We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$100
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/20/21
Booking.com
$131
View Deal
Free cancellation until 03/16/21
Trip.com
$240
$97
View Deal
SAVE $143
getaroom.com$240
Hotels.com$100
eDreams$131
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,928)
Filter reviews
3,929 results
Traveler rating
2,418
1,226
219
49
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,418
1,226
219
49
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot springs costa rica la fortuna beautiful grounds private hot spring swim up bar towel animals thermal pools private patio breakfast buffet every morning junior suite arenal area spring pool wet bar an amazing view hotel restaurant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
739 - 744 of 3,929 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2017

If the fog had cleared we would have had a spectacular view of the volcano from our room. The Volcano Lodge is a nice motel in a peaceful setting, just a bit outside of the busy, touristy town of La Fortuna. The grounds are lovely and even include a hot spring pool. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with a small terrace overlooking beautiful trees and the volcano.

Service seemed good enough, with some oddities. Unlike all other hotels we have ever used, no facial tissues were available. When I inquired at the office I was told that I could purchase some at a grocery store in town.

The included breakfast was totally acceptable, particularly considering the reasonable price of the accommodations.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank csdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017

Dear customer, thank you for your review.

We are happy to read that you had a nice experience during your stay with us.

We are a thermal hotel and our main goal is the relaxing and the complete satisfaction of all our customer.
As you mentioned we have beautiful grounds and the best view of the Arenal Volcano.

We hope you can back very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2017 via mobile

Wow, what a beautiful hotel and hotel grounds. Pictures really don't do it justice. Would definitely stay here again. Service was excellent. Rooms were clean and we could lay in our bed and see. Food and drinks weren't the greatest but the fact that you could literally eat and drink while sitting in hot springs make it a fantastic experience overall.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2017

Hello Daniel S, thank you for you review.

The Customer Relations Department is grateful for your time and effort in evaluating our services.

We are delighted that you mention our good rooms, the hot springs, and the cleaning of all our property like a guarantee of our good service.

We hope your experience have been unforgettable!

Warmest regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2017

It is a nice spring resort with many warm and cold pools/jacuzzi that stay open all night. We saw a sloth on the trail bordering jungles and the hotel. The landscape is nice. There are even signs for the plants so it feels like a botanical garden. The breakfast is abundant and delicious. We enjoyed watched the birds feeding next to the restaurant. The only complaint is the lack of sound proof in our room.

Room tip: I specifically asked for a quiet room with good view. I did have a view of the volcano from the back patio and it was quiet albeit being very close to the restaurant and pool area. However, the sound proof of the room is terrible. We could hear the people next room talking normally.
Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yilingb2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Hello Yi Ling B, thank you for your review.

The Customer Relations Department is grateful for your time and effort in evaluating our services.

We will consider your contribution about the noisy between rooms. The management is working in it to improve in this detail.

Other hand, as you mentioned we have beautiful grounds where you can see many kinds of flowers and birds.

Also, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed of our hot springs and of our breakfast.

Kindest Regards,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2017

This resort is convenient to La Fortuna and has a great shuttle bus to take you into town and pick you up, again. So, we did Not even rent a car for this trip! Beautiful garden areas with clean pools and lush landscaping.Perfect location in Arenal area with a great view of the Volcano!

Room tip: Clean and comfortable rooms!
Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Hello Karel R, thank you for your feedback.

It is very important beacuse help us to improve in all our procedures and services.

As you mentioned we have the best view to the Arenal Volcano and beautiful gardens too.

We are happy to know that you had a wonderful experience in our property.
Hoping you can back soon.

Sincerely,
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2017

We really enjoyed hot spring pools, actually we had private hot spring pool behind our room. Very clean room, nice bathroom, friendly personal, breakfast was very good. Of course we had wonderful view to the volcano.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank haidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPCustomerService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Volcano Lodge, Hotel & Thermal Experience, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2017

Hello haidor, thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay with us at Volcano Lodge & Springs.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed of our hot springs wich are a delight after a walking around the Arenal Volcano.

As you mentioned we have a wonderful view from all our property and beautiful grounds where you can see many kinds of birds and flowers.

Thanks again for your feedback.
Gerardo Pérez H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews