We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place for a great little price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arenal Jireh

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Arenal Jireh
winnipeg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great little place for a great little price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2008

This hotel was a great value for the money. Clean, great service, all the amenities (a.c., cable t.v., fridge, safe, etc.), pretty little room, nice pool, excellent location right in the town. The only problem we had was that the street is a bit noisy, and the noise starts early in the a.m., which makes it a bit hard to sleep in. But would definitely recommend this hotel to friends!

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank costaricanvoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
12
20
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2008

I would definitely suggest a top floor room, as far away from the street as possible. The hotel faces the main street, so there was a lot of traffic noise, as well as construction noise from the building going up next door. The room was pleasant and clean enough, with an in-room safe, a fridge, and a balcony, and the free breakfast was handy, but the complete lack of soundproofing made it difficult to sleep. The people in the next room had voices that really carried, and I could hear their conversation word for word! Hearing people coming and going all night along the corridors didn't help the situation, either. I have high praise, as do most other reviewers, for the helpfulness of the reception staff and for the convenience of the location, but not being able to sleep most of the night took away from the overall experience.

  • Liked — free high-speed internet in the lobby
  • Disliked — the noise!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank micsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2008

Booked this at the last minute through one of the tour operaters in La Fortuna. Large Yellow building on main street of the town, however once inside we were more than pleasantly surprised at the size of the room/ bathroom. Beatifully laid out towels with fresh flowers. It was spotlessly clean. The staff were very pleasant and helpfull and we enjoyed the small pool. a little oasis in the centre of town.

  • Liked — The time and care taken to make us feel welcome (like the fresh flowers in the room)
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tiredandhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2008

My family had reservations for two rooms/two nights at Hotel Arenal Jireh during Christmas vacation. We were traveling from Jaco to La Fortuna. We stopped at a busy restaurant. While we were gone our locked SUV's window was broken and EVERYTHING was stolen....luggage, tote bags, purse, etc. Needless to say, we spent the rest of the day at the police station filing a report and of course, everything needed to be replaced.
Unfortunately, this "set us back" and we were unable to visit La Fortuna.
A big thank you to Hotel Arenal Jireh! They changed their policy for us and did not charge us for the reserved rooms.
Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna, and Hotel Arenal Jireh were going to be the highlight of our trip. We hope to return to Costa Rica and the Arenal Volcano will be our first stop.

Helpful?
1 Thank pittypat129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. pete,fl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2007

This is a nice hotel off of the main drag in la fortuna. It is still very quiet, but close enough to walk to almost anything in the little town.

The rooms are nice. And I had no problem making a reservation for the best room in the hotel 3rd floor-with a direct view of the volcano-no obstructions. The lower floors are obstructed some.

The beautiful ladies at the front desk were very helpful and we had a pleasant time while I practiced speaking some spanish with them.

There is a pool and hot tub, but it needed to be cleaned. Also, there were some ants in the room, but there were ants in everyroom I stayed in costa rica. It wasnt' a big deal, just don't leave pop on the floor.

They also had internet you could use and answered ny questions I had and arranged any trips I wanted to go on or needed.

Try the sky trek ride it's awesome!

--Dan

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank floridadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2007

We stayed there for 5 nights in Oct '07. It was clean, had a/c, hair dryer, pool, phone, cable t/v, and an in-room safe. There were fresh flowers in the room upon arrival. The location is great. The front desk staff spoke English. There are two computers w/Internet in the lobby for guests to use. The breakfast was great. We had a great view of the volcano from the 3rd floor. There is so much to do in the area that we could have stayed a few more days.

  • Liked — Clean and a lot of value for the price
  • Disliked — We LOVED the hotel and would stay again.
Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telfair County, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2007

Hotel Arenal Jireh is the best location in the town of Fortuna for viewing the Volcano. However, I would only stay there if I could book a third floor room. Most of the hotels in town are two stories, but this one has an extra floor so you can view the Volcano without all of the clutter. It has a small, perfunctory pool in the courtyard with hedges and vines surrounding it so you can bask without looking at the traffic. The rooms are nice and spacious (at least ours was), and the bathrooms are gorgeous, larger than a hotel bathroom in the states, tile everywhere. The balconies are quite large and comfortable. We really enjoyed it: paid about $80 for a room in which four persons could stay. It's hard to complain about that price. Try the Lava Lounge across the street for some excellent food. Try the American breakfast at the hotel each morning.

El Capitan de Espana

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mpeachhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#39 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#28 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#37 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Fuego Arenal
Hotel Fuego Arenal
#47 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenal Jireh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Jireh

Property: Hotel Arenal Jireh
Address: 150 M W Del Parque Central La Fortuna | 1 block west from Central Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 03 - 4417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arenal Jireh 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Arenal Jireh Hotel
Hotel Arenal Jireh Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing