We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lots of wildlife” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arenal Volcano Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arenal Volcano Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lots of wildlife”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Excellent accommodation, separate cabins, well furnished with comfy beds and pillows.fridge, tea/coffee maker. Breakfasts excellent, fresh fruit, varied hot food selection, no limit. Abundant wildlife (yellow fly catchers, iguanas,hummingbirds).Dining room spacious and décor was typical of being in the wild (wooden furniture, comfy, a woodie's delight). Pool was not very deep, but large and the hot spa was very nice. A separate health club spa was also available with reasonable prices. On a clear day you can see Arenal volcano.Lovely gardens and landscaped terraces.

Room Tip: All cabins are value for money without having all the trappings of a five star hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CashoCronulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    478
    245
    44
    7
    1
See reviews for
193
351
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburg, CA
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed at the Arenal Volcano Inn in La Fortuna for a couple of nights and I would have to say that this hotel was a highlight of our trip to Costa Rica. The property was well manicured and maintained beautifully. We stayed in the first row of rooms closest to the pool where we had a spectacular view of Arenal Volcano (when it was not foggy, LOL).
The room was very basic, but it worked very well as I would assume most people are there to enjoy the local views and not to stay in their rooms. One item to mention about the room is that a card is required to power the room. You have to have a card inserted into a slot near the door to have electricity to the room. I guess they do this to conserve energy? Was not a big deal, just something I thought I would mention.
We felt safe and secure at all times; they had a security guard walking the premises. All hotel guests are asked to wear a wrist band. One night while walking around the hotel, guard just looked at my wrist, smiled and went on his way.
The onsite restaurant was very nice. They had brick oven baked pizzas, ice cream and overall good food. They provide a breakfast which was great! It included your typical rice, beans, pancakes and fruits. When visiting CR, you just need to get it in your head that you will be eating beans and rice at every meal….. Oh and the bar does have a buy one, get one drink special during Happy Hour! Get a Guaro Sour, sit back, relax and forget the real world for a few days.
Staff was great and very helpful for all of our needs. Would highly recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joel1316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Nice place in a good location to see the volcano. Friendly staff, nice clean rooms, and reasonably priced. Beautifully kept grounds and the buildings are nicely spread along the walking trail. Pool was small, but good enough if you want to take a dip. Close to attractions in Arenal Volcano area. Restaurant was nice, food was good for breakfast and dinner. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelermom23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisville, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Two of my co-workers and I are here on business for almost two weeks and wanted to get away for a few days. Drove from San Jose to La Fortuna and stopped there on a whim. Beautiful ,clean, reasonably priced rooms all facing the volcano with gorgeous grounds. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Fantastic brick oven pizza. Staff very helpful and knowledgeable on the tours. See the waterfall and go horseback riding around the volcano. Will absolutely stay there again as travel permits.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

From our arrival to departure, staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, spacious and all situated for spectacular views of the volcano. We used the restaurant for several meals, all of which were tasty. Will definitely use this hotel again if we return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

What a fantastic inn.
The price was what brought us in, the chalets, pool and staff got us to stay. Friendly helpful staff, beautiful rooms have high ceilings, and sit right under the volcano...the resturant on site makes great oven baked pizza!!!
Close to hot springs and, water rafting.
Don't miss this place!
CD
Mt. Prospect IL

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candid1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

What a great place.
Really cool rooms. All of them face the volcano and it was so cool to see the clouds part to reveal it.
Super clean. Beautifully kept grounds and a nice little walking trail around the property.
The restaurant was very good and the service was great. Ask for their Guaro sour. It's the best!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sjaanf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,567 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Volcano Inn

Property: Arenal Volcano Inn
Address: | 6.5 km NW of the Catholic church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Volcano Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Volcano Inn is a 25 room hotel surrounded by exotic gardens that can be admired from the tranquility of your room or by taking a small walk on its natural trails. Every guest may enjoy the view of the Arenal Volcano from its own terrace. Come visit us and make Arenal Volcano Inn your home while vacationing in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Arenal Volcano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Volcano Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Volcano
Arenal Volcano Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing