We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arenal Backpackers Resort
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed here in one of their tents, really comfy beds and such a clean hostel. Their poolside hammocks are great for relaxing and seeing hummingbirds! Staff were effective and helpful in booking tours. The hostel is located a bit of a walk from the centre of Fortuna, but a beautiful hostel all in all. The bathrooms are shared by most of the hostel, but still remained clean throughout my stay.

My only issue was that on one of the nights there was excessively loud rap music playing most of the night, and only very few guests enjoying it. This was a pretty big downer on and otherwise great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LH5990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    199
    112
    67
    58
See reviews for
23
175
144
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

If you want to stay up late and listen to loud rap music, get up late, hang out at the pool and then do it all again - then this is your place to be.
If you want to explore the beautiful nature around the Arenal volcano, get up early to get on the tracks - you should choose another place to stay.

On our second night there the music was so loud that even earplugs wouldn't help. When I went down to the lobby to complain they argued that "this is an hostel and quiet time is at 11pm". You're dang right: it is a hostel, not a disco! You host guest and you have to respect all of them, not only those who want to party.
Don't get me wrong on this: I've stayed in dozens of hostels literally all around the world, participated in loads of pub-crawls and loved it. But these were pub-crawls! If a hostel has a bar in the basement it's great but you cannot set up some speakers in front of all the rooms blarring out extremely loud Rap music.
There was a woman with her six-year-old staying there... So unacceptable and disrespectful.
It should not be called a "Backpackers Hostel".

Additionally, the guy who was running the front-desk most of the time during our stay was the most unfriendly person I have met in a hostel so far - guests included. How would you hire a person that is THAT much uninterested in people/guests in a hostel? I don't get it. Recommending the food at Baldi hot springs (and that place itself) is just a sign of pure neglect.

It seems that these people have a complete false picture of what a hostel should be like. So does the six-year-old now...

PROs:
- clean
- good WiFi
- Volcano hike was great
- our breakfast sandwich was good

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have been to this hostel twice and I love this place. The 8 bedroom bunks are great, soft and clean compared to almost any hostel I stayed in. The pool is great to spend the day or night lounging after a long day of hiking, rafting or just to relax. The vibes here are always happy and you get a sense of community. The hostel itself offers activities and tours to most of the local spots. It is a little pricier than other places in the area but I don't mind paying a little bit more for a great vibe. Definitely one of my favorite hostels in the world

Room Tip: Private rooms are good but the bunks are the best bang for your buck
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alopez365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

This is a great hostel, the pool is really nice and the restaurant had good food. The bathrooms were always really clean too. We stayed in the tents which looked good but were really hot during the night, definitely bring a fan if you want to stay in them! Overall we had a great time here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Not your usual hostel. could of course use lower prices and a kitchen as well as more backpackers friendly features, so if you are a real backpacker, this is not for you. But if you're tired of cheap, dirty hostel with no warm water, it's nice for a change. The pool and garden are amazing and make for great evenings with new friends.
The hotel offers tours at the lowest price in town and the staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cécile R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I really enjoyed my three-night stay at this hostel with a friend. The hostel looks quite like a resort (although not from the front entrance so do not worry when you first enter!) and there are many luxuries for a hostel such as a swimming pool (with a tight-rope which provided hours of fun and frustration!) and air-conditioning in the rooms. The food is also very tasty.

My only complaint would be that the staff were not exactly too interested in or enthusiastic about giving information (especially relating to people doing their own independent tours rather than paying for one of the expensive tours organised by the hostel!). Also, one night we asked one of the guys at reception for an affordable place to eat and he recommended eating appetizers at a particular restaurant and while the appetizers look reasonably affordable, this would not be enough for me so when we sat down in the restaurant, we realised it was extremely expensive so we decided to leave and found plenty of other restaurants which were a lot cheaper. I just felt it was a very bad recommendation for an affordable restaurant, especially considering they are working in a hostel so should be used to travellers on a budget.

Overall, a very nice place to stay and a great place to meet new people because of the common area and swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciaran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shediac, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I had reserved 3 beds in the female dorms and they arranged transportation from the airport. Our flight was delighted but the guy that drove the shuttle waited for us for about 3 hours. We arrived there and they over booked so we got a private room for the same price as a dorm! There was AC and a tv (that we never used) in our room. The hostel is very clean. Our last night, we had to stay in the tents but that was a very cool experience. The hostel have a lot of activities at night. They have a pool with a swimup bar, a trampoline, a volley ball net, a slackline and a bunch of hammocks. They have a restaurant and the food is very good but kinda expensive. They staff was very helpful and played some good music. The hostel is at a good location in town. We had a lot of fun there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,823 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,439 reviews
3.0 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#5 of 68 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
628 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
#16 of 68 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Backpackers Resort

Property: Arenal Backpackers Resort
Address: Meters West Of Central Park, Towards Volcano 350, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 68 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arenal Backpackers Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Arenal Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Backpackers Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing