We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing, Amazing, Amazing!!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Villa Heliconia outside
Main Batroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
CA
Reviewed December 13, 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gypsy6570
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't let this one get away! Fantastic Villa! Pura Vida”
Reviewed December 7, 2012 for a stay in December 2012

We were so pleased with our villa and with our host, Esteban! One of our goals was to relax and there could not be a more perfect place to do so. It was a short drive to Fortuna and Arenal Volcano where we enjoyed the hot springs at Ecotermales. We enjoyed a wonderful meal and entertainment at La Choza de Laurel in Fortuna. The highlight of the week would have to be the Hot Air Balloon ride with Esteban, our pilot! It was wonderful and amazing to see Cost Rica from the sky. The landing in a farmer's field, along with meeting the farmer's family added to a fantastic experience. Another great hot springs was Termales Del Bosque. Our afternoon horseback ride could not have been more fun with our 3 guides! The local restaurant in Platanar, La Hacienda was delicious and we tried many local favorites. We could not have found all these great places without the help of our host, Esteban! The property was exactly as described and pictured, very clean with daily housekeeping. There is a wonderful swimming pool just a few steps from the villa and we enjoyed it when the sun came out. We would highly recommend this property!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The mountain scenery was amazing!
Liked least: The rain - but that can't be controlled. We just kept going!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregvgreg...
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular Stay at the Ranch!!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Esteban's ranch. In fact the moment we got there we immediately regretted we were only staying two nights!! Esteban was there to welcome us and is very friendly and speaks perfect English. He allows you to roam free on his spectacular ranch, pet his horses, eat grapefruits off the trees and plenty more!!

The place was neat and tidy and Esteban was very good to provide feedback about places to go and things to do. His ranch is a little bit of a drive from the volcano and more in the country but that was what we loved about it. Very private and quiet and peaceful. Any place you want to visit or see will be less than half an hour. I also recommend taking Esteban up on his horse tour as its quite a thrill to gallop with him and his horses and get a tour of his spectacular ranch!!

Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and tranquility of the ranch
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthonyas...
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Great place. We absolutely loved everything about it! Very nicely decorated and excellent service! Would recommend it to both families and couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jojomarji...
Shawinigan, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Avec mes amis
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing