We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing View and Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Pradera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Pradera
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing View and Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

The was the first time I had stayed at La Pradera. This hotel came highly recommended from our friends in Manuel Antonio and they were right! We arrived late afternoon and all of our rooms were ready and were very clean. We had 5 rooms. The staff was super friendly, the room super clean, and the restaurant staff was wonderful! The first day we arrived it was raining and the volcano was not visable due to the cloud cover, however the next morning when we awoke and stepped outside our front door, the Volcano was crystal clear without a cloud in sight! WOW!!! Amazing view! The grounds of this hotel were well manicured and we were very impressed with the large hot tub and beautiful swimming pool. We would definately stay here again if in this area!
Thank you for making our trip a memorable one!

Room Tip: The rooms on the first row next to the pool have the best view of the Volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phxaztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    152
    37
    11
    6
See reviews for
74
162
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

During our travels around Costa Rica, we were very fortunate to stay for 2 nights at Hotel La Pradera. Our bungalow, while surrounded on either side by other bungalows in close proximity, seemed very secluded. The hotel grounds were beautifully maintained with the added bonus of a pool & jacuzzi. The food in the restaurant was delicious, and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The best part about this hotel is the view of Arenal. We were able to enjoy the view from our private porch!! Highly recommend staying here if you visit the area!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blayne79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

This hotel had been recommended and booked for us by Carlos Jimenez, of Monteverde Welcome Center and Casa Batsu. It was an excellent recommendation. We had a superior room facing Arenal Volcano, which loomed above us. We had a beautiful garden right outside our door and only a short walk to the swimming pool and huge outdoor jacuzzi. Our large room had very comfortable beds, a refrigerator, and the huge bath had hot and cold running water (not always available in Costa Rican hotels) and a combination jacuzzi, bathtub and shower. The complimentary breakfasts were quite good as well. You could have your choice of an American, Costa Rican or Continental breakfast. We were close to a laundry and Baldi Hot Springs and Resort. We think that this was an excellent location on the main highway.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quertosomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. Due to the very thin walls we could not sleep the first night (people chatting, watching TV etc - there was a constant noise, even impossible to sleep with earplugs) and wanted to complain at 10.30pm. However, the reception was closed.

The next morning we complained to the manager and were expecting him to solve the problem. Instead of simply upgrading us to another room, he wanted to charge us and did not show any interest in finding a solution to the problem (we even offered to pay half of the price for the upgrade). This experience ruined our stay in the hotel; which is - overall - okay regarding the rooms, breakfast etc. Conclusion: If you expect a certain degree of customer service, do not go there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuxuryTravelXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Upon arriving at the hotel, the staff initially seemed confused when I was checking in, but all was well, and the had my reservation. We stayed in one of the bungalows because the rest of the other rooms were booked, but I'm glad we did. I found them to be very cozy (though yes, the lighting seemed insufficient at times) It does get loud with the nature surrounding you, but it wasn't enough to prevent us from sleeping or anything. I read that there are ATV tours out of the hotel, and saw the ATVs, but never heard them. We had a gorgeous view of the volcano right from out window! Unfortunately clouds sat atop the volcano for most of our stay, but the pool, jacuzzi, and grounds were lovely. Breakfast each morning was delicious!! The first two mornings there was a buffet, however the day of our departure there was only a limited a la carte menu, which was slightly disappointing. There is a grocery store within walking distance, which was very convenient, though we did have a car. Overall it was a beautiful place to stay in a great location if you plan on staying in the la fortuna area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djenah79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed March 17-20. Had excellent weather. We were in the cabins. Clean, spacious and comfortable. Great location from town. Very good food and fairly priced. Grounds very pretty and pool and hot tub clean and comfortable. Nice people. Sky Trek a bit of a trip over poor roads., but worth the trip. Baldi Spas just down the road. It was a good value. $35.00.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was a 2 star hotel but it felt like more. It was good enough for our needs and had a beautiful view of the volcano. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast that came with your stay was very good. This location was very close to town and the hot springs. I highly recommend this hotel for the money this was a great deal and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jac43346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.7 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#29 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#35 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
1.4 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#25 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Magic Mountain
Hotel Magic Mountain
#19 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pradera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pradera

Property: Hotel La Pradera
Address: 2 Km West From la Fortuna, San Carlos | (on the way to Arenal Volcano), La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Pradera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pradera Hotel
Hotel La Pradera Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing