We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One with nature”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One with nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Volcano Lodge is one of the very few places that I would highly recommend to my friends and family! The staff are super friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and lots of space to move around , most of all I had the back drop of Mt. Arenal on my window. I only wish I had a couple more days to stay there and partake on more activities available!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dy1688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,586
    952
    166
    34
    13
See reviews for
707
1,369
68
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We loved our stay at this hotel. It is very nicely set up. Food is great for breakfast. We did not eat they for our other meals. Beds are nice and soft. They only thing I wish was different is-the hot tub water seemed not bery hot at all. I asked and they said it cannot be changed. everything else was superb.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I booked this hotel at the last minute because our plans were up in the air. I could not have been more pleased. When I went into the office to check in, I was offered a cold glass of ice tea to drink while I filled out the paperwork - nice touch. The staff was wonderful showing us to our room in one of many free standing small buildings dotted throughout this beautiful garden property. The view of the Arenal volcano from our back porch was magnificent. We would often sit out there in the late afternoon watching all the birds and wildlife just feet away in the trees and bushes. The breakfast buffet that was included in the price had several Costa Rican dishes, was the best of all the hotels we stayed at on our trip. My daughter loved the towel animals they left each day after they cleaned the room - she couldn't wait to see what they would leave next. Best hotel of our trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank granite35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here, the garden and trails on the premises are really fabulous. There are also two pools and two hot tubs. My only complaint is the smell of chlorine is intense, seems like they dump too much in there. The restaurant was ok, but expensive. We ended up walking to a good pizzeria nearby, not advisable for everyone since there are not great sidewalks, but we did not have a car and as vegetarians could not bear more of the limited options on the menu. The free access to the Paradise hot springs is a good perk of this site as well. All in all it is beautiful, great view of volcano, but you are pretty locked in, nowhere to go without a car. You will have too book tours to go anywhere without car.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
231 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This Lodge is quiet, clean, has a friendly staff, free Wi-Fi, and included breakfast. The location is perfect - right across the street from the Arenal Volcano - although we went in August and the clouds covered the Volcano most days we did have one day of sunshine and we were able to see the entire Volcano. The rooms are like small villa style layed out in the gardens and rainforest at the side of the Arenal River. We could hear the Howler Monkeys at night and enjoyed walking through the gardens. Great place for families and couples.

Room Tip: We were close to the river and could hear the water flowing from our patio. Very restful and peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our family of four stayed in multiple lodgings during a recent trip to Costa Rica and found the Volcano Lodge to be one of the more relaxing places to spend a couple of nights. The location is a short drive from La Fortuna, so it is helpful to have a vehicle to access restaurants and other local activities. The front desk staff were attentive at check-in and helpful in booking tours and giving advice on local attractions. The rooms were clean, had good air conditioning and faced a beautiful garden area. An excellent buffet breakfast is included in the morning and the restaurant serves reasonably priced meals at lunch and dinner. Would certainly stay here again when visiting the La Fortuna/Arenal area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pharmadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

This place was a great spot for our stop in La Fortuna. We stayed one night during our 10 day stay in Costa Rica and it was perfect.

Breakfast was included. It was a buffet so nothing earth moving, but they had a good selection. The traditional Costa Rican breakfast rice was yummy.

We scheduled the night nature walk with Natura and the zipline with Ecoglide using the front desk. They were very helpful and welcoming. We opted to drive to the Volcano Arenal National Park on our own and we were glad we did. See my review on Volcano Arenal.

Our room was spacious with a nice sized bathroom area, a private patio and beautiful garden and volcano base view. The wifi worked in the room and at the front desk, but the front desk had a much better signal.

They have a guard at the gate and we needed to register our vehicle, which I liked.

I would recommend This hotel as a great spot in the area and that doesn't break the bank.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelEatPlayDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Property: Volcano Lodge & Springs
Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing