We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful grounds with great amenities!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds with great amenities!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Volcano Lodge & Gardens offered a beautiful landscape with a great size room and view of the volcano. Upon arriving to the hotel, we were greeted by incredibly friendly staff and a comped welcome drink! From there, we were centrally located to all of the excursions we wanted to take (Tabacon Hot Springs, ATVing, white water rafting, etc.) We did not book through the hotel (check out Wave Expeditions - awesome company!).

The breakfast provided was very delicious and full of choices! Pool area is great for families and laying out. All in all, a wonderful stay at this recommended spot!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,586
    952
    166
    34
    13
See reviews for
707
1,369
68
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We found this hotel to be excellent. It is well situated for the attractions of the Arenal area, about 4 miles outside La Fortuna where you will find laundries, shops, banks, restuarants etc. It has grounds which are extensive and immaculately kept and full of interest. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, well maintained and equipped. Each room has a private area outside where you can sit and watch out into the gardens. The breakfasts are wonderful, with an enormous selection of items available.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedTeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nr. London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

First impressions as you arrive are of a gate house, a guard and an entry barrier. Then you have to wear these wrist bands. If you're the anxious type, that feels like a lot of security, and of course they don't tell you why. Although when we were there, a large group of American schoolkids might have put everyone on high alert. Dunno.
There is a lot to like about Volcano Lodge, much of it already mentioned. My only real criticism, again mentioned elsewhere, is that the walls between rooms really are seriously paper thin. We had a family next to us, with a child that cried during the night. Alas, every word and sulky whimper could be heard. Very poor sleep as a result.
Must single out Bryan at the check-in desk. A real asset, who provides one of the most affable welcomes in Costa Rica. Thanks a lot.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has some vestige of sound proofing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kingstonpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great hotel, great view, good room, everything on high standard. Three things stand out. First, the private terrace/patio - you come out of your room and you are in the middle of an incredible garden with flowers and birds you have probably seen before only in movies. You will not want to leave!! Second, the very professional staff that will help you with any issue or request. Finally, we were surprised by the quality of the food at the restaurant - especially the meat (steaks).
And a good word about our trip organizer - Rayna Levin from MuchaCostaRica. What a find? We never had a better personalized service in our travels. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Look for the best patio!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ZsuPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karise, Denmark
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Late October 2012 my husband and I - senior Danish couple - stayed here, and it was absolutely thrilling in every respect. The rooms are nice and large, well kept and clean, the whole area is beautifully maintained. Trees and flowers are a unique experience. You feel you are staying in a very luxurious accomodation. Very charming, very cosy, feeling of safety and not to mention the joy of using all the pools and spas in the area. The view to the volcano is stunning.
Dinner as well as breakfast were fine and satisfying. The restaurant is located so in daylight you have a wonderful view across most of the resort with pools, trees and flowers through huge glass windows.
This place is utterly aestethic. it is such joy to walk around and watch the details of the well maintained area.
Would definitely recommed this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carlimut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beautifully located with a view of the volcano and set in gorgeous gardens this hotel is a great find for the price. Each "cabin" has a private patio area from which you can enjoy the gardens and spot a variety of exotic birds. The hotel is located a few miles outside La Fortuna but this was not a problem as the reception staff were happy to help us arrange trips and transportation. The breakfast was delicious and served in a lovely outdoor dining area. Dinner was good (but not great) and at a reasonable price.

Be warned - Arenal has a very wet climate. When we stayed in rained every day and the room became slightly damp.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilnewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel offers rooms with a fair bit of privacy, some have volcano views. Our room had a great volcano view. The pool is large and nice, as is the hot tub. You can't see the pool from the hot tub. The pool sets next to the restaurant which is good food at ok prices. A breakfast buffet with omelet bar was included with our stay every morning and was a nice touch. No hotsprings onsite, but its a short 10 minutes drive for an evening at Tabacon (recommended) or Baldi (did not go here). Tabacon is $45 for the evening per person and $70 including the dinner buffet. Rooms were clean and had AC, the shower was large and the beds were comfortable. The grounds were beautiful with little paths and flowering plants all over.

Room Tip: Ask for a Volcano view near the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RC05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Property: Volcano Lodge & Springs
Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing