We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arenal Backpackers Resort
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This location is perfect for setting out for excursions or just walking into town. We found it easily on the main road & checked into our private room with private bath after being greeted by Diego and Allan - fantastic, friendly staff. The room is simple & the only draw backs were only one towel per person and no hooks nor hangers for clothes. As we swim a lot, and it was very humid outside, our towels didn't dry before the morning shower any day. AC comes on at 10pm but we did ask one night for it to come on earlier as we were exhausted and were going to bed early. As many travellers are young and often alone, conversations occur frequently in the open air lounge and we had recommendations for the 'best' excursions to take. The staff will book these for you at excellent (often cheaper) prices. The pool, swim up bar, view of the volcano, beautiful grounds and outstanding food make this a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 730 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2011

My mom, 2 college aged daughters & I stayed here for 1 night in a private double room. Luckily we had made a reservation, because they were sold out for the whole weekend, even though it wasn't high season. The grounds and the pool were beautiful and included a swim up bar and hammocks around the grounds. The room and bathroom were good size and everything was very clean. The most impresive thing was Andre(?), that worked the front desk. He was the most helpful person on our entire trip. He answered all our questions, called taxis for us, helped us book our trips, and we were able to keep our bags there the next day while we went canyonong. What a great start to an amazing trip! They make great pina coladas too!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roseofky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

We stayed in one of the tents in tent city. Really cool experience, super clean and the lockers offered great security. The grounds are beautiful, the pool is a great way to cool off, and the food at the restaurant is great. Hosts were very helpful in planning activities in the area. Great fun and awesome place to meet other travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JesseWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

the best bed in costa rica, the breakfast is fantasic and the hotsprings is the best in la fortuna. a little bit noisy but wonderful blace.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank y0y020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed at the Arenal Backpackers Resort for 3 nights in a double room. The room was basic, but spacious and clean. The hostel has great affordable food at its restaurant and a nice pool. If I would ever go back to La Fortuna, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingriddv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Friendly staff, enclosed/safe grounds, mature trees and foliage. We had our own room with 2 full size beds, a bathroom and TV (pretty much like a standard Super 8 or Best Western-type regular room in the U.S.). It was great, and economical at $55/night. The dorm rooms were the same type of room, but just full of bunk beds. There is a great pool and a little bar/diner with a shaded tiki-style area with tables and couches. The staff was young and really friendly. It is also just a short walk into town and many dining options. There is also air conditioning 10pm-10am--much needed in VERY HOT La Fortuna. Would have been miserable evenings without A/C. We took a redlava tour to see the volcano/hotsprings, and on the way back we were the last to be dropped off, so we saw where some of the other young/economy travelers were staying and YUCK!!! Arenal Backpackers is 110% the best economy place to stay in La Fortuna. If it is a couple bucks more than another hostel--totally worth the spend!!!

Room Tip: Room #7 on the second floor--most private room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crystarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We were really impressed with this place, particularly the pool/bar/communal areas which are more like you would find in a hotel than a hostel.

We had a private room with shared bathroom and were pleased with the cleanliness of the room and the toilets/showers. A maid came and cleaned the room in the morning and even left towel swans on the bed!

The staff were great. They were busy and we didn't have a reservation but they managed to squeeze us in.

The food was nice enough and the cocktails were great. The only disappointment was the bar had run out of beer - and bottles of water and the restaurant didn't have any chicken (which was in most dishes on the menu). This wasn't a massive issue as there are restaurants/bars/supermarkets within close walking distance.

We didn't stay in a tent but the 'tent city' area looked great and the beds in them looked very comfortable.

All in all a fantastic backpackers we would thoroughly recommend. Let's hope they've restocked the bar!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithykath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,584 reviews
3.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,027 reviews
8.1 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#22 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,528 reviews
1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Backpackers Resort

Address: 350 Meters West Of Central Park, Main Street Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $22 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arenal Backpackers Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arenal Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Backpackers Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing