We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended stay”
Review of La Fortuna Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Fortuna Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

La Fortuna Suites was my favourite stay during my two weeks in Costa Rica. I'd highly recommend this accommodation. The rooms were spacious, very clean, lots of hot water, comfortable, and in an excellent location. Jessy and Bob are wonderful hosts and extremely helpful. Not only did they book a Christmas Eve dinner for us, but made several excellent recommendations for us explore the area. Bob also makes an incredibly delicious breakfast! The view from their porch at breakfast of Volcan Arenal is amazing and a "must" experience. They also have bikes you can borrow and a nice communal area with videos for guests. An excellent and highly recommended stay here in La Fortuna Suites.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tree333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessy c, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Gald you enjoyed your stay, & thanks for the review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 215 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

Finally I am finding the time to write up this well-deserved review of this superb B&B in La Fortuna. I stayed here in December 2013 for two nights and absolutely loved my stay. The owners/hosts, Robert and Jesse, were ever so welcoming, friendly, fun and helpful which made my first travel destination within Costa Rica a real treat. The B&B is located directly in La Fortuna which makes it very easy to access the various restaurants, tour operators, shops, etc. Personally I really liked the location, as I was traveling alone and wanted to have easy access to the town's facilities, etc. Most of the other accommodation possibilities are found outside of La Fortuna which then requires you to take a taxi to get into town. All the rooms at this B&B are excellent: Generously big, stylish, extremely clean, well equipped and super comfortable. I slept like a queen! The breakfast in the morning on the terrace was fabulous, with a spectacular view of the Arenal Volcano. The place was lacking nothing at all, and I am certain that I would stay here again if I returned to Costa Rica for another trip, which I hope I will as I so fully enjoyed the country and its people. Robert and Jesse - milles gracias again for a fabulous time at you B&B! It was such a pleasure to meet you and hope to return one day soon. Happy New Year to you both!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoellingAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessy c, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Can't say thanks enough! What an amazing review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights here last week in the suite adjoining the terrace. We had a bedroom, a living room/kitchen area, a refrigerator, a microwave and a bath with a shower. The hosts provided organic shampoo and soap. Beds were very comfortable and air-conditioning worked great in the bedroom. It was convenient to have a table in the living room where we could use our laptop and download pictures. There were also tables on the terrace that were convenient for laptop use. The plates/silverware came in handy when we bought extra fruit. Breakfast was served on the terrace. Fresh fruit, juice, eggs, toast, fresh avocado and coffee. Everything was top quality and excellent. We will always have great memories of those breakfasts with the view of Arenal in the clouds. There was a sink in the garden below the stairs leading to the terrace where you could rinse off shoes if they were muddy. Robert and Jessy anticipated our every need. The smoothies on arrival were very refreshing. They had coffee for us on afternoons when we were exhausted after long hikes. They helped us make reservations for a night tour, and reserved a taxi for us whenever we needed one. We did not rent a car, but their place is located two blocks from the main drag so it's an easy walk to stores and restaurants. The neighboring homes have a pear tree, an orange tree and a lemon tree - all of which attract birds. In addition, Robert put out fresh fruit in the feeder every day. We saw iguanas (3 feet long or larger, bright orange and green), and black vultures in the distant trees in every direction. At the bird feeder and on the nearby trees we saw palm tanagers, blue-grey tanagers, Passerini's tanagers, clay colored robins, baltimore orioles, Great kiskadees, tropical kingbirds, social flycatchers, buff-breasted Saltators, several species of hummingbirds, and green and red legged honeycreepers. The chestnut-mandibled toucans showed up one evening on the trees at the edge of the forest directly facing the property. It was a treat to hear them calling out across the valley in response to others in the distance.
I really hope I can return some day to La Fortuna Suites!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvplano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessy c, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thanks Tara, & Ven for the amazing review! You've made our place sound much lovely than it really is. We're glad that you enjoyed you time here in Fortuna with us, & you are welcome back anytime. It's clear from your review that you really appreciate nature. So happy that you were able to catch a few glimpses of wildlife, here in the city of Fortuna. Guest like you two make doing what we do fun, & easy. Thank you.

*Each suite has a private bathroom. However, there is only a standing shower. No Bath tub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed in La Fortuna Suites three nigths and we loved it. Our hosts, Robert and Jessy were really friendly and helpfull: they booked for us several activities and gave us good tips for what to do and where to eat in La Fortuna. Their service is perfect. Indeed, we were welcomed with a fruit cocktail and their "american-like" breakfast is really good. We stayed in room number 4 which has two bathrooms and a kitchen, with a small living room where you can watch netflix! La Fortuna Suites is also very well located: only two blocks away from "downtown". From their terrasse, you have an impressive view on the volcano Arenal and if you are lucky enough you can see iguanas, tucans and colibris on the trees around the house. We warmly recommand this place and we would, without any hesitation, come back here again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gregory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessy c, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you Gregory. Both you & Barbara were great guest. We wish you the very best in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed at La Fortuna Suites for 2 nights in suite number 4, which is a spacious suite on the ground floor with a good size bedroom, living room, kitchen and 2 bathrooms. The common facilities are very good too, with a common living room at the back of the property and a beautiful large terrace with great views of El Arenal on the first floor. A yummy breakfast is also served on the terrace, with very good coffee.

The suite is very clean and the bed very comfortable. The location of the hotel is pretty good, in a quiet street but still very close to the town center.

Service is excellent and the hosts are very welcoming. We would certainly consider staying here again when visiting La Fortuna next.

Room Tip: If you don't like the sound of an airco unit just outside the bedroom window, you may want to as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peri&rini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessy c, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Thanks very much for the review. We really enjoyed having both you, & Renee stay with us while in Fortuna. Guest like you are a joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is absolutely the best place to stay in La Fortuna. The rooms are fantastic, beds comfortable, hosts amazing. Greeted with a fresh smoothie on arrival by Robert and Jessy, these guys did everything they could to make sure our trip to La Fortuna was great. Huge great balcony where fellow travelers gathered at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Try to reserve the room just off the balcony (Suite 2). It's clearly the best one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessy c, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

So glad that we could be a part of your Vacation! Thanks for the great review! We truly appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

It is clear why this has become the number #1 B&B at La Fortuna. The owners, Bob and Jessy are friendly and extremely helpful in helping me get around the area and giving recommendations restaurants and local attractions.

The accommodation is very nice, (comfy bed, clean environment and they have Apple TV) and the location is extremely convenient, just 2 blocks from the town centre. They have a nice deck with a great view of the Arenal volcano! And the breakfast that they prepare is something to look forward to - fresh food with nice views and sound of birds chirping.

I definitely recommend the La Fortuna Suites to anyone planning to visit the area!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yee Han L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessy c, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thanks Yeehan! We wish that you could have stayed longer. Have a fun back in NY! & Have a great new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,997 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,368 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,896 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,573 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bijagua
Hotel Bijagua
#1 of 46 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fortuna Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fortuna Suites

Address: Calle 474 and Avenida 331A | De Centro Plastico, 25 Metros Norte y 75 Metros Oeste, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $57 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fortuna Suites is located just off the main streets of downtown La Fortuna, Costa Rica. A small town bustling with fun, and said to be "the adventure capital of the world!" Daily Yoga Classes over-viewing the volcano from 5-6pm every day! At La Fortuna Suites you'll find the most comfortable Memory Foam beds in Costa Rica, 400 thread count Egyptian cotton linens, custom designed furniture, stylish accommodations, 40' T.Vs, Netflix, WiFi, your own kitchenette, and a friendly concierge. We also serve a complimentary breakfast each morning. We have four fashionable apartments, each with a maximum occupancy of two adults. Each suite includes a queen sized bed in the bedroom, a futon in the living space, private bathroom, & kitchenette (no cook top). If you've ever visited Costa RIca before, you'll appreciate how stylish, and comfortable La Fortuna Suites is. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Fortuna Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fortuna Suites Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing