We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
La Fortuna de San Carlos
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,851)
Filter reviews
3,851 results
Traveler rating
2,363
1,213
212
47
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,363
1,213
212
47
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs costa rica la fortuna beautiful grounds private hot spring swim up bar rocking chairs towel animals breakfast buffet private patio thermal pools every morning rainy season superior room restaurant staff arenal area spring pool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 3,851 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed with my wife for 1 night on our way driving from Liberia to San Jose. Overall very happy with our experience. Opted to pay a little extra for a suite that had a private outdoor soaking tub with waterfall. Very happy with that decision. The hotel pools are also great, especially the thermal pool with the bar. We had dinner and breakfast (included) at the hotel restaurant and were happy with both meals. Great views of the volcano. Highly recommend staying here if you are looking for that middle ground between budget and luxury in the Arenal / La Fortuna area.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank F4144GRandrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to share your lovely experience with us.

Definitely is good to read your comments about our property and services, and we are truly pleased that you have enjoyed all that you encountered in the hotel.

As you well say, we have beautiful grounds, delicious food, magnificent view of Arenal Volcano, professional staff and relaxing hot springs.

It was a pleasure to have you here with us, and we hope that you can back soon.

Kindest Regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

Wonderful staff, clean rooms with air conditioning, and fantastic views (both from our room and from the pool and restaurant). Swim up bar with happy hour was great, and the restaurant (Sura) was delicious (and had plenty of options for my wife, who is vegetarian).

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Dear Peter, thank you for your time and effort to leaving your positive review.

We are really happy to read your comment.
As you mentioned, we have confortables rooms, relaxing hot springs, delicious food, professional staff and the best view of Arenal Volcano.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. It is very important for us.

Warmest regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

I recently stayed at this hotel with my family for several nights and I was extremely happy we did. The hospitality of the staff is outstanding, everyone always had a smile on their face. The rooms were spacious and very clean and the grounds of the resort were beautiful. The breakfast in the morning was substantial, it had something for everyone. A special thanks to Mario who greeted us every morning with the warmest smile and wonderful conversation. We also ate dinner here during 2 of the nights, one of which was New Year's Eve and again it was delicious with 5-star service from the staff and something on the menu for everyone's diet. I would definitely stay here again if I was ever in the area. It was conveniently located just 10 minutes from La Fortuna and near all the attractions. Another big plus is the thermal hot spring pools right on the property that is only open to hotel guests and was really nice to soak in at night.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mdangelo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2020

Dear guest, the Customer Relations Department want to thank you for having selected Volcano Lodge and for having set aside some of your valuable time to share your review with us.

Your comment is so detailed and describes very well everything that our property has to offer to our clients...

We are glad that you found the staff very friendly. We know that small details can make a huge difference, so we are always happy to know that our team goes out of their way to make your stay more pleasant.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future.

Kindest regards,
Gerardo Pérez H




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

I loved my stay here. This was my first time visiting Costa Rica and staying here but it definitely won’t be my last. The staff were well informed of the are and just super nice. I recommend staying 10/10!

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank yanielmendez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Dear Yaniel, thank you for sharing your 5 star review of your recent stay with us at Volcano Lodge.

We are delighted that you mention our professional staff.
All our staff strives to serve you in the best way.

We hope you can come back someday.

Best regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

Family of 4 loved this place! Pool options were nice, clean and fun. Grounds were beautiful. Room was clean and nice. The restaurant was so good! Good location. Nice people. Fun to sit in the thermal pools even in the rain :)

Date of stay: December 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kmamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Dear guest, thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay.

Definitely our daily goal is to make the stay of our guests a perfect and unforgettable experience.
Our staff works at all times to fully serve our visitors and your feedback will definitely help us to improve every aspect of our work.

We hope you visit us again soon, it will be a pleasure to serve you.

Kindest regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews