We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Arenal Volcano Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arenal Volcano Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights here. This place is wonderful. The cottages are very clean and bright. The french window opens to the Arenal mountain. The pool is very clean. The restaurant and staff were accommodating and courteous. This place is definitely kid friendly. My kids were able to run around the slopes and had a great time in the pool. We saw a lot of birds and the landscape is refreshingly beautiful.

The restaurant has decent selection of international food as well. I asked them for some spicy pepper and the staff got me fresh chilli peppers from his garden.

The only down side, is that this place is a bit away (~ 5-7kms) from the town. So we need to rent a cab (about 8-10$) each way to go into the town.

I would absolutely stay here next time albeit, renting a car.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 930 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2014

Beautiful landscaping, clean and spacious rooms, pool area is clean, foliage is bright and tropical and attracts all sorts of fascinating birds! Waking up early morning provided great birding opportunities right from the porch of our room... bring binoculars! Staff was welcoming and always helpful. Views of the volcano were fantastic.

I would stay here again, but next time I would rent a car from Alamo. This hotel, as with most others in the Fortuna area, do not offer shuttles. We had to rely heavily on taxi's and found that to get expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed two nights here in a semi-detached cottage with a fabulous view from our front porch of the volcano. When we arrived, a cold fruit drink was on offer and we were quickly escorted to our accommodation. The cottages are downhill from the reception and restaurant area, so we appreciated the porterage of our luggage. The room was spacious with two double beds and a large picture window through which Arenal could be viewed from the bed. The bathroom had a separate toilet area, another for the sink with cubbies underneath for storage of toiletries. A large shower was in a separate space at the other end.

The breakfast buffet featured typical Costa Rican items, with plenty of fresh fruit and eggs on offer. The restaurant is well-known as a special place for dinner in the area. We had a fabulous three-course dinner there one night, featuring specialty salads and beautifully presented fish, freshly cooked.

The Inn is close to the Eco-Thermal pools, a few km from La Fortuna (easily accessible by local taxi) and a convenient base for Cano Negro day tour and the Arenal National Park. We also photographed a number of colourful birds that frequent the property.

This inn fits in nicely with the Costa Rican smaller-scale accommodations that suit the landscape, which we appreciate. The service from all the staff was personal and very attentive. If you want a large, 5-star mega-resort, stay elsewhere. Otherwise, enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadakate_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Charming Inn with very large rooms and comfortable beds. Our room was directly across from the pool, so there was noise from the pool on occasion, but nothing too loud. The pool and hot tub area is gorgeous as are the grounds. There is a restaurant and bar on site. We did not eat in the restaurant except for breakfast, which was served buffet style and featured eggs, potatoes, rice & beans and other cold items and was good, especially since it was included in the price. The only issue I had with the room was the lighting quality, which was very poor at night. If you like to read in bed, bring a flashlight or book light with you, because the lighting was too dim to read by. The location is very convenient – halfway between La Fortuna and the Arenal Hanging Bridges/Hot Springs and Lake Arenal. It is a short drive or cab ride away from the center of La Fortuna. We would recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We only spent 2 nights at this hotel due to getting into Costa Rica a day late, but we loved it. We had our own little cottage which was very nice and spread out on the property. I agree with another reviewer that the pool water was a bit cold and it could be a hike to get to the reception area and restaurant. We had a very nice dinner at the restaurant on the property which was very good. I would recommend this hotel to others looking to stay in this area but do not want to overspend.

Room Tip: we stayed in cottage 31 and it was a hike to the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetheflkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Had the deluxe room. Huge room with wifi in room and good selection of TV channels. Great beds and good shower. Few sundbeds. Nice littlel pool but cold.

Good locatin near the trails but not to far from the city

Recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is a lovely little hotel with cute bungalow type rooms scattered around gorgeous gardens.The views of the volcano are spectacularThere us a safe in the room and a mini bar and fridge.The pool is nice.The only thing I could fault was there was a strange smell to the jaccuzi which didn't smell clean.
The resteruant is fantastic for evening meals but the breakfast is just OK.
The hotel is situatedbabout 6 km from LA Fortuna so quite I so quite isolated.
We would recommend!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jax11ard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,965 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,562 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,887 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,353 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Volcano Inn

Address: 6.5 KM North West of The catholic church of La Fortuna, San Carlos. | 6.5 km NW of the Catholic church, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $83 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Volcano Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Volcano Inn is a 25 room hotel surrounded by exotic gardens that can be admired from the tranquility of your room or by taking a small walk on its natural gardens and trails. Every guest may enjoy the view of the Arenal Volcano from its own terrace. Come visit us and make Arenal Volcano Inn your home while vacationing in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arenal Volcano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Volcano Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Volcano
Arenal Volcano Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing