We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thieves work here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just to confirm what my friend has previously written.

We had a few hours until our afternoon bus, and we left our bags behind reception, which always has at least 2 staff members working it, as well as the shop assistant there. My friend packed her laptop into her bag in front of the 2 staff members they were aware of it.

We returned from our trip and within minutes the theft was discovered. What followed next was disgraceful. My friend was accused of lying and that the laptop wasn't there to begin with. For a long time they could not even say if they had left reception at any point at which someone else could have taken it. (They had not)

To cut a long story short, we received little explanation for what had happened. The manager was also there and offered very little help. The police came, but also couldn't help because of lack of evidence.

My friend was extremely upset through out and the frustration we all experienced was too much. I expect all of the staff present are still working there now and no one was fired over it.

There are plenty of hostels in La Fortuna and you should be no means give any money to the sort of place that harbours thieves and negligence.

Shame on the people who stole the laptop and the way it was handled afterwards. Pigs

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quest0rz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Hello,

First at all, I would like to apologize personally for the inconveniences.
The hostel is not responsible of customer’s luggage outside the room. My intention is not telling you that is not our trouble, at the contrary. It is a really important point that customers fell safe. However, we have lockers inside the dormitories, a safe case in reception and a luggage’s store inside the laundry closed by keys.
I totally understand your situation and why you are upset, but it is not useful to be impolite insulting us.
I would like to let you know that we totally removed our staff in past September, and we never had any thief since then.
I fell sincerely sorry for your bad experience, and that would be a pleasure to welcome you again and so change your opinion.

Kind regards.

Your host,
Jessica Rubin

Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 330 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

This place is highly recommended on my list! I backpacked Costa Rica for six weeks and this place was nothing but accommodating and relaxing. We were planning on staying in a cheap hostel but this hostel matched their rate and gave us a private room with a free welcome drink. It was a quiet atmosphere and in the center of town with plenty of places to see and do. Great value! I recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristiesleight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Terrible people, terrible rooms

The staff stole my la`laptop while our stuff was in the office after checkout. We had a few hours left before our bus arrived and they told us our stuff were safe in their office...when we came back my bag was in another corner and laptop stolen out of the case...they didnt admit it but they are responisble...they are very unfriendly as well.

They stole stuff out of the fridge as well


Avoid it....terrible people!!

Room Tip: DO NOT GO THERE...they will ruine ur holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ellenlecompte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FortunaAssistence, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Hello, thanks for your comment, we remember your case which was very special.

Unfortunately you never told our staff about it, when you tell us that your computer was stolen we cannot guaranteed that the computer was on your backpack because you never reported to us.

Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna is one of the safest places to stay in La Fortuna, since we have only a single controlled entrance and identification for each of our guests and this kind of situation never happen before.

As we indicate that day we do not know if you really leave your computer at our reception (Which is a large area and many people enter daily) or if you leave it elsewhere, that is why we decided to call the police to take note of what happened. Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna has safe rooms, lockers and safes in the reception at no extra cost to our guests. We guarantee 100% the values that guest leave with us if they reported, we invite all travelers to stay with us and verify this.

Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights. The accomodation was simple but honest. You had everything you needed. The price was correct. We've got a welcoms drink what was nice. The breakfast was not included and a litle bit expensive. The town is realy great and Arenal national park is fantastich. We have also visited the hotspring of Baldi. WAUW. But its better to book a combine ticket, its cheaper.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the first floor so you have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrSmith74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

after staying one night in a really poor hostel in la fortuna we changed to a doubleroom here, where we felt very comfortable. everything was clean, the room was made every day, the kitchen was well equipped and the staff absolutely friendly. the wifi of the hostel did not work in our room (14), but there was a open network of a pizzeria, which i could use ;-). they were still building a hot tub and a bar. a free welcome drink and parking space we got at the partner hostel one block away. we absolutely recommend that place!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holm84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Hello!
We would like to thank you sincerely have taken 5 minutes of your time to share your experience with future travelers and help us to optimize the service we are providing.
It was a real pleasure to welcome you and hope to have the opportunity to have you again with us.
Receive our best regards.

Sincerely,
All the staff of Backpackers Hostel La Fortuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a very nice stay at this totally new hostel. Helpful staff, great kitchen with coffee for free, lovely balconies and hammocks. The rooms were kept very clean and there was AC. You can use the pool at their other hostel, one block away. Location is very central, close to bus station and restaurants.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank SwedenFamilytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Hello!
We would like to thank you sincerely have taken 5 minutes of your time to share your experience with future travelers and help us to optimize the service we are providing.
It was a real pleasure to welcome you and hope to have the opportunity to have you again with us.
Receive our best regards.

Sincerely,
All the staff of Backpackers Hostel La Fortuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

So there's like three or four different hostels in La Fortuna for backpackers that basically all have the same name. We showed up to this one thinking it was the one we had originally booked. It wasn't but they were so accomodating and nice that we decided to stay here instead. They even dropped their rates for us a little since were had planned on paying a different price. The hostel was very clean and quiet. It had hammocks and seats outside most rooms for relaxing and reading. La Fortuna is a fun adventurous town so it was nice to have some solice when we needed it. It didn't have a pool (but who has time for a pool when there's incredible waterfalls and swim holes nearby) but the hostel did give you access to a pool and a free drink with an associated hostel about fifty feet away, Arenal hostel and resort. This place was a little more of the young party place and where all the tours were booked. The staff was incredibly helpful. Veronica, up front, was so fun, friendly and helpful. Alonso, Jungle Man, was very informative, honest, kind, and friendly. Tyler was helpful too. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meganegibson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#16 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
652 reviews
3.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,998 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#32 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#31 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
153 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna

Address: La Fortuna, Main Street | 100 mts west from the Park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 76 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $14 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Backpackers la Fortuna was born with the idea of creating a new concept in the zone, where the good Price and the quality of lodging where the fundamental aspects that will make us be known. Also a meeting place to meet friends. Is a perfect lodging place for those travelers that are searching the proximity of the town La Fortuna, we are in the heart of town, which give the chance to find pharmacies, supermarkets, stores, souvenir shops, ATM’s, banks, churches, schools, clinics among other things. As well as offering the guest an excellent location, we work daily as a team to offer a unique lodging experience and adventure. We are characterized for the charisma of our team members and their renowned service, which makes Hostel backpackers La Fortuna a returning place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing