We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
$100
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/20/21
Booking.com
$131
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/16/21
Trip.com
$226
$97
View Deal
SAVE $129
Hotels.com$100
ZenHotels.com$226
eDreams$131
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,928)
Filter reviews
3,929 results
Traveler rating
2,418
1,226
219
49
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,418
1,226
219
49
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs costa rica la fortuna beautiful grounds private hot spring swim up bar towel animals thermal pools private patio breakfast buffet every morning junior suite arenal area spring pool wet bar an amazing view hotel restaurant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
690 - 695 of 3,929 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2017 via mobile

This hotel has spread out layout and rooms are spread out along the road which leads to the end. Rooms are large and nicely appointed and have a front balcony to view the beautiful gardens. Breakfast is good with omelette and waffle prepared fresh.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Zim25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2017

Dear customer, we want to give you the thanks for your feedback.

Is very important to know the opinion of all our customer because help us to improve in all our services and procedures.

We have beautiful gardens where you can see many kinds of birds and plants of the zone. Also our buffet breakfast is one of the best in the area.

Thanks again for choosing Volcano Lodge & Springs for your vacations.

Kindest Regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017

A perfect location with stunning views of Areanal. Clean pristine grounds, pool and thermals. Rooms are spacial with private patios. A very tranquil quiet environment. I would have given a 5 star review but the food is at fast food level at best. Really tasteless and overpriced. The free breakfast has a nice presentation but is absolutely tasteless.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2017

Hello Eric, thank you for the time to evaluate our services in general.

Definitely we will consider your contribution about the food and price in our restaurant.
All the opinions of ous customer is very important because help us to improve in all our procedures.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Best regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2017

Nice staff - beautiful grounds, great food. Though I would say the guaro drink was very small. And, I asked about a ride to and from Proyecto Asis... I was told it was $80 each way with the hotel or with a cab (40 minutes) But when I investigated elsewhere - I was told it was $40 each way - so I didn't get that price with the hotel until I mentioned that.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2017

Hello Rebeca, the Customer Relations Department is grateful for your time and effort in evaluating our services.

We are delighted that you mention our beautiful grounds, and the food in our restaurant.

Would be wonderful that you stay with us again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Best regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017

Arriving at our hotel, we were greeted with a refreshing fruit drink as we checked in. We were in a junior suite and loved having our own "backyard" with mini-hot springs and view of the Arenal Volcano. We enjoyed the pool areas and loved the breakfast buffet - amazing fresh fruit daily, and lots of other excellent choices. Definitely recommend this hotel!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank pesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2017

Dear customer,

Thank you for having selected Volcano Lodge & Springs for your recent stay in La Fortuna, San Carlos - Costa Rica.

We are pleased to know that you had a good stay in our lodge and that you enjoyed of our junior suite room which has the best view to Arenal Volcano.

We appreciate your review because give us the energy to keep improving in all our services and procedures.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again as our guest.

Best Regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017 via mobile

The hotel grounds are immaculate, hardly a leaf out of place. It's like being at your own personal botanical gardens. The common areas, restrooms and outdoor air restaurant lack nothing whatsoever. Can't say enough about how beautiful the decor of our room was each day. All the cleaning staff make art work out of the local fauna and your daily towels. No cruise can compete with their skill level, at least that we have seen. The breakfast buffet catered to many nationalities, which was a nice change. The coffee was as you would expect in Costa Rica, fantastic.
There is nothing bad I can say about the hotel, guests were friendly enough but most kept to themselves. We didn't even make it to the secondary, more secluded pool/spa/hot springs area, as there are 2 definitely different spaces on the property.
I can warn you the drive from San Jose is a full 2 1/2 to 3 hours with no stopping due to the twists and turns throughout a good portion of the drive. A good navigator & a good driver make the trip less daunting, not fearful but no one will fall asleep.
The massage, couples, we booked, was adequate. Nothing to complain about but not overly stellar, especially for the price. We got help from the Front Desk booking our Hanging Bridge tour, costing no more than had been researched before going there. All went smoothly. There's lots to see and explore in the area. Great place to vacation!!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank SNCLVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2017

Dear customer, thank you for this lovely review which collaborate with all the Trip Advisor users and give us the energy to keep improving in all our services and procedures.

We are pleased to read that you had a wonderful experience with us and that you enjoyed our services in general.
All our staff strives to give you a high quality service.

Once again thank you for your feedback and for choosing Volcano Lodge & Springs for your vacations.

Kindest Regards from La Fortuna, Costa Rica.
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews