We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and Free Hot Springs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
McAllen, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel and Free Hot Springs”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a great place the only problem is that we did not see the Volcano during our stay. The clouds and fog cleared a little so we could see the base but could not see the top. There are may activities here in La Fortuna including zip lining, Caves rain forest hanging bridges etc. The beds are a little small but comfortable. The gardens are beautiful. Breakfast is great. You wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms appear Good. When the Volcano decides to come out and play.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lambert Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,634
    968
    172
    35
    13
See reviews for
734
1,400
70
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The Volcano Lodge was the only place we stayed in Costa Rica that felt like a resort that could’ve been anywhere in the world. It was also the only place that felt like there was a clear separation between the guests and the staff . . . it didn’t feel like the kind of place where you could get to know the folks who worked there (or where the people working there wanted to get to know us). They have a restaurant, some hot springs and a pool, but there was nothing special about this place beyond those amenities. One experience at this lodge that really comes to mind is that the pool table was out of service because the pool cues were broken. When we asked what happened to the cues, we were told that there are a lot of students who stay at the lodge and one night a few drunk students broke the cues over their knees. If you’re looking to go to Arenal (which is fairly touristy to begin with) and you’re looking to have a real Costa Rican experience, avoid the Volcano Lodge. You’re probably better off finding something in La Fortuna.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volcanolodge, Public Relations Manager at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback!

We are going to work in all your issues in order to improve our quality service.

We try to bring a great experience, which we can share with you, with respect; but if you felt that people was not warm, we are going to work in that.

Thanks for visiting Volcano Lodge & Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights while visiting the Arenal area. Really good location for the volcano and national park, with lots to do in the area. Grounds were very nice and well maintained. Staff was excellent and very helpful with advice for things to do. The room was good...nothing spectacular, but nice and clean and the daily towel arrangement was really awesome! Huge shower. We really liked the back porch area (with a roof, so we could still sit out there in the rain). All of us, including our two teenagers enjoyed the hot springs...they were very clean and the staff came to take drink orders. Breakfast was great and full of options. Had dinner twice in the restaurant, which was merely OK. Might have rated the Volcano Lodge higher if not for the mediocre dinners. Really enjoyed our stay and would stay here again, but probably would go elsewhere for evening meals.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We only stayed here for 1 night, in April 2014 with 2 adults and 2 children aged 9 and 12. We really enjoyed the hot springs and found them to be very clean and relaxing after our horse ride to La Fortuna waterfall. There are several pools around the grounds, some hot, some not, some busy, some quiet and some close to the bar with bar service. The volcano style pools were a bit Disney but if you ignore the slight tackiness of it they were wonderful and the kids loved it. I assume that the views of the volcano would have been spectacular from this hotel but I cannot comment on that as the clouds were too low during our stay, always a hazard in the mountains I guess. The room was pleasant enough and clean although nothing special and like many a business hotel I have stayed in anywhere in the world. Staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. The breakfast was great and we also had lunch and an evening meal there which were relatively good value (compared to some hotels in Costa Rica). My wife had a "Volcano massage" at the spa which I'm told was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SWKeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We just got back from Costa Rica - spent 3 nights at this hotel. Breakfast was great, the pool & hot tub and drink selections were great. Dinner could have had more variety. The daily towel creations on our bed was a special touch that thrilled our little girl. All in all a place to definitely visit again.

Room Tip: None... all rooms have a great view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apsolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved this place! They have hot springs to enjoy and great customer service. Not to mention the flowing river behind our room. The people are lovely and everyone seems to care about your happiness. The restaurant has free breakfast for guests every morning which is a delicious plus.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raquel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I just returned from my stay at Volcano Lodge. The staff was wonderful, the room was lovely and the view of Arenal when the clouds parted was magical. There are 2 pools and a wonderful therapeutic hot springs on the property. I feel one of the best parts about Volcano Lodge is the restaurant. I was there with a group of almost 50 and the breakfast was sensational! Fresh fruit in large quantity, a wide assortment of piping hot breakfast foods such as eggs, gallopinto, pancakes, sausages, breakfast breads, juices, coffee, tea and more. The restaurant staff was very attentive to our needs and kept things filled and hot, and with that many people it shows how well the kitchen is managed. Look for the spa menu in the room as their spa offers luxurious massages, facials, mud masks, scrubs and they all looked fabulous!! There are so many tours and activities in and around La Fortuna and Volcano Lodge is a great base. Let's just say it was a little heaven on Earth and I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view! What more can I say?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,801 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,820 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Property: Volcano Lodge & Springs
Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing