We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Chifa La Familia Feliz
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Dear Friends My name is Martin Gonzales, I am the chef of Chifa la Familia Feliz. This Peruvian restaurant offer you the two main peruvian cuisine: The peruvian Criollo or traditional Cuisine and Chifa. We every dish in the menu we offer a vegetarian option. It will be an honor to have you as guests and to cook for you. We would love if you could do reservation. That way we can make sure you have table waitting for you and give you a quality service. Sincerly yours Jose Martin Gonzales
El Castillo, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My friends and I had a fantastic experience eating here. The chef Jose welcomed us and took care of us himself. Everything is freshly prepared and you can tell by the way he talks about his food that it's made with love and care. One of our party has an allergy to eggs and dairy, Jose was more than helpful with suggesting options for him and even brought a separate egg-free version of one of the appetizers that we ordered. The food arrived in good time and everything was delicious. The price was unbelievable too - we ordered appetizers, mains and beverages for three people and came out with a bill under $40. We were so happy we went here, I'll be going back often!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rebecca l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    115
    25
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great service and really delicious food”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

The restaurant looks like any ordinary Chinese fast food restaurant and we were really surprised about the awesome service! The chef spoke to is himself and recommended meals. We could try a sauce before we ordered to help us decide, the service was really quick and the food we got in the end was delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dining Experience”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We found this place by accident as there are many small family type choices here but it was so good we came back 2 more times in 4 days. Martin, the owner and his aunt run the place and each meal is prepared completely by hand. It may take a little extra time but is well worth it. Martin will explain each dish and even the pre-dinner drink made from purple corn, lime juice and cinnamon and how they relate to Peruvian culture. He also has options that he calls a fusion between Chinese and Peruvian foods. Overall it is a fantastic way to spend and evening and the cost is less for four people than what we were charged for a tilapia/shrimp plate for one person the first night we were in town at another place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Food at Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Restaurant Familia Feliz is located on the main street through the town of La Fortuna near the Arenal volcano. It offers Peruvian-Asian fusion food that is out of this world. You get your money's worth here, which won't cost you much compared to most of the other restaurants in town. The wide assortment of appetizers and entrees will leave you with the desire to return again and again, so that you can try just about everything on the menu, that's how good the food is! Martin, the chef, and his staff personally welcome you to their restaurant and make you feel like you're part of their family. Excellent food, friendly staff, good service and with reasonable prices, what more could you ask for!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joetrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“You must eat there!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

If you want the best experience in food, you have to go to the Chifa La Familia Feliz. Just the best food you can taste in the area. You must be there and be one more victim!! Excellent Food and service!! Thank you guys!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdrianB2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chifa La Familia Feliz also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Chifa La Familia Feliz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing