We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Expensive”
Review of Ceviche del Rey

Ceviche del Rey
Cuisines: Seafood, Peruvian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
El Castillo de La Fortuna
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Expensive”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stopped here to have a nice dinner, before leaving La Fortuna. The prices were sky- high and the food was mediocre at best. We love Ceviche but it was too expensive to order here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Junglemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    68
    59
    41
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huaraz, Peru
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yummy Lomo Saltado”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Their Lomo Saltado was a hit with our entire group. $14.00 a plate, but it was really good!

The atmosphere was nice, the waiter was more than helpful with the kids in the group.

Great experience!

Nice atmosphere!

Great food!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great stop after day at the hot springs”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My family and I stopped here on the way back to the hotel after a full day at baldi springs and we were not disappointed!! Service was great and the food was also great. I had the fish and shrimp ceviche for starters and liked it and then had the shrimp pasta with alfredo sauce which was excellent as well. My mom had the chicharron de pescado which she ate in its entirety and my son had some pasta pomodoro which he ate as well. The only person who didnt eat everything was my wife who ordered the churrasco expecting a skirt steak but got another cut which while tasty wasnt the skirt steak she is used to. All in all it was a great place to eat and the waiters were very friendly even though we were all wet from the hot springs. Check it out and dont pay attention to the negative reviews, try the lower priced options, have a few cusqueñas and you will be fine!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo de Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible Everything”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I went there to eat and the food was very overprice for what it was, the food didn't have no taste and wasn't what I expected from peruvian cuisine.
The service was one of the worst services I've experienced. We didn't like something and told the waiter about it and he argued about it, was never present, didn't even noticed when we got up and went and paid at the cashiers desk. Overall it was a terrible experience. Would not recommend to no one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TiaraJS20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Bad bad bad service”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This place is way overpriced for the service you receive if you want to eat peruvian food this is not the place the waiter was very rude and all over the place i had to ask him 3 times for a child's seat i had to get up and go to the cashier to pay because he wasnt even near by our table for about 20 minutes the food wasnt all that great either so for the service and food quality this place is way overpriced!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EJS20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ceviche del Rey also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Ceviche del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing