We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,495)
Filter reviews
3,496 results
Traveler rating
2,107
1,135
199
40
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,107
1,135
199
40
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs costa rica la fortuna beautiful grounds private hot spring swim up bar rocking chairs towel animals breakfast buffet private patio back porch every morning rainy season thermal pools restaurant staff arenal area spring pool
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 3,496 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2018

My boyfriend and I stayed here for the first 3 days as part of his birthday/ vacation trip to CR! Our view from our room was the most beautiful site I've ever seen! We looked straight out at Arenal Volcano, it was absolutely breath taking! The hotel also did a great job of making you feel like you were in the jungle with all of the different trees, plants, and bushes around your room and down the pathways. It made you feel like you were the only ones there. The hot springs/ mineral springs felt amazing, it was so relaxing. We were never able to use the swim up bar, there were too many people so we just hung out in the springs. The free breakfast was the same every day but it was really good. The restaurant is a little pricey but the food is good, I would definitely suggest taking a taxi for $10 or drive into Lafortuna which is about a 10 min ride and grab dinner or snacks. The atmosphere in town is definitely geared towards tourist, so they are happy to see you and are very friendly, we always felt safe. The prices are decent and fair, and the food was amazing! The hotel room was spacious we had 2 double beds, a huge bathroom, and a great view! This place is great!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank carolinebarrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Hello Brooke, the Customer Relations Department want to thank you for your ample review.
Is good to know that your experience at our lodge was very good.

As you mentioned, we have beautiful grounds where you can see many kinds of birds and flowers.
Also, our hot springs are a complete relax after doing an adventure tour around the Arenal Volcano area.

Our main goal is the complete satisfaction of all our customer and your comment give us the energy to keep serving you in the best way.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and for sharing your feedback with us.

Best regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2018 via mobile

a lovely place, perfect service and excellent food, the staff are extremely helpful and are ready to cater fir all wishes, the grounds are beautiful and the hot water springs are fantastic. The chef, Delvin, is outstanding and his dishes are really delicious.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Vacation57831218894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Hello Israel, we want to thank you for your positive review, which give us the energy to keep serving all our customer in the best way.

We are happy to see you enjoyed of our food, grounds, hot springs and the professional staff.

We hope you can come back soon.
It will be a pleasure to serve you again.

Kindest regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018 via mobile

Great place. This was the sister hotel to the hotel we stayed at so we got access to it for the day. Great grounds by the pool. Children’s pool. Playground for kids. The thermal pools were great day and night. The bar by the pool has happy hour from 4-6. Loved this beautiful place!

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank cs1385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2018

Dear customer, we want to thank you for your time to leave us your positive review.

We are pleased to read all you encountered in our property was of your liking.
As you well say, we have free access to our hot springs for all guest of our sister hotel San Bosco Inn.

We hope that your stay in our lodge has been unforguettable.

Kindest regards,
Gerardo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is a 10 minute, $10 taxi ride from town, and has wonderful amenities. Stayed here with a friend during a 5 day visit to Fortuna, and we had an amazing time! The hot springs, sauna and swimming pool are relaxing, and there is a fantastic view of the Arenal Volcano from every point in the hotel. There is a delicious breakfast every morning, and the staff puts out fruit for the local birds near the dining room so you get to see them during your meal. Although the hotel is in a natural wooded setting, there were rarely any mosquitoes. The entire staff is very helpful and professional, and they can recommend activities and local points of interest. Will DEFINITELY stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2018

Hello Rachel, thanks very much for taking time to share your experience based on your recent stay at our hotel.

Our staff is happy to know that you had a lovely time.

Thank you for the nice words and for choosing us as one of your destinations in Costa Rica.
If you ever return, hopefully you give us another opportunity to serve you.

Kindest regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2018

Great location, great view of the volcano! It was easy to get to the town from the hotel. The rooms were nice and our back patio had a great view of the volcano. We enjoyed having 2 pool options and the swim up bar was a lot of fun!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2018

Dear customer, we want to thank you for your time and effort to evaluate our services.

As you say, we have relaxing hot springs, a great location, confortable rooms and a magnificent view of Arenal Volcano.

We are pleased to read you had a wonderful experience in our lodge and that you enjoyed of all our facilities.
Once again thank you for choosing Volcano Lodge & Springs for your stay.

Best regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews