We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Volcano Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Volcano Paradise”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

La Fortuna was the first stop on our Costa Rica vacation and after purchasing a Groupon for Volcano Lodge, we weren't quite sure what to expect. However, we could not have been happier with our stay. When we first arrived, we were welcomed at the front desk and then shown to our room which overlooked the volcano. The room itself was simple yet nice. It had two double beds, a small table, and a security box for our important travel items. A new towel creation welcomed us home each day.

The complimentary breakfast was very nice and included the typical Costa Rican fare such as Gallo Pinto and plantains, but Western food such as pancakes or omelets were offered too. We only ate dinner at the onsite restaurant once, and although the food was a bit pricier ($15 and up), both my boyfriend and I enjoyed our meals. There also is a happy hour in the bar at night (2 for 1) and the bar was never crowded.

The property itself is very gorgeous and includes a "natural" hot springs pool, regular pool, and hot tub. There are hiking trails on the property too, but as it rained almost the entire time we were there, we did not do much exploring.

The only complaint I have about this place is that when I booked the hotel, they explained to me that they had a complimentary shuttle service that ran at several times during the day. However, by the time we arrived they had gotten rid of this service and since we didn't have a car, we had to pay $10 to and from town each day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katelyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,611
    961
    169
    35
    13
See reviews for
718
1,388
69
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We loved our stay here. It already is a good deal but we purchased a groupon deal so it was a steal! The rooms are fairly average but the volcano view from the back porches is epic. We spent a lot of time on the back porch, drinking beer and enjoying the view. Breakfast is great and we enjoyed the swim up bar. We even caught a Monday night football game at the swim up bar! Loved it. Our favorite pool was the hot springs pool with the waterfall--super relaxing and really big for a hot pool. The staff was really wonderful and helpful. My husband and I had a couples massage at dusk and the windows were open (with screens) so we could enjoy the jungle sounds as we relaxed. Best massage soundtrack ever. We did one excursion and went stand up paddleboarding on Lake Arenal--so fun! We were there for just two days but felt it was a sufficient amount of time for us. There are a lot of lodging options in the area, but this is really a fantastic deal for what you get.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Good hotel with a view of Arenal Volcano. In fact, most of the hotels in Arenal have a great view of the Volcano. The hotel is quite far from town and it costs US$ 10 each way by taxi. The food at the hotel is quite expensive and the quantity is really small. Contrary to what people say about cost of food, Costa Rica is quite expensive and you cannot get a decent meal for less than $20. Also, all the hotels charge 10% service charge in addition to local taxes. Since the hotel is far from town, going by taxi to town for food is not a viable option. The breakfast at the hotel is decent. However, this hotel has lovely greenery. The fans in the room run at a very slow speed and we didn't see any speed controller. The rooms do have Air-conditioner, but are not very effective.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iyengars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
354 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 548 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The resort is not luxurious by any means but it provided a comfortable environment for us to relax and unwind after a day of strenuous outdoors activities. The room itself was nothing to talk about but we loved relaxing by the pool and the wet bar and just chilled for a couple hours everyday during Happy Hours served by super friendly staff (esp. Carlos). Minor gripe is WIFI in the room was very weak and constant signal drop was quite annoying.
Overall a good valued stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toga1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Volcano Lodge and Springs at the foot of the Arenal Volcano and every morning we woke up to a spectacular view of the volcano from our back porch. This resort is so meticulously maintained... with hundreds of different flowers and plants along a beautiful nature walk/trail that is just gorgeous. We were fortunate to see a pair of toucans in one of the trees along the nature trail. Happy hours were spent in two different swimming pools - one of them heated for a late night swim/drink. The resort was quiet and private and the food was excellent too! I highly recommend this as a perfect place to stay to just relax, or head out for adventures in Costa Rica from. The staff was lovely too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, MI
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We have travelled many places, stayed in many hotels and lodges and I can say this is the BEST we have stayed in. The best of it all is their "service"...always willing to serve and with a smile.
We had an unfortunate accident while in the La Fortuna area and when they came to know about it, before our return to our room, they put a sweet card on our bed saying 'we know it has been a difficult day for you but we are so glad to have you back' with a bottle of wine and some chocolates. This note was so touching and we felt so good...like someone cares in the unknown place far away from our country. After that incident, every service member we met always enquired about our well being....it seemed like everyone knew about what we had gone through and tried their best to make our stay comfortable. I give the maximum + rating for their hospitality. I consider service the essential ingredient in lodging and they surpassed in this area!

Next is the beautiful surroundings...well manicured gardens. I have almost 200pics of their beautiful gardens...u can have a beautiful walk around this place. You will find every variety of plant here...amazingly beautiful flowers. You can rock in the backyard watching the plant life..different kinds of birds and animals.....very pleasing to the eye.

The complimentary breakfast is very good....lots of varieties and tastes very good. We stayed at the place for 5 days(had to extend because of the accident) and were not bored with the breakfast....fabulous spread. Food at the restaurant was very good...good quality and good service. On one of the days we had to leave to a tour before the breakfast time and they had packed Togo breakfast for my family. Absolutely thoughtful! Even those days when I used to dine in their facility for breakfast, the waiters would come forward to pack breakfast for my husband who couldn't walk to the place. They never did this for a tip.....I noticed each and every service member was helpful.

Pools, thermal spring and jacuzzi facilities was good. Didn't try the spa. Everything was just fabulous. We were glad that we had to extend our stay here....Thumbs up to them!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 310, close to the restaurant, pools and play area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Room has gorgeous view of volcano... Paths all around resort to see wildlife & small enough to see lots & staff are all very helpful. Even had to use the medic services for a busted toe! Ricardo did a great job taking care of the situation..food at restaurant was delicious, good breakfast included.
Spa services were also fabulous, Maria & Maricell did a wonderful job, we had papaya brown sugar scrub, & Arenal massage, & mini facial... Wonderful

Room Tip: Room 305 in back & very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssw61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Property: Volcano Lodge & Springs
Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing