We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel and close to Tacabon Hot Springs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arenal Volcano Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Arenal Volcano Inn
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and close to Tacabon Hot Springs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2008

Nice hotel on the main road in and around the Arenal area. Our room (cottage) was clean and in good working condition, and the restaurant serves up some good food. Even though the little cottages are set away from the main road, you can still hear the noise from the road, lots of traffic, even in the middle of the night! However, for the price, it is a good choice especially if you are planning to take advantage of the wonderful Tacabon Hot Springs and Spa (avoid the restaurant at the hot springs--overpriced and bad)! Also, if you are not planning to book all your tours via a tour agencies, I would recommend that you rent a car. You can't get anywhere without one, and the taxis are expensive given the short distances of the trips, i.e., to and from hotel to La Fortuna. Happy travels!

  • Liked — The view of the volcano
  • Disliked — The traffic noise from the main road
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ASY86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    260
    50
    8
    1
See reviews for
206
374
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
152 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2008

We were overwhelmed with the sheer number of hotels around LaFortuna, but finally spun the wheel and picked the Arenal Volcano Inn. Were we glad we did! From the moment we pulled up, we knew it was a winner. Very welcoming staff, fantastic Arenal volcano view from our room, huge bathroom with amazing shower, little "kitchen" area with sink, counter and refrigerator (perfect for our wine & cheese parties before going to the amazing pool there!), and great maid service are the highlights. Also, we are not "eat at the hotel" people, but the restaurant here drew us in three nights in a row! The happy hour prices and drinks are amazing - lots of interesting people to meet from all over the world - and the food is fantastic. They even have a brick oven and their pizza is out of this world. Great chicken caesar salads, too! Breakfast is included and it's wonderful. We'd definitely return for $110/night. Also, the lava was flowing on the opposite side of the hotel, but just a 25 min. drive away, and during the morning, we could hear the "booms" from the Arenal Volcano Inn. Also, we saw lots of smoke puffing from the cone. Exciting!

  • Liked — Great Breakfast, Great View, Great Front Desk People, Great Restaurant, Free WiFi in Restaurant, Great Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Piqua41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

We spent two nights of our honeymoon here and it was a wonderful staging point to enjoy all that the Arenal area has to offer. It is a nice location about 5 minutes from the town of La Fortuna in the direction of the volcano. The grounds feel safe as there is a guarded entrance, and the breakfast is very good to excellent.

The rooms are comfy, with a great view of the volcano. The one gripe I might have about the rooms is that they're a little dark, but it wasn't a big deal. Gardens are beautiful, and a treat to walk about in the mornings.

Probably what I appreciated most about the whole place was the girls at the concierge desk. They were all very pleasant and gentle, helpful in every way. I appreciated their help with booking tours, figuring out what to do with my car after we checked out and all sorts of other things. No one felt pushy for tips, but it made me want to be more generous!

If we return to Arenal, I will strongly consider the Arenal Volcano Inn again, and would reccommend it to anyone who is going.

  • Liked — The front desk, the lovely views, location
  • Disliked — Insufficient lighting in the rooms
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank somuchjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2008

Arenal Volcano Inn is a great little hotel. It has a beautiful view of the volcano, cabin-like accommodations, a lovely restaurant, and good service. While it is not a luxury hotel, it is definitely clean, well-kept, and more than adequate. The grounds are stunning, the rooms clean, and the staff is helpful. Arranging tours from here is easy. Everything is very good. However, if you really want to go ultra-upscale I´ve heard try Lost Iguana. Otherwise, I would suggest this place!

  • Liked — cabins, restaurant, view
  • Disliked — NOTHING!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ktmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2008

Arrived in Arenal area on 10July08 and found out our original hotel was unable to honour our reservation. We located this hotel by driving by and we are glad we did.

The Volcano Inn did everything possible to ensure we enjoyed our stay. Although they were only able to accommodate us for the evening of the 10th, we adjusted our vacation with the help of Ceasar and Claireth at the front counter. We returned for the 13th to 17th of July.

Upon returning we were greeted by Ceasar at the front counter and were welcomed like old friends.

There are about 15 rooms available and are set up like little cottages. Each comes with a small area with fridge,microwave,sink and coffee maker. The patio in front of each cottage has 2 chairs and a table with a perfect view of the volcano, great for sitting for a morning coffee prior to going to the main building for the included breakfast.

From the beds you can look out the front window and see the volcano. We were lucky enough to see the top sparking and glowing red one evening as well as hearing the rumbling of the volcano.

The morning starts early with the sound of howler monkeys. There is enough wildlife to enjoy in the trees around the grounds so make sure you always have your camera ready.

We had two dinners in the restaurant and were very happy with the meals and presentation. I would recommend having a steak one evening as they where exceptional and finish it off with dessert, especially the one shaped like a volcano and ice cream and a coffee.

All amenities were very clean and grounds well maintained.

  • Liked — staff,location,scenery
  • Disliked — not applicable
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank yyztravelleryyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

Looks like the erruptions are back on this side again, even if only for a short time. We were there on July 9th when we saw a great blast from the volcano at 5AM.

  • Liked — Great views of volcano
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cajun_tica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2008

Stayed here on our first visit to CR a while back. We loved it!

I think the most outstanding aspect of this experience was the excellent service throughout the four days my partner and I spent at the property.

The place is operated and staffed by down-to-earth Costa Ricans that know how to make you feel at home in a foreign environment. The property isn't the nicest or most developed in the area, but they more than make up for it in how they treat you.

We ordered a bottle of wine prior to going swimming at the pool. Waiter came down from the restaurant and basically prepared a setting for us at the edge of the pool while we were swimming, poured our glasses of wine, and came back every 10 or 15 minutes to check on us. Acted astonished when we offered to tip him for going well out of the way and doing something we in no way expected him to do. This same waiter, our first night, had met us while we were eating in their restaurant... was nice enough to come knock on our door later that night – out of the blue – to let us know the volcano had started spilling lava on the hotel side... just so we wouldn't miss out. Didn't speak a word of English, and we didn't speak a word of Spanish.

Went to front desk to get a cab into town one morning... desk clerk said she was going into town anyway, and gave us a lift in her own car – foreigners she didn't even know and could barely communicate with. Again, no compensation expected (though if I recall correctly we did give her like five bucks anyway).

No laundry facility on site, no laundry service. We were all out of clean clothes and leaving for San Jose the next day. The hotel's answer? Two of the maids took our clothes to their private homes and washed them that night. Returned them smelling fresh as spring the next morning before we left. Only a couple bucks side compensation expected.

Never felt more appreciated or "at home" anywhere in the world, and we travel a lot! I'm not saying you will have the exact same experience if you go there, but I AM saying that I would recommend the place even if the property were complete crap (which it certainly is NOT) just because of the service.

The villas themselves are large, spacious and comfortable. Great volcano views. Not the most luxurious accommodations in the world, but VERY nice and VERY "homey." No bad experiences whatsoever on that front.

The property itself is absolutely gorgeous. Very nicely landscaped, surrounded by rain forest with lots of opportunities to walk around explore if you are brave enough. Restaurant makes the best pizza in Costa Rica.

My only complaint is that this property is pretty far outside of La Fortuna. We knew this before we booked, but did not realize how isolated it was until we got there. We had not rented a car, so were very reliant on the underdeveloped, small-town taxi service available to us. As a result, when we go back later this year, we will probably stay primarily IN TOWN since the volcano views are just as good and better in some places. However, we will absolutely be staying at least one or two nights here just because we liked it so much.

I would recommend this place, and even PUSH it, on anyone that's going to be in the area. In fact, I have recommended this place to friends traveling to CR. I would recommend it again in a heartbeat.

Best hotel experience ever.

  • Liked — Outstanding Service and Breathtaking Scenery
  • Disliked — Isolated Location
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank VirtualBizWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Volcano Inn

Property: Arenal Volcano Inn
Address: | 6.5 km NW of the Catholic church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Volcano Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Volcano Inn is a 25 room hotel surrounded by exotic gardens that can be admired from the tranquility of your room or by taking a small walk on its natural trails. Every guest may enjoy the view of the Arenal Volcano from its own terrace. Come visit us and make Arenal Volcano Inn your home while vacationing in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Arenal Volcano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Volcano Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Volcano
Arenal Volcano Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing