We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great morning on horseback”

Arenal Wilberth Stables
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This adventure begins at the foot of the volcano on our private estate, surrounded by natural beauty and farm animals. Then you will meet our beautiful, healthy and safe horses, which for years have been trained to perform this activity safely. You will receive the basic training to manage your horse from our guide.The horses are trained so you can enjoy your tour without worries. You can admire the impressive craters caused by ancient volcanic eruptions. As you travel through our pastures you will search for beautiful birds like orioles, toucans and other surprises. You will see beautiful organic gardens where you will be impressed by the size of our vegetables and defferrent varieties as well. During the tour you will enjoy beautiful scenery of the volcano and the lake as you immerse yourself in the beautiful forest and hopefully will be surprised by some of the animals that inhabit this amazing place. All from the top of your partner on this two and one half hour tour.At the end we will take you to our beautiful veranda where you will learn the history that lies behind the impressive Arenal Volcano and its beautiful lake.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great morning on horseback”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I decided to do the horseback riding adventure, since the volcano was very quiet and the tour agencies did not seem enthusiastic about hiking it, so I thought this would be a good way to appreciate Arenal. The guide was great, very informative and interesting.
Unfortunately we did not see a lot of wildlife (not the guide's fault!), but it was a great ride. My only comment would be that the amount of running was perhaps a bit much for a very novice rider like me, but others seemed to enjoy it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    18
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A very fun activity while in Arenal”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Initially my gf and I were looking to do some repelling while in Fortuna, however we must have been there on a bad week because the prices for outings like this were ridiculous so we elected for something scenic around the Volcano. Our guides promptly picked us up from our Hostel, were super friendly and caring during the entire 3+ hours and taught us some pretty amazing things about the area and history of Arenal.

I would seriously recommend this activity to anyone, even if they do not feel confident with horses because Augustine was VERY good at being supportive and going at a slower pace if needed.

Thanks for much guys!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwame84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing horseback riding adventure to the volcano!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beautiful surroundings with a knowledgable, friendly and fabulous guide! My friend had never ridden before and I was experienced, and we both had an amazing time! I got a lot of galloping in, while my friend went at her own speed. Horses were well-trained and cared for. Wonderful wildlife and birds. Worth every penny!

Helpful?
2 Thank mrthmccarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I've rented horses in a lot of places, but these were the best! Well behaved, well trained, healthy, and with just enough spunk to move. We had a great time, our guide was fun to spend time with. I highly recommend this.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Restonfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best horseback riding EVER!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I was so impressed with the quality of the horses....well cared for, well trained, gorgeous, and spirited....these are NOT your average rental beast; plodding along waiting for the hour to be over. Our guide took us around the property and showed us beautiful views of the volcano, birds, plants, and animals. If you want a REAL horseback riding experience, do this tour....we had a blast!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arenal Wilberth Stables also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Arenal Wilberth Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing