfast, great pool and even better hot tub.
Our server in the restaurant treated us like gold and we made quite a few friends here:)
Pure Vida.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in the cabins of hotel La Pradera which was situated in front of the Vulcano which gave a perfect view without any building in front of it. The cabin was very spacious and fully equiped with coffeemaker, A/C, ceiling propeller, refrigerator, huge bathroom with shower, sinks and toilet.
The bed was luxurious and the porch was equipped with a table and several seats. By car it was 5 minutes to the city center and 30 minutes the nearest vulcano national park. The outside swimming pool was big and the restaurant served lunches and dinner. Staff was very polite and service minded. I recommend everybody to stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HollandWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great place...close to the center of La Fortuna and all atractions...was there for one night in a beautiful cabin overlooking the Arenal volcano...delicious breakfast included in the price of the cabin...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fofo527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was my favorite place we stayed on our vacation. It was a secluded little hut with a gorgeous view of the volcano that can't be beat. Loved it.This was my favorite place we stayed on our vacation. It was a secluded little hut with a gorgeous view of the volcano that can't be beat. Loved it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSP838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modiin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

At La Fortuna, we stayed at a nice 3 star hotel called La Pradera. It was not as expensive as the other hotels near by, however the location (with a direct view to the volcano and 2 min drive from Baldi hot springs), the great facilities and rooms (2 hot tubs, a nice swimming pull) and the best cocktails we had during the entire trip made it one of the best hotels we stayed in at Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liron i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
242 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#26 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
317 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,438 reviews
1.7 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#29 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pradera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pradera

Property: Hotel La Pradera
Address: 2 Km West From la Fortuna, San Carlos | (on the way to Arenal Volcano), Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Pradera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pradera Hotel
Hotel La Pradera Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing