We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a Must!!”

Rainforest Chocolate Tour
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Rainforest Chocolate Tour from La Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rainforest Chocolate Tour The sweetest rainforest experience With the view of the majestic Arenal Volcano in La Fortuna of San Carlos, enjoy the sweetest rainforest experience, discovering the ancient secrets of chocolate: from its discovery and use, in tropical America, to the processing of the product we know and enjoy today.Considered as "a gift of the Gods", the cacao tree was very important to the ancient culture, it was not only used as a ceremonial drink, but its seeds were also used as currency because of its economic value , in many regions of Mesoamerica, including Costa Rica.In this 2-hour “hands on” program, you will have the opportunity to learn interesting aspects of cocoa and chocolate, from its origin and history, participating in all the production process, from the harvesting of the fruit, drying and grinding of the seed, also the developing of the traditional drink of our ancestors, and of course enjoying a high quality organic chocolate.Enjoy this journey through the history, culture, traditions and the flavor.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“This is a Must!!”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was definitely the surprise package in our trip! It was extremely informing and very interactive with the guides and the chocolate itself. You're able to taste the Cocoa beans in every stage of the process. The differences in taste and smell are pretty amazing in each different stage of processing the Cocoa bean.

Of course the best part is being able to taste the chocolate and mix it with sugar which makes it delicious! The guides encourage you to be creative in mixing different spices with the chocolate to see what flavors mix well. Overall very entertaining, and even if you're not a huge chocolate lover you'll still really enjoy this. I would encourage to do this activity at the beginning of your trip as it will be most meaningful to you then.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    87
    15
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More to love about chocolate”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

It was very interesting to see how chocolate is made first hand. I enjoyed coming in contact with the actual chocolate plants. The forest was beautiful in the sunlight and the exotic plants were stunning. The guides were friendly and there weren't that many bugs. I got to try an actual chocolate bean for the first time and we got to watch it get blended into a delicious treat. They provide water on the tour to cleanse your palette. If you are looking for an educational experience that doesn't bore you, the rainforest chocolate tour is great. I felt like I was welcomed and the chocolate we made tasted great.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Evan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful afternoon with chocolate”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Great tour with just enough educational info along with testing and tasting to make it perfect. Guide bilingual so we missed nothing, he was knowledgeable and funny, kept it fun while providing a wealth of info. And the chocolate at the end was to die for

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank theresa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you love chocolate, don't miss this tour!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We choose this tour instead of a coffee tour and we were not disappointed. Our guide was very dynamic and knowledgeable. She explained the entire process of traditional chocolate making from the cocoa tree to our mouth. The presentation is interactive and you can participate in the process and use the different tools also they are very generous when comes to tasting. Miam!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jojo201403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
131 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A tasty good time”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Very informative lesson of the history and process of making chocolate. Able to taste the chocolate at every step in the process. Get creative! You can add extracts and flavorings making your samples even tastier. Clean restrooms on site. Most of the tour is conducted under a tin roof so you stay dry while it rains and in the shade on sunny hot days. Tour would be suitable for those in wheelchairs. Only had to go a short distance on a dirt path.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GlobalNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Chocolate Tour also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Rainforest Chocolate Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing