We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful home in a perfect location...Amazing...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Villa Heliconia outside
Main Batroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
AT11301
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful home in a perfect location...Amazing horses!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I (ages 27 - 32) stayed at Esteban's property for a total of 2 nights and wished we would have stayed longer! From the moment we arrived Esteban was friendly and helpful and showed us to the home. Esteban was onsite which was great and he was helpful in offering us restaurant recommendations and attractions. We rented the property that had 3 separate buildings and it was perfect for us (there was 6 of us traveling together). The property was in great condition, beautifully kept, gated, and the views amazing! There was a young lady who cleaned everyday for us and she did a great job! The home also had an alarm system which we accidentally set off one night and Esteban's workers were there within a minute to check up on us. While at the property we took advantage of the pool, the hot tub, and the horse tours. The horses were tame and the ride was amazing, I'd highly recommend horse tours to anyone staying at Esteban's property. While in the area we also visited the hanging bridges, which were OK but not as exciting as I had expected...I was hoping to see lots of wildlife and we saw literally one bird! Anyway, the stay in the area was great and only about a 40 minute drive to La Fortuna. We enjoyed how green and beautiful everything was, the property has tons of beautiful trees, flowers, plants, and fruit trees...it was simply stunning. I'd definitely visit again for the horses, ATVs, and hot springs!!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSon16
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have recently stayed for 5 days in the new, bigger property on Esteban's farm. Our party of 5 included two kids aged 6 and 8, all on our first trip to Costa Rica. We were a little bit hesitant to stay somewhat away from the main tourist areas however our concerns were misplaced. This farm is a wonderful place, it is in the heart of mountainous landscape with very tranquil surroundings and a reasonabaly short drive from La Fortuna (we had no trouble finding it following Esteban's detailed directions). Esteban is an excellent host who took a lot of time to make sure we were comfortable and that we got the most out of our trip. After giving us the numerous options for activities in the area, he took upon himself to personally reserve all of our choices and went as far as programming our GPS for each activity to make sure we didn't get lost. All of the activities he chose were excellent and exactly as he described them. However the highlight of the stay on the farm especially for our kids was the fact that it is a horse ranch, Our kids loved getting near and on the horses and we had a great time riding through the surrounding farms. In addition the farm has its own ATV's and the ATV trip we took to the local thermal pools will long live in our memories.

The farm is an excellent place for those looking to experience rural Costa Rica but with access to all the exciting attractions of the area surrounding the Arenal volcano. The house although simple was very comfortable and it was such a joy waking up in the morning to sound of toucans and other birds chirping away just outside the window. We would definitely like to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful location with easy access to activities such as horseriding and ATVs
Liked least: The pool was located too far away from the house
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RevTSizzl...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Vacation Ever”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Esteban is the man and his 2800acre beautiful horse ranch makes for the perfect vacation spot. You cannot go wrong here, trust me. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the quiet, the morning horses, the location, Esteban, I could go on and on.
Liked least: Wi-Fi was spotty, but you are in the middle of paradise, so get over it.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewed August 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MHA17
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great find”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The property was great, secluded and private, yet close enough to all the attractions. Esteban totally took care of all our needs, I gave him a list in advance of all the things we need (including Kosher food) and he had his driver pick everything up for us. He also arranged all our tours and got us private drivers to take us everywhere. Highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: private and secluded
Liked least: no a/c in the kitchen area
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yessenia...
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We selected this location based on trip advisor reviews and I am glad we did! We visited with our family (myself, spouse and two teenaged children). We stayed at the larger villa (Villa Frutales) which consisted of three bungalows (bedrooms on the sides and kitchen/living room in the center bungalow). The villa had all of the amenities we needed and was extremely clean and exquisitely decorated. Esteban was an excellent host and made most of the arrangements for our trip. He visited us every day to help us plan our activities and even made arrangements for car rentals and transfers from the airport which made our trip care free.

If you want to experience 1st class accommodations and genuine Costa Rican hospitality then this is the place for you!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful surroundings, spacious and clean villa, hospitality.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing