We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Arenal Bromelias
Nearby Hotels
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$134
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$279
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$293
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$135
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$138
$123
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$583
$538
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$450
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
23
42
22
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
42
22
4
6
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 97 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We stayed 2 nights in the hotel and the second night found bugs in our bed, later to be determined as bed bugs as we were covered in bites. The hotel was unwilling to compensate our stay or even acknowledge there were bugs in the room and laughed when we asked them about it. Please do no stay here as bed bugs are miserable bites to deal with and have to be exterminated to get them out of your home, extremely expensive!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hello33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Very nice rooms with good AC, showers, cable etc. Great desk staff and manager. My child had an eye infection and the drove us to the doctor. Very helpful...Breakfast was also really good.....we loved the volcano and La Fortuna

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RxsllP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stayed for two nights and loved it. We rolled into town without reservations and were able to negotiate a good rate for a room overlooking the street, church, and town square. The sliding glass door is single pane, so street noise is transmitted through it and it is noisy in the room when the diesels go by in the early morning hours. If this is a concern, ask for a pool view room which should be much quieter.

The hotel is of fairly new construction. The rooms are all air conditioned, many with Japanese split system units that are very cleverly integrated into the building's compact layout.

The hotel served a great breakfast in an elegant setting overlooking its unique pool. The largest grocery in town abuts the rear of the property, and a dozen or so restaurants are a short walk. There are some that cater to gringos, or you can get a full typical dinner at the nearby "Servico de Buffet", the discount side of the "Soda La Parada", for about $5.

The days we were in town there was a rodeo going on just across the river bridge along the road from San Jose, which was about a 4 block walk. This free event was mostly locals enjoying real bull riding, Imperials on the rocks, carnival rides, and bumper cars.

We did not attempt WiFi, or even ask if it exists, but the hotel is built over an internet cafe which always had PCs available for a small fee.

The room was cramped with little room for hanging or storing cloths, and the bedding was a bit thin but otherwise we were very pleased with this accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lafortuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Good hotel with a friendly staff that spoke decent English. The room was a little small but had a gerat air conditioner and a private shower/bathroom with warm water. The breakfast was great and included in the price. The pool was nice with a decent balcony overlooking. The hotel was in a great location in La Fortuna about 15-20 minutes (driving) from the Volcano Park entrance and about 10 minutes (driving) to the hot springs. It is walking distance to some good places to eat. Parking is free in a gated area which only the receptionist has the key.

We booked through Nikki at Pura Vida, Eh? and she got us a great rate. I also recommend working with her for booking at this hotel as well as all activities in La Fortuna.

Overall, we were very happy with this hotel and our trip to La Fortuna.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank RomRab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We stayed in La fortuna at this hotel for 2 nights. Arenal Carmela is in a great location, very clean and our suite had a walk out balcony which had two chairs and a table. This hotel had a secure gate at the front which the concierge had to prompt for exit and entry. Our room was super clean, had clean towels, clean bathroom, room had A/C and a safe with a lock. The TV had local cable which had some channels in Spanish and some in English. Overall this hotel is in a great location. Close to wonderful markets, restaurants and a park. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a middle of the road experience. The purpose of our trip was to experience the adventures in Costa Rica, so we didn't spend much time in the hotel. For the time that we did spend there however, it was GREAT! I would go back for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventurous_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews