We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce but ANTS”
Review of Hotel Villas Vilma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villas Vilma
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“NIce but ANTS”
Reviewed April 1, 2010

I chose this hotel because of the favorable reviews on Tripadvisor. Overall, when I first arrived, I was pleased. Nicely sized room/bathroom, beautifully manicured landscape and we had to pool to ourselves. However, most of our hotels had free breakfast and this one did not, so a little value lost there. That would have been fine though. My biggest issue was that when we came back after dinner there were ants everywhere. Now, I know bugs happen tropical climates, my family is from a tropical climate. However, I couldn't walk without stepping on one, they were crawling up the walls, even falling. I was afraid they would fall on me if I did not cover myself from head to toe. I realized we could "freeze them out" by putting the AC on full blast. I ended up going somewhere else the next day and that place was literally deep in the woods and did not have the same ant issue I encountered here. If you don't mind that one issue, I could recommend it, for me however, I decided to try something different.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nononana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    88
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
45
78
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

The last reviewer was correct: This place is a hidden gem. It was a clean room, with decent air conditioner and cable TV. Also a refrigerator. Best features, though, were the garden sounds from your porch, as well as the pool and hot tub. Other notes: It is about a 25-30 minute hike into Fortuna town, but there are some decent restaurants across the street. Avoid the pizza place directly across the street, however. There's also a grocery within easy walking distance. Best of all was the cost, including taxes, per night in late Nov. 2009: $40. But no breakfast included.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasbobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2009

...but Hotel Villas Vilma deserves a great review. Our shuttle arrived at the cozy, locally owned and run accommodation after dark. Imagine our surprise when the next morning, we look out the window and see a clear shot of the smoking Volcan Arenal. In addition to the magnificent volcano views from our patio and the well-maintained garden, the room was clean, the shower was spacious, and we were able to keep snacks and drinks in the refrigerator.

Villas Vilma was quiet throughout the three nights we stayed there. The pool and hot tub were equally impressive (again volcano views), and the tile work in and around the pool area was beautiful.

Villas Vilma is located away from the town of Arenal (about 25 minutes by foot, or a couple minutes by taxi). We liked being away from the busier town. There are several sodas within walking distance (our favorite was Soda El Tipico across the street) and also a restaurant that serves pizza, pasta, and other dishes.

On top of it all, Villas Vilma cost less than comparable accommodations in Santa Elena and Playa Samara. I can't speak highly enough about this place.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbollig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

I stayed at this place last year in August and this year when we returned to Arenal, it was obvious we would return. It is CLEAN, roomy and very beautifully landscaped. My family enjoyed the view of the volcano right for our porch. We enjoyed the hummingbirds right from our porch. It was a great stay at a very economical $50 bucks in the "green season" for 5 of us..3 adults and 2 kids. I would definitely go back. There are supermarkets and sodas(Costa Rican diners), as well as restaurants very close by.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcortez72572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

My husband and I, and our son and his fiancee, were here in early March. It was such a clean and great hotel. We loved its central location to La Fortuna and Arenal. The tours we reserved picked us up at the front door. We had a great view of the volcano as we stepped out the front door (if it would have been clear any of the 3 days we were there). The pool and jacuzzi were both clean and the grounds were just beautiful. We paid cash at a room rate of $40 a night. I am very picky about where I sleep and I have to say this was way better than what I expected. I am so glad I stayed here and saved my money for all the fun adventures instead of spending a lot of money on a hotel and only being there to sleep. You won't go wrong with this hotel. Also, there is a great soda within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexasTrekGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

We stayed 2 nights and we visited the Volcan Arenal, the Hot Springs and mny more..
The residence is without doubt welcoming
The hotel is very comfortable, Staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was very nice and clean, and the shower really has hot water. There is working air conditioning.
The bed is directly enjoys the view of the volcano, the prices reasonable, the garden with a large pool undoubtedly comfortable. We love this place.
We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank colt_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2008

Staff was very helpful. Tour & taxi pick-up, right outside your room. Room was very clean and nicely decorated. Although the fridge was set on the lowest setting, it froze our eggs? The view of the volcano was right outside our window. A little porch for sitting was very nice to watch wildlife. Beautiful hot tub & swimming pool. The flowers and plants were out of this world! I am a master gardener from Virginia and I only wish that my whole class could visit this place. It must contain every tropical species there is! Their gardener is to be HIGHLY commended for such careful, special, immaculate care of their grounds.

  • Liked — Clean, affordable accommondations with excellant view & grounds!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solfluer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Pradera
Hotel La Pradera
#25 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
373 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#36 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#26 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
280 reviews
7.1 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
801 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#29 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villas Vilma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villas Vilma

Property: Hotel Villas Vilma
Address: 2km oeste del centro de La Fortuna, San Carlos | carretera al Volcán Arenal, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villas Vilma 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villas Vilma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villas Vilma Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing