We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Fortuna Suites
Nearby Hotels
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$429
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$234
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$114
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$102
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$251
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$217
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$183
$134
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$750
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
205
30
2
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
30
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsapple tvquiet streetlarge screen tvfridge and microwavela fortunaliving roomhighly recommend this bed and breakfastevery morningbeautiful balconywhere breakfast is servedcosta ricawonderful hostsrestaurants and shopsarrange transportationcomfortable bedsmall kitchenarenal volcano
Filter
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 241 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights here last week in the suite adjoining the terrace. We had a bedroom, a living room/kitchen area, a refrigerator, a microwave and a bath with a shower. The hosts provided organic shampoo and soap. Beds were very comfortable and air-conditioning worked great in the bedroom. It was convenient to have a table in the living room where we could use our laptop and download pictures. There were also tables on the terrace that were convenient for laptop use. The plates/silverware came in handy when we bought extra fruit. Breakfast was served on the terrace. Fresh fruit, juice, eggs, toast, fresh avocado and coffee. Everything was top quality and excellent. We will always have great memories of those breakfasts with the view of Arenal in the clouds. There was a sink in the garden below the stairs leading to the terrace where you could rinse off shoes if they were muddy. Robert and Jessy anticipated our every need. The smoothies on arrival were very refreshing. They had coffee for us on afternoons when we were exhausted after long hikes. They helped us make reservations for a night tour, and reserved a taxi for us whenever we needed one. We did not rent a car, but their place is located two blocks from the main drag so it's an easy walk to stores and restaurants. The neighboring homes have a pear tree, an orange tree and a lemon tree - all of which attract birds. In addition, Robert put out fresh fruit in the feeder every day. We saw iguanas (3 feet long or larger, bright orange and green), and black vultures in the distant trees in every direction. At the bird feeder and on the nearby trees we saw palm tanagers, blue-grey tanagers, Passerini's tanagers, clay colored robins, baltimore orioles, Great kiskadees, tropical kingbirds, social flycatchers, buff-breasted Saltators, several species of hummingbirds, and green and red legged honeycreepers. The chestnut-mandibled toucans showed up one evening on the trees at the edge of the forest directly facing the property. It was a treat to hear them calling out across the valley in response to others in the distance.
I really hope I can return some day to La Fortuna Suites!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tvplano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessy c, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thanks Tara, & Ven for the amazing review! You've made our place sound much lovely than it really is. We're glad that you enjoyed you time here in Fortuna with us, & you are welcome back anytime. It's clear from your review that you really appreciate nature. So happy that you were able to catch a few glimpses of wildlife, here in the city of Fortuna. Guest like you two make doing what we do fun, & easy. Thank you.

*Each suite has a private bathroom. However, there is only a standing shower. No Bath tub.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed in La Fortuna Suites three nigths and we loved it. Our hosts, Robert and Jessy were really friendly and helpfull: they booked for us several activities and gave us good tips for what to do and where to eat in La Fortuna. Their service is perfect. Indeed, we were welcomed with a fruit cocktail and their "american-like" breakfast is really good. We stayed in room number 4 which has two bathrooms and a kitchen, with a small living room where you can watch netflix! La Fortuna Suites is also very well located: only two blocks away from "downtown". From their terrasse, you have an impressive view on the volcano Arenal and if you are lucky enough you can see iguanas, tucans and colibris on the trees around the house. We warmly recommand this place and we would, without any hesitation, come back here again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gregory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessy c, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Thank you Gregory. Both you & Barbara were great guest. We wish you the very best in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed at La Fortuna Suites for 2 nights in suite number 4, which is a spacious suite on the ground floor with a good size bedroom, living room, kitchen and 2 bathrooms. The common facilities are very good too, with a common living room at the back of the property and a beautiful large terrace with great views of El Arenal on the first floor. A yummy breakfast is also served on the terrace, with very good coffee.

The suite is very clean and the bed very comfortable. The location of the hotel is pretty good, in a quiet street but still very close to the town center.

Service is excellent and the hosts are very welcoming. We would certainly consider staying here again when visiting La Fortuna next.

Room Tip: If you don't like the sound of an airco unit just outside the bedroom window, you may want to ask for a suite different from nr 4, even though that is a very nice suite.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peri&rini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessy c, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Thanks very much for the review. We really enjoyed having both you, & Renee stay with us while in Fortuna. Guest like you are a joy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This is absolutely the best place to stay in La Fortuna. The rooms are fantastic, beds comfortable, hosts amazing. Greeted with a fresh smoothie on arrival by Robert and Jessy, these guys did everything they could to make sure our trip to La Fortuna was great. Huge great balcony where fellow travelers gathered at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Try to reserve the room just off the balcony (Suite 2). It's clearly the best one.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessy c, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

So glad that we could be a part of your Vacation! Thanks for the great review! We truly appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

It is clear why this has become the number #1 B&B at La Fortuna. The owners, Bob and Jessy are friendly and extremely helpful in helping me get around the area and giving recommendations restaurants and local attractions.

The accommodation is very nice, (comfy bed, clean environment and they have Apple TV) and the location is extremely convenient, just 2 blocks from the town centre. They have a nice deck with a great view of the Arenal volcano! And the breakfast that they prepare is something to look forward to - fresh food with nice views and sound of birds chirping.

I definitely recommend the La Fortuna Suites to anyone planning to visit the area!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yee Han L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessy c, Manager at La Fortuna Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thanks Yeehan! We wish that you could have stayed longer. Have a fun back in NY! & Have a great new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews