We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$135
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$247
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lavas del Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
$200
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$465
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$89
$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Arenal Montechiari(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$90
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Magic Mountain(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$152
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$538
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$450
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,239)
Filter reviews
3,239 results
Traveler rating
1,924
1,075
189
38
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,924
1,075
189
38
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot springscosta ricala fortunabeautiful groundsprivate hot springrocking chairsswim up bartowel animalsprivate patiobreakfast buffetback porchevery morningrainy seasonrooms are nicethermal poolsarenal arearestaurant staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,357 - 1,362 of 3,239 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We only stayed here for 1 night, in April 2014 with 2 adults and 2 children aged 9 and 12. We really enjoyed the hot springs and found them to be very clean and relaxing after our horse ride to La Fortuna waterfall. There are several pools around the grounds, some hot, some not, some busy, some quiet and some close to the bar with bar service. The volcano style pools were a bit Disney but if you ignore the slight tackiness of it they were wonderful and the kids loved it. I assume that the views of the volcano would have been spectacular from this hotel but I cannot comment on that as the clouds were too low during our stay, always a hazard in the mountains I guess. The room was pleasant enough and clean although nothing special and like many a business hotel I have stayed in anywhere in the world. Staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. The breakfast was great and we also had lunch and an evening meal there which were relatively good value (compared to some hotels in Costa Rica). My wife had a "Volcano massage" at the spa which I'm told was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SWKeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We just got back from Costa Rica - spent 3 nights at this hotel. Breakfast was great, the pool & hot tub and drink selections were great. Dinner could have had more variety. The daily towel creations on our bed was a special touch that thrilled our little girl. All in all a place to definitely visit again.

Room Tip: None... all rooms have a great view of the volcano
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apsolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved this place! They have hot springs to enjoy and great customer service. Not to mention the flowing river behind our room. The people are lovely and everyone seems to care about your happiness. The restaurant has free breakfast for guests every morning which is a delicious plus.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Raquel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I just returned from my stay at Volcano Lodge. The staff was wonderful, the room was lovely and the view of Arenal when the clouds parted was magical. There are 2 pools and a wonderful therapeutic hot springs on the property. I feel one of the best parts about Volcano Lodge is the restaurant. I was there with a group of almost 50 and the breakfast was sensational! Fresh fruit in large quantity, a wide assortment of piping hot breakfast foods such as eggs, gallopinto, pancakes, sausages, breakfast breads, juices, coffee, tea and more. The restaurant staff was very attentive to our needs and kept things filled and hot, and with that many people it shows how well the kitchen is managed. Look for the spa menu in the room as their spa offers luxurious massages, facials, mud masks, scrubs and they all looked fabulous!! There are so many tours and activities in and around La Fortuna and Volcano Lodge is a great base. Let's just say it was a little heaven on Earth and I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view! What more can I say?
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShirleyLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Overall a fairly good experience.

Grounds: 5 star (beautifully maintained!)
Hotel amenities: 4 stars (thermal pools, Jacuzzis, game tables in the lobby; rooms with A/C, TV, porch; happy hours)
Food: 3.5
Front desk & restaurant staff: 3.5
Bar, maintenance staff: 5

We visited La Fortuna with Costa Rica Expeditions and were looking for a mid-range hotel. This place was that. A few frills, nice place. $10-12 cab ride from the hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank srish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews