We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Volcano Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arenal Volcano Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

we were there for 2 nights during our one week trip to Costa Rica.
the hotel is very clean and green and all the day we saw people taking care of the hotel.
they helped us we attractions and explantions of how to get to places. every question we had they tried to help us- they even helped us to plan the drive to MONTEVERDE.
The breakfest is great and like any other hotel it's a traditional one.
The location is just outside the city but it's a 5 minutes drive so it's nice not to be so close - it's a crappy tourist town (la Fortuna).
the cost is a little expensive (96 dollars per night) but it's still worth it.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view to the volcano and it doesn't matter if you stay at the begining of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear PazM, Thank you very much for taking the time to inform us and future travelers about your experience at the Arenal Volcano Inn. I am glad to hear that you liked the location of our small hotel and it is specially good to hear that our staff was willing to help you when you needed it. I love to assist guests in their adventures while they discover Costa Rica. We hope to have you visiting us again in the near future.
Thank you very much!
Hernan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    227
    42
    6
    1
See reviews for
179
329
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Beautifully landscaped and clean rooms with magnificent views of Mt. Arenal -which we were fortunate to see on a clear day during our stay. The included breakfast was a bit of a disappointment, but the brick oven pizza we had called the volcano was pretty good along with the antipasto salad. Staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms were comfortable and well maintained. We also were impressed with the small walking trail that went around the grounds that contained various plants, trees, flowers and had stunning views of Mt. Arenal. Price is very affordable and is close to town - 10 minutes by taxi.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayspot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hola from Arenal, Costa Rica to Jayspot1, and thank you very much for your comments about our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I was very happy to hear that you enjoyed the small trail that we have. I have taken on as a personal goal to make the trail interesting by placing a good variety of tropical and medicinal plants. So if you come again I will be happy to show them to you. About breakfast, it is buffet style with the exception of some days when the hotel has less occupancy. On low occupancy days we offer a small continental buffet (cereal, bread, butter, jelly, 3 varieties of fruits, milk, Yogurt, orange juice and fruit punch) plus the hot meal (eggs, gallo pinto, pancakes, etc..). It is our policy to ensure that both the cold and hot portion of the breakfast be served in the quantity that the guest desires. It is possible that the person in charge of serving breakfast did not offer the breakfast options it in the right way. That is, they may not have offerred different option such as an omelet made to order, more pancakes, or what have you. I am working more closely with the staff to ensure that our guests have the best experience possible, including a delicious and satisfying breakfast. It is important for me that this be corrected.

Moreover, I hope to be able to have you visiting us so you may experience the improvement. Thank you very much for taking the time to comment!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Booked this hotel with Anywhere Costa Rica. Nice big rooms. Great bathrooms.
Refrigerator in room. The grounds plants and flowers are fantastic. The staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included every day. The food was fresh and had a large variety. Ate dinner one night at the restaurant the pizza is great. Definitely a great place small and cozy. The pool and spa including all the rooms have a great view of the volcano. Would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the volcano view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceG122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Hi BruceG122, My name is Hernan and I am the owner of the Arenal Volcano Inn. I want to thank you for your comments and room tip for future guests. I a pleased to hear that you enjoy staying with us. Definitely hope to have you visiting us again in the near future, and please tell your friends and family about our place.
Warmest Regards, Hernan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

A friend and I stayed at Arenal Volcano Inn for 3 nights in late August, and we wished we could have stayed longer! The Inn grounds were beautiful, with lush greenery everywhere and great views of the volcano (but unfortunately it was covered by fog the entire time we were there!). The Inn is in a great location... It is about 10-15 minutes ($8-$10 cab ride) from the center of La Fortuna, so it is still close to all the action (bars, restaurants, banks, hot springs, etc) but also far enough away so that it is more quiet and relaxiing.

The room was safe, comfortable, and had everything we needed (and more!) including 2 beds, a TV, AC, mini-fridge,and even a hair dryer! There is also free WiFi throughout the hotel grounds which is nice.

The staff was great! The front desk ladies were very helpful ... whenever we needed a taxi to go into town, they would call for us, and they also had great suggestions for different tours, activities, and restaurants around La Fortuna.

My favorite part of our stay was the breakfast and the pool/jacuzzi! It was so nice to cool off in the pool after a long day in the heat and humidity, and the jacuzzi was so relaxing after a long day of activities and had great jets for a sore back and feet. And the breakfast was amazing... some of the best comida tipica I had my entire time in Costa Rica!... It is all you can eat, and is included wtih the price of your stay! :) There is also a regular restaurant at the hotel that we ate dinner at one of the nights, and their Arroz con Camerones was to die for! A little pricey, but convienent if you don't feel like leaving the hotel!

Overall, it was a great stay. Arenal Volcano Inn is a bit pricier than some other hotels in the area.... but between the all you can eat breakfast, AC-ed rooms, pool/jacuzzi, and friendly staff, it was totally worth it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We try to take good care of our guests and are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you and your friend again soon in Arenal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This hotel should be renamed 'volcano view' as from all around it you have the view of the amazing Arenal volcano, inc the restaurant, the bedrooms and the pool. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the grounds were immaculate. The restaurant food was also good as was the massage I had in their spa :) Our stay there was part of a tour we booked with Imagine Latin America - I would reccomend this company too as we had fantastic service in the Uk and amazing ground support in Costa Rica when we needed to change our plans slightly. Back to the hotel though, we only stayed 2 nights and visited the thermal springs and had a day trip to a national park. Could have done with more time there though as there is loads to do like canopy walks, treking the volcano slopes, white water rafting etc. All in all, the hotel is a lovely base for all the local activities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy_200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Owner at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive comments. We at the Arenal Volcano Inn are continually striving to ensure that our guests have the best possible experience, and our glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for your good suggestion about the hotel name!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great Hotel in front of the Volcano, beautiful view of the volcano during the day and night, rooms are really clean, service is excellent.They do have a pool where you can seat relax after doing any activities like canopying or horse riding. The restaurant of the Hotel is a Pizzeria wich is famous in all Arenal for their good flavour and taste, if you ask anyone in the town they will recommend you have their Volcano Pizza and a cold Imperial while watching the volcano.
Highly Recommended, you really get more than what you pay for.

Room Tip: Try to get room number 109, this room is on a hill and have the best view of the hotel and volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Playero1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Manager at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and had a chance to try out the pit fire pizza at our Que Rico Arenal Restaurant. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This place worked out really well. We stayed in room 5 which is a double deluxe. Two good sized bed and a bathroom with a good shower. Also good to have a quiet air con and fan to ensure a good night sleep.

Super views of the volcano.

We used the restaurant a few times and as noted by others slightly more expensive but to be expected I think we the location and service.

All the staff were friendly and efficient. They arranged taxis into La Fortuna ($8 or $9).

The pool looked inviting but we just didn't get the time to enjoy it.

Overall this is a great place to stay as it is very close to all the Arenal attractions.

Room Tip: Forgot to mention - enjoy the lovely gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjlsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avimanager, Propietario at Arenal Volcano Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your comments. They help us to improve and motivate us to give our best every day. We are starting a new stage in our effort to motivate our staff and this type of comments are of great help. We are continiously trying to improve the different areas of the hotel and restaurant and hope that in your next visit to our small hotel, you will be able to experience a big positive change.
It will be a pleasure to have you visiting us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,385 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,699 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,107 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#5 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Volcano Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Volcano Inn

Property: Arenal Volcano Inn
Address: 6.5 Km NW of the Catholic church | 6.5 Kilometers Northwest of the Catholic Church, La Fortuna, San Carlos., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Volcano Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal volcano Inn is a 25 rooms hotel surrounded by exotic gardens that can be admired from the tranquility of your room or by taking a small walk on its natural trails. Every guest may enjoy the view of the Arenal Volcano from its own terrace. Come visit us and make Arenal Volcano Inn your home while vacationing in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Arenal Volcano Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Volcano Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Hotel Arenal Volcano
Arenal Volcano Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing