We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights after taking the public bus from San Ramon to Fortuna. We were pleasantly surprised by the nice room and beautiful grounds since we paid around $70 per night for our room. The pool and hot tub are very nice, and the food in the restaurant is good.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,964)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,371 - 1,377 of 2,964 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

The property was gorgeous and the breakfast was great! The rooms were ok they can remodel and make them a little more modern. I liked that we were close to Fortuna and mineral springs. I would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Maricela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My daughter and I stayed her for two nights as part of a private tour and this was our last place before heading back to the states. The front desk staff was friendly and after checking in we were immediately driven to our room by the staff. (We also thought the wrist bands were strange to have on through out our stay). Loved the pool area and the hot tub and being able to order smoothies in the pool at the wet bar. We were without a car and (like the other reviews) did feel confined to eating solely in the restaurant. The food was good and also we were there for the CR mother's day buffet. We noticed that more local families attended instead of guests which provided a cultural feeling of the locals plus we enjoyed the music. The rooms were nice. Enjoyed the towel sculpture on the bed and their notation to being "green" and eco friendly. Our first night we could only hear the neighbors TV most of the night. Fortunately a good set of ear plugs allowed me to sleep. The next night was very quiet and we did not hear anyone next door. We were in room 321 and I would recommend an end room to avoid being sandwiched by your neighbors chatting and TV sounds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salubriously
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This guest lodge is in a prime location to see the volcano (when it isn't cloudy) and the grounds are simply beautiful and well kept. The gardens fairly large, and there are multiple paths to explore around the property, getting you glimpses of different odd and intriguing plants, insects, and even some birds. This is all without having to leave the premises.

The room was very large and clean (we actually received an ADA room with a massive bathroom / shower, not sure if that is standard, room 317) and had a private porch which we saw an armadillo from one morning. All the standard hotel amenities are provided (A/C, safe, etc.) and it was kept exceptionally clean. Our housekeeper even made different animals out of the towels, akin to the service on cruise ships. A small complaint is that the walls are thin and/or uninsulated so you can easily hear conversation from the next room over.

The only complaint I had was the pricing. We got a pretty good deal from using travel points, but otherwise this resort was probably a bit out of our travel budget. There is one restaurant on site (Sura) that had very good food, albeit a bit pricy. There are no menu items under $10, but this can be alleviated by splitting a meal with your partner since the portion sizes are generally large. I greatly enjoyed the grilled chicken / bacon sandwich and the chicken w/ sausage & veggies (forgot actual name) was recommended as the best on the menu, and certainly tasted like it. Breakfast was included (as a buffet) so that was a bonus, and even had an omelet station.

Otherwise, and this is about Arenal/Fortuna in general, all of the area attractions seemed very controlled by all the local tour companies. No, we didn't rent a car which would have given us more freedom, but to take the simple volcano hike up to the lava field, it was $46/pp, and because others in the group had other commitments later, we didn't get to explore as much as we wanted.. Even if we didn't do the package tour, it would have been a $25-$30 taxi ride to the park entrance, plus another entry fee to get in.

Anyhow, the lodge & gardens was gorgeous, had a prime location and view of the volcano, a nice pool and restaurant, and excellent waitstaff & front desk attendants. If there were more menu items at more price points available, or perhaps a late night option to order food to the room (you are kind of stuck once you get to the resort as it is out of town), this place would be perfect in my mind.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buck W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed for 3 nights in July and booked through Latin Destinations. The hotel staff was helpful and nice, the rooms and property were clean, the shuttle service to activities was great, it was a close taxi ride to downtown, and they were able to book many types of excursions right at the front desk. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Meghanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The view of the Arenal volcano and the grounds out our window was exceptional. The restaurant was good as was the free breakfasts every morning. Highly recommend the Volcano Lodge & Gardens.

Room Tip: Rooms from 209 through 217 have great views of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank rob24242013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were very excited to arrive at Volcano Lodge & Gardens. There were so many choices for La Fortuna that when I made the reservation I was nervous about which to choose. Check-in was easy and quick and the hotel felt very secure with a guard at the gate coming in. Someone escorted us to our room in a golf cart to make sure we found it easily and didn't need help with our bags. The room was very clean and the view out our window was a secluded tropical garden which was beautiful. There were two chairs on the porch to sit and relax. It was rainy season so we sat out and watched when the rains rolled in. The pool at the resort was beautiful. No one was sitting at the pool bar, but the servers asked us multiple times if we needed any food or drinks. The only negative I would note was the the lunch/dinner menu was limited. We were getting slightly tired of "Tico" food and there wasn't many alternatives. Breakfast was a very nice buffet with many choices. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,561 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,484 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,862 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,887 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $91 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing