We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Volcano Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arenal Volcano Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed for three nights with my wife here as a base for white water rafting and hiking. The room was its own little building with a small kitchen area with a refrigerator, a nice patio, and a well working air conditioner. The included breakfast was very filling and the hotel staff helpful. Taxi fares to the center of town averaged about $8 US for the two of us. The location worked for us and we had no problems with insects. I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    226
    41
    6
    2
See reviews for
175
326
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I am Teresa from Las Vegas, NV and this was my fourth visit - all were the same. The staff is excellent. The views and landscaping are beautiful, especially the views of the volcano. The rooms are very spacious, beautiful and comfortable. I highly recommend the Arenal Volcano Inn to everyone & I will be back myself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here for two nights 5/31/13 and 6/1/13. The Ground are beautiful and the staff is welcoming and very freindly. The restaurant has a great view and served some of the better meals we had on our trip. The rooms were clean and had a great view. My only problems were with some ants that were crawling all around the corner counter. I called and they sent somebody ou to spray which worked, but the smell from teh spray wasnt all that pleasant. The other thing was the air conditioner blew right on you which made for a real cold noght sleep. I kno wthat beats the alternative of no air, but just one of those things. The last thing is the minibar rates were not clear. My son had a snapple that clearly said was $2.50, but upon checkout were were told it was c2500.00 (Colones) which is $5.00. We even brought the mini bar menu for them to see, but they wouldn't make a change to the charge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Beautiful, clean grounds; spotless rooms. the staff was so fantastic, and the view, and just the whole environment was amazing. The food was really good, and our room was roomy, and beautiful. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The rooms further away from the pool, had a lot more space, and and it felt like you had your very o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed at this hotel two nights in May during our 7 day Costa Rican trip. The room had a great view of the volcano and enjoyed having the mini fridge. The entire staff was polite, and professional. The food at the restaurant was excellent, prices pretty much the same as in the US and they have a good selection. Did not use the pool, it's small but I guess it's good if you want to get some sun. They also have a Jacuzzi next to it. The front desk staff arranged two tours for us, horseback ride to the waterfalls which we loved and a walking tour of the volcano surrounding area which we also enjoyed. It seems breakfast is included at most hotels, here it was served buffet style, included typical Costa Rican breakfast, fried sweet plantains and fresh fruit (papaya, melon, pineapple) which were my favorite, and the usual offerings, coffee, juice, toast, eggs. There is no fitness center but we were so busy with our tours and most are active enough that you get exercise this way. We highly recommend the horseback ride to the waterfall just be prepared to be sore the next day if you are not used to riding and to descend and climb over 450 steps to and from the waterfall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gis0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I haven't stayed at other properties in the area. I based my evaluation on how this hotel compared to everything else I've experienced. It was very, very nice. It's starting to show its age a little, but beautiful views of the volcano.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woody84109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review about Arenal Volcano Inn. We especially liked the heading of Excellent Hotel you gave us. Thank you for this. On your review you mention that the hotel is starting to show its age a little, so I wanted to let you know that we are in the process of a very important renovation. We recently changed all our TVs to LCD 32'' in our deluxe rooms and have allot of more positive changes coming. Most of this changes should be ready by June 30th, so hopefully on your next visit you may see some visible results.
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I enjoyed myself so much. I was treated with respect and even though my Spanish was not that great, the hotel staff like Margarita, Andrea, Javier, and Fernanda took their time to understand what I was saying, muy excellente servicio y gente personas. Alexandra also did a wonderful job keeping the room I was staying in clean and changing the bed daily and replacing the towels, and etc. Spanish is the primary language in the community, but everyone has so much patience. And after they help you, they end the conversation with "much gusto" which means my pleasure. It feels good to receive customer service at their best. The people are honest, I gave too much Costa Rican money to the hotel staff and they gave me my money back. Please note, the mini bar in the room are for purchases, so if you eat anything from the bar, be prepared to pay at checkout. The "Que Rico" restaurant is muy excellente servico y comida. The prices are cheap. The view is beautiful, buena vista. I enjoyed watching the smoke leave the volcano. Also, go to costa rica descents for activities such as the Volcano Hike, Rafting, Zip Lining, and so on. The shuttle will pick you up from the hotel. Enjoy your trip, I sure did!!.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anavia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Google Translation
Dear Guest,
Muchas Gracias por su lindo comentario donde menciona algunos de los nombres de nuestro sus amigos en Arenal Volcano Inn. Para ellos es muy motivante cuando alguien escribe un comentario positivo y en especial cuando los menciona en el mismo. Thank you for all your positive input and we look forward to see you in the near future.
Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,322 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,003 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,685 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,080 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Volcano Inn

Property: Arenal Volcano Inn
Address: 6.5 Km NW of the Catholic church | 6.5 Kilometers Northwest of the Catholic Church, La Fortuna, San Carlos., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Volcano Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal volcano Inn is a 25 rooms hotel surrounded by exotic gardens that can be admired from the tranquility of your room or by taking a small walk on its natural trails. Every guest may enjoy the view of the Arenal Volcano from its own terrace. Come visit us and make Arenal Volcano Inn your home while vacationing in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Arenal Volcano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Volcano Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Volcano
Arenal Volcano Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing