We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and functional”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Our room was really clean and they kept changing the towels? Kitchen was fairly well equipped. Garden was being added to with new shade gazebo/bar. You can access the pool a few doors away. Setting is not scenic as there is a builders suppliers next door which sometimes was noisy. Overall though it worked for a few nights.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 332 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

Pretty decent hostel. The front desk person was very friendly and helpful. I spent only 1 day in La Fortuna and did rafting and jeep-boat-jeep tours on this day, and they helped me customize the tours so I could do both on the same day. They responded to my emails quickly and were helpful.
By the way - the jeep-boat-jeep tour should be named taxi-boat-bus tour :)

The hostel is pretty nice, the room was basic but fine. There is a trick to get hot water - there is a switch on the shower head and you need to start running the water slowly. I couldn't figure it out but the receptionist explained to me how to do it. The water was warm, not hot but it's good enough in this climate.
There is a free welcome drink for hostel guests in a nice garden bar of another hostel.
Location is good - close to everything.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greg666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I personally had a good experience in this hotel. My room was very spacious with a good and hot shower. However, some of my friends that were staying in another rooms did not have hot water. The ones that were on the second floor did not have any water. They complained in the front desk, but staff said they couldn't do anything about that.
My room was very noisy during the day with people running and dragging furniture on the second floor (that was not part of the hotel). Thus, it was hard to take a nap during the day, but fortunately there was not such problem at night.
The location of the hotel is great, in the middle of the main street, close to restaurants, bars and a few minutes away from the main hot springs.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParadiseDiscoverer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Don’t get fooled by ‘Backpackers’ and ‘Hostel’ in name, this place could very well call itself Hotel or Motel. At least, that’s how we felt. We had a private room with bathroom which was better than many motels we have stayed in states. We were welcomed by receptionist Sonya who had sweet and friendly personality. She gave us short tour of property. We were given free pass to sister property a block away where we could use swimming pool and presented with one free drink at bar. There is community kitchen where you can cook or just hang out. There was a small table and chairs on porch which I used quite a bit for leisure. The place is pretty much in center of La Fortuna town so it is very close to plenty of restaurants and shopping.

My only complaint (which could have been misunderstanding) was about the guided walking tour we booked through hostel for Arenal. We were under impression that it will take us inside the Arenal Park itself but rather it turned out to be a walk around a private farm outside the park.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Hello!
We would like to thank you sincerely have taken 5 minutes of your time to share your experience with future travelers and help us to optimize the service we are providing.
It was a real pleasure to welcome you and hope to have the opportunity to have you again with us.
Receive our best regards.

Sincerely,
All the staff of Backpackers Hostel La Fortuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

After booking through hostelworld the night before, I arrived here to be told that "Nope, sorry buddy, can't see you anywhere here" (smile, shrug). I'd received a confirmation email, so asked if I could show them on my gmail account - but was told I couldn't as their internet was broken.

So, I asked directions for an internet cafe so I could print it off and force them to acknowledge that this was their mistake. The guy gave me directions which I'm pretty sure were wrong (though this was off the back of a four hour bus ride, so prepared to potentially take the blame for this one). I asked if I could leave my bags behind the desk while I did this, and was told no - I could leave them in the corner but that "I'm not going to be responsible for them in any way."

So, I then trooped off through the rain with my bags in tow following directions which ended up without an internet cafe in sight. A sympathetic lady in a tour office let me use their computer to print out the reservation, which I presented to the guy at Hostel Backpackers. When I got back there he told me that just after I left, he had received a phone call letting him know that I was supposed to be sent to Arenal Hostel Resort down the road (owned by the same people).

He was then totally taken aback that I was annoyed at all this.

I then had a totally painless stay at the other hostel down the road, where the staff are great. This has been my only poor hostel experience in Central America. Stay at Arenal Hostel Resort instead - same owners, but much, much better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
1  Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Hello,
First at all, I would like to apologize personally for the inconveniences due to the incompetence of the employee who welcome you.
I would like to let you know that we totally removed our staff in past September.
I fell sincerely sorry for your bad experience, and that would be a pleasure to welcome you again and so change your opinion.
Kind regards.
Your host,
Jessica Rubin
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My friend and I picked this hostel somewhat randomly when walking along the Main Street in La Fortuna with our big backpacks. We spent 2 nights there in a shared 4-bed dorm with its own bathroom.

Firstly, it's centrally located in the Main Street of the town, though it really is hard to get too far from it given the size of La Fortuna. The hostel rooms are cleaned everyday, are air-conditioned and they provide towels upon request. There is a large and well-maintained kitchen and they provide a very good wi-fi connection. They have a sister hostel or hotel which apparently provides a lounging area and a pool, though I never used it. All of this for $10 per night per person!

The best part about the hostel though, is the staff. They are very responsive to any questions one might have about things to do in the area, and are very accommodating of their guests travel plans. For instance, my friend and I had booked 3 nights at first, but decided to leave La Fortuna a day earlier (due to the weather - not the hostel) and after the stipulated check-out time of 12:00 - but they gave us back the money for the one night without questioning us. For me, such gestures go a long way in making a vacation enjoyable.

One word of caution though, is that the hostel's in-house tour-booking agency is a quite over-priced, but there are cheaper competitors within 100 mts of the hostel.

Getting back to the hostel itself, it had all the facilities I could ask for and adding to that a super-helpful staff makes Hostel Backpackers a place I can wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoomsthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario P, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Hello!
We would like to thank you sincerely have taken 5 minutes of your time to share your experience with future travelers and help us to optimize the service we are providing.
It was a real pleasure to welcome you and hope to have the opportunity to have you again with us.
Receive our best regards.

Sincerely,
All the staff of Backpackers Hostel La Fortuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
Thank Francesco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
659 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#32 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort &...
#25 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
856 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
161 reviews
8.3 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna

Address: La Fortuna, Main Street | 100 mts west from the Park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 78 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $16 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Backpackers la Fortuna was born with the idea of creating a new concept in the zone, where the good Price and the quality of lodging where the fundamental aspects that will make us be known. Also a meeting place to meet friends. Is a perfect lodging place for those travelers that are searching the proximity of the town La Fortuna, we are in the heart of town, which give the chance to find pharmacies, supermarkets, stores, souvenir shops, ATM’s, banks, churches, schools, clinics among other things. As well as offering the guest an excellent location, we work daily as a team to offer a unique lodging experience and adventure. We are characterized for the charisma of our team members and their renowned service, which makes Hostel backpackers La Fortuna a returning place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing