We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty good ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Overall a fairly good experience.

Grounds: 5 star (beautifully maintained!)
Hotel amenities: 4 stars (thermal pools, Jacuzzis, game tables in the lobby; rooms with A/C, TV, porch; happy hours)
Food: 3.5
Front desk & restaurant staff: 3.5
Bar, maintenance staff: 5

We visited La Fortuna with Costa Rica Expeditions and were looking for a mid-range hotel. This place was that. A few frills, nice place. $10-12 cab ride from the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank srish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,548
    941
    160
    34
    13
See reviews for
683
1,345
67
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for vacation. The room was clean, comfortable and inviting. We stayed near the hot springs and the pool as well as Sura restaurant. The atmosphere at the pool, restaurant and the room were great and we had a phenomenal view of the volcano that peeked through our window every morning. This lodge is also very close to La Fortuna as well as El Castillo and various activities. My wife also enjoyed the daily towel creations left by house keeping. A nice personal touch to our stay. Very enjoyable experience, especially during the world cup!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHalfacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

This lodge was one of three that I visited while I was in Costa Rica. Out of the three, Volcano Lodge & Springs was thee best in my opinion.
The atmosphere is what hooked me in. The room has a patio area that puts the volcano front and center, wildlife that you can hear and see...I am not doing this place justice. You can see the volcano out your window people!
I will say there are some things I didn't like. The food was mediocre, prices for snacks were way overpriced and the snacks themselves at the giftshop were borderline expired, and, a word of warning! If you bring food into your room MAKE SURE YOU LOCK IT, SEAL IT, CLOSE IT UP TIGHT!! otherwise you will see a swarm of little tiny bugs all over it. My suggestion, eat it..or keep it away from any clothes or belongings.
It's not a fault on this place though..we are invading their land...I'm off topic.

Pros:
Forest atmosphere
Gorgeous views of the volcano
Cozy rooms
Clean pools and jacuzzi

Cons:
Typical tourist prices for food/drinks/snacks
Bugs will invade if they smell food

Room Tip: Try to choose a room that faces the volcano, it's truly amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Glenn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Great food, reasonably priced, and the accomodations were comfortable. The housekeepers created wonderful fauna and flora shapes out of the towels!
The view of Arenal while you walk on the lighted pathways admiring the landscape, or soaking in their thermal water pools, felt like having a little bit of heaven on earth. Very peaceful and restful place. I went in April before the raining season- and the weather was good. This place is PURA VIDA!

Mary Aebischer

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a back porch in view of Arenal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We booked our trip through anywherecostarica.com (highly recommended) and this hotel was booked for us based on our budget and activities planned. We had the best view of the volcano from our room and it could be seen everywhere on the property. It was very calm and serene. The food was great (although for the same price in town you can get more authentic tasting food) The staff was amazing, all very helpful and kind. Our room was a great size and so was the bathroom. I hate cramped bathrooms and showers and this is not the case at Volcano Lodge. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank brooklyn688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was our first stop in our trip not knowing what to expect and we were treated like King and Queen. The food was fantastic and the view was unforgettable! The staff is so friendly and helpful. We stayed in Manuel Antonio and the Osa Peninsula and I have to say that La Fortuna was my favorite place to stay. Sitting out on our patio with the volcano as our view was the best part of our trip (we even had 2 clear days in a row and were able to see the top of the volcano) I would recommend this place to anyone! You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kendell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

From the fresh tropical juice when we checked in to fantastic services we really enjoyed our stay at the Volcano Lodge and Springs. Staff was so helpful, free breakfast was delicious and the grounds were perfectly landscaped and beautiful. The only thing we wished was better were the massages. We got a couples massage and both thought the masseuses were too gentle. Maybe we should have gone with deep tissue instead. Otherwise, perfect stay!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzyLux6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.8 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#3 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Property: Volcano Lodge & Springs
Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing