We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun and relaxing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baldi Hot Springs

Baldi Hot Springs
Book In Advance
More Info
$121.00*
and up
Arenal Volcano Hiking Tour with Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Paris, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun and relaxing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

It is a tourist attraction, but it is very beautiful. We enjoyed every minute of it. There are so many different pools that anyone can find one that will please him. I'm glad I was able to visit them.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,138
    922
    330
    123
    79
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“tacky tourist in la fortuna”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hot springs is highly overrated. It seems to be pushed by agencies, but I wouldn't bother. If you really want a relaxing volcano hot springs there are several other resorts that are classy. Baldi may be appreciated by families with lots of kids as it has several large hot pools with water slides, etc. But it is so overdone. We knew the moment we walked in and heard the loud music blaring that this wasn't 'natural' Costa Rica. Kids are running around from water slide to hot pool, lockers and dressing rooms line the back wall where visitors that are not staying at the hotel can change and store their clothes. This attraction is often offered with a dinner. It was a buffet that is nothing to brag about. I loved all of Costa Rica but for this one attraction.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank teri t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Cool Place to Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Spent a few hours here and had dinner. Buy your tickets in La Fortuna from one of the tour operators...you'll save $10-$15 per ticket.

The place is clean and was not at all crowded when we went. They have multiple pools at varing degrees of warmth from 68 F to 119 F. The pools were very clean, and the grounds were very nice. Lots of foliage. Water slides for the kids/teens, swim up bars for the adults! We had dinner there as well, and the buffet was plentiful and tasted good. Not the best food you will encounter, but not bad either.

There are a few minor cons:
1. They charge a $10 deposit for each towel you need...Cash Only...sort of a pain, but you get your money back at the end of the night
2. Drinks are somewhat pricwy, especially for CR. $5 for soda and beer, $10 for mixed drinks.
3. There is very little shaded or covered area. Not really a problem unless it rains...then everything you bring with you gets wet.
4. It was relatively uncrowded when we went, but there were several groups of teenagers. They were not roudy or cause any problems, but just know this in case you were looking for an adult-only or a mostly adult experience.

All in all a fun several (or more) hours. Would definitely go again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank arrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Buy the day pass”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Go for the afternoon and dinner buffet included. The dinner is at the top of the hill above the water slides, decent food, but all included. The hot springs are amazing. All different sizes and temperatures. Spend your day checking out everyone and finding a great place to chill out. The pools are obviously man made, but the water comes out of the springs piping hot.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kuhnsl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“people say its touristy but i dint really think so. Its beautiful here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We went to the hot springs after our hike to Volcan Arenal and the hot springs were absolutely amazing! we had drinks at a bar in the hot springs and just relaxed in the hot springs for two hours:) it was heaven! there were a lot of people, but they are all spread out throughout the 25 different pools they have !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank philipwester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baldi Hot Springs also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Baldi Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing