We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gougeous place to stay that is not in a touristy...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Villa Heliconia outside
Main Batroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Natasha F
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gougeous place to stay that is not in a touristy area”
Reviewed November 30, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

You will not find a better, reasonably priced place than this one! We stayed for 5 nights in both of the two bedroom houses they had there and they were gorgeous. We did the horseback riding and the ATV ride at the ranch. Danny was our tour guide for both and we couldn't be happier. The pool and jacuzzi were clean and refreshing. The drive to Arenal is easy and quick for any other activities that you want to do. The only thing you will regret is leaving this wonderful place to go home!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The area and the people who work there
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cynthia B
League City
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Spectacular is the best word I can think of to describe Finca Centaura. Esteban, family, and all of his staff are incredible and so trustworthy. We had a group of 12 ranging from 2 yrs. old to 58 yrs. old and occupied all of his rental homes. They are all beautiful and immaculate. You can truly experience Costa Rica away from all the tourist or within a 30 min. drive be in La Fortuna. Definitely take a horse back ride and ATV ride on his property. You will see some breath taking views. We have taken many other horse back rides in other places and this tops them all. You will never get an experience like this anywhere else. Take the ATV's to the hot springs. They were fun and relaxing. There is a grocery store in town that is great. There is an ATM just past the grocery store on the right. You can only get Colones so just do the math and you will be fine. We ate several times at La Hacienda on the main road in Platanar. It was really good! Loved the Tres Leche cake. Yummy!! Esteban even ordered pizza delivery for us one night. I didn't expect that in such a small town. It was delicious. The pool and hot tub were fantastic to relax in on our down time. The cleaning staff did an excellent job everyday and they will wash your clothes for a small fee. We stayed for 5 nights but my husband and I have already contacted Esteban for a return trip next year. He will help you get a great deal on a rental car and help you plan your entire stay in Costa Rica. He knows the best of everything in his country. I hope you enjoy Finca Centaura as much as we did. I have to give a shout out to Dani, our tour guide, who was so knowledgeable and lots of fun!! I can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TraveleRR...
Spokane, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My family and I stayed 5 days at this location. It was an amazing experience. The place was very well maintained and beautiful. Esteban did an amazing job coordinating tours for us. I usually don't do the whole tour guide thing, but Danny was AMAZING and we hired him for multiple tours! I would definitely stay here again on future travels to the area!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The set up of the rental buildings and the location
Liked least: the dirt road that led there
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pedernale...
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Highlight of our stay in Costa Rica, great location for Arenal activities”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our family for four (including teen & tween) plus grandparents (active 70s) enjoyed our stay in Villa Heliconias and Villa Ilian on the grounds of this horse farm. The place is beautiful, clean, safe and ideally situated. Bedrooms have AC, kitchen & dining are on covered, mostly enclosed patio with ceiling fan, store all snacks, chips, etc. in fridge, no worries, very comfortable. We enjoyed relaxing here, sipping coffee, spotting toucans and watching horses play from the patio of our villa Heliconias. Take advantage of activities offered right on the ranch. The guide, Danny is fantastic. He arranged an ATV ride for all of us through the country to a beautiful local hot spring in a rainforest. The views were gorgeous and the ATV ride was fun for all (our first time on ATVs). Danny also took my daughter and I on a trail ride the next morning. Horse lovers will really appreciate these well trained, gaited-horses. Danny pointed out some sloths and other wildlife as we trotted and galloped through the beautiful country side. We hope to return to do this again!

We stayed four nights and could have easily stayed longer because the farm is so enjoyable and there’s so much to do in the Arenal area. Nice kitchen for cooking meals, grocery stores less than 10 minutes away, a few restaurants & sodas nearby. La Fortuna is only 30 minutes away, many activities within 30-40 minutes. Centaura will arrange activities to cater to your needs from extreme adventure, to family fun or you can explore on your own. Fantastic place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
veags
west palm beach
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“spectacular and a must see !!”
Reviewed April 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

from arrival everything was taken care of ,The hosts went out of their way to accommodate any requests or information that we needed for our visit. The Villas 'are just beautiful , very romantic and peaceful , if your looking for activities with adrenaline that can be found easily. I would love to return !!

How easy was it to book the property?
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee D
Purcellville, Virginia
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

There is too much I could say about our, a family of 3, stay at the ranch and within our villa for this review...so I will attempt to limit our pleasure to as few words as possible, which will be difficult. We stayed in the larger villa with an open air kitchen and living space, but closed bedroom and bath. For us, this arrangement could not have been more perfect. It was exactly as we had hoped to experience but still have luxury. The time of year afforded us divine weather for our stay of several days so we treasured lounging in the lovely hammocks on two different porches in the mornings as well as reclining on the hand-tooled leather rockers with Costa Rica motifs in the evenings. Our view of a dormant volcano and distant mountains, rolling hills and tropical floral and fauna easily made us feel as if we were secluded in our own tropical paradise. The chorus of bird song in the mornings and daytime combined with gentle breezes were simply enchanting. Geckos and tree frogs kept us company in the evenings which kept pesksy insects at bay. So peaceful and quiet...that we, myself, husband and teenage son (outdoor lovers) sometimes just sat looking across the vista, taking a deep breath and releasing a long sigh. This is what we wanted Costa Rica to offer us. It was perfect! The housekeeping kept our villa clean and tidy. Our dishes were even washed for us on one occasion when we left early for a day's adventure. The half-day horseback ride led by Danny started off the beginning of our visit to the country exactly as we had hoped...it was enchanting to listen to the horses' hooves on the rocky road through the country passing local's homes, through pineapple and sugar cane fields, and jungle streams. No one but our guide and the three of us...except the sloth, Howler monkey, Toucans, and Poison Dart frogs. The location made it easy to drive to "must-see" sites like La Paz Waterfalls and Gardens as well as the Poas Volcano which we were blessed to see despite the clouds which parted for us, and the Arenal Hanging Bridges at the Arenal Volcano. The local grocery had some of the friendliest and patient people we encountered during our visit. In fact, all of the locals with whom we interacted we so pleasant. The fruit purchased at two roadside stands in town, one recommended by our guide, Danny, was so ripe and delicious not to mention incredible buys! Did I say I would attempt to contain my words? It cannot be done....could continue but I will end here with this...perfect. Thanks Estaban.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the villa and the plantings surrounding it...with the view.
Liked least: The brown beetles that liked to fly about in the evenings towards the lights
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukeoline
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Centrally located for all things in Arenal area”
Reviewed April 16, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was convenient place to stay in the Arenal/La Fortuna area. The ranch was beautiful with lots of vegetation and a nice pool. Their dachshund, Gitana (means gypsy), was a hoot-she came and went, and was very friendly. Go, see, do during the day, then come back here to relax and make dinner. We stayed in the larger villa on the property. Two bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, open air kitchen/porch area. Nice, local supermarket was 10 minutes away.

Allow Esteban to arrange your rental car and tours. He arranged our tours while we were in the Arenal area (Proyecto Asis & Arenal Mundo Aventura-zipline). At the ranch, we did the horseback riding (2 hours). It was beautiful scenery through sugar cane fields and a river. We also did the ATV trip to the hot springs. It was about 1 1/2-2 hour ride to Termales del Bosque Hotel springs. We stayed about an hour, then it was an hour ride home. It was a long trip on an ATV-the springs were good, but I enjoyed the drive to the springs more. You will drive through pineapple fields, jungles, over rolling hills, to awesome vistas, and past local homes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: helpfulness of owner with travel plans
Liked least: king mattress not comfortable
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing