We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$178
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$273
$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$862
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$168
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
Free cancellation until 07/26
$127
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$120
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$179
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$593
$563
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveler rating
73
99
20
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
99
20
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool and hot tublarge refrigeratorlovely hammockla fortunahot springsnice poolgrounds are beautifulcosta ricamain towngreat view of the volcanorooms were very cleanarenal volcanogreat place to stayair conditioningevery morningporchsoap
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 201 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2018

The place was great! It had amazing view of the volcano, adorable little villas to stay in, and a nice pool to relax in. Also, wonderful hospitality -- we got really great recommendations for food and activities from the man at reception.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JCLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2018

Caribe Fun Tour Travel Agent Ernesto set up a great experience at Villa Vilma and I was met with a warm welcome. This was my embarking point for the Arenal Bridges rain forest and Baldi Springs. The grounds are beautiful with a Toucan bird around the property if you are lucky enough to catch a glimpse. Wonderful breakfast just a short walk thru the beautifully manicured walk way almost jungle like under a nice shelter , canopy of plants and all sorts of birds alerting you your day has begun and wonderful view of the Volcano Bernice the receptionist glad to help with anything, just pleasant and wonderful person. The room was acceptable to my middle of the road budget request. Clean, AC and basics plus. I was a solo traveler this time, but the room could have held additional persons. Don't always expect a piping hot shower, but a least a warm one. You can get your your Volcano heated hot water at Baldi Springs just up the road.
Across the street you can find Grandmas spoon run by Manuel, greet him with "Pura Vida " and you may get offered a free shot of drink. Family friendly and a bar near the street. Speaking of the streets , at night carry your flash light as the shoulders of the streets are not even and have rough patches look both ways twice and pay attention to your footing, even if you have never fallen down sober before. Next door to the spoon is a nice lady who can provide laundry needs. Just make sure all your stuff is completely dried [ blue jeans] otherwise laundry was clean and folded at a fair price.
Caribe Fun Tour transport always on time, just be in the lobby with your gear for the day and the driver will come looking and will know you by name.

Room Tip: you can ask for a room where you have clear volcano view from your front porch and if available you may get the room.
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chuckbvoyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2018 via mobile

The little cabin was perfectly located close to the Waterfall, Hot Springs, whitewater adventure and a grocery store. A+ on location.

The rooms and bathroom are spacious. AC works well. We had a large refrigerator, which enabled us to eat breakfast outside overlooking the volcano in the morning.

Has a nice pool and beautiful grounds while still being close to everything.

The WIFU signal was weak and the rooms could use some updating. But the value for the money and the great location made this a place we will return to in the future.

Finally, the manager, Warner, could not have been more helpful and kind. Just a super nice guy who answered all our questions. Highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank calmdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2018

We travelled in the rainy season and this hotel was pretty near deserted. That being said, the staff were exceptionally nice and incredibly helpful. The rooms were clean. The grounds were beautiful, especially the landscaping. I loved the little individual cabins. The rooms were definitely outdated, but it served our purpose. The location was great and the price was great.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2018

I try to be positive but this place needs many repairs. We were a group of 28 and many had problems with their rooms- no AC(our room had AC), muddy way to room, wifi only works up near office, no hot water, broken door latches. Not sure about cost as it was part of our package. Birding was great!!!

Room Tip: The cabins are all in a row. Early ones will have more traffic. The last cabin is near a birding trail.
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews