We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Absolutely gorgeous setting. Large room, very well decorated. Private patio with view on luxurious gardens and volcano. Excellent service. Well educated clients, spotless swimming pool. Fortuna is a few minutes away by car. Nice and relatively clean city. One of the best hotel during our 3 weeks stay in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Nothing spécial. Great settings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,346
    851
    142
    33
    11
See reviews for
594
1,179
61
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I booked at Volcano Lodge and Gardens based solely on reviews from this site, and I was not sorry. I was travelling with a group of 4 couples. The service was impeccable. Everyone was extremely friendly, courteous, helpful, and always smiling. The grounds were beautiful. We spent almost half a day just looking around. Plus, the view from our private terrace was of the Arenal Volcano. I think all rooms face the volcano, and each have their own terrace with two rocking chairs and a table. Very cozy. The maids were great, and created new towel art for us every day - we were actually excited to see what was waiting for us! I never got to the spa, so I can't comment on that specifically. There are two pool areas, one of which has the biggest hot tub I've ever seen! One of the pools is located next to the restaurant, so you can get bar service right in the pool as well. At the beginning of the week, the food at the restaurant was amazing. The breakfast buffet has a lot of selection, and is delicious. And the lunch and dinner menu were well priced, with a great mix of typical Costa Rican food, as well as other styles of cooking. However, part way through the week they changed the menu, and in my opinion not for the better. The selection decreased dramatically, and for the most part consisted of items you would get a bar, not a restaurant. And the prices seemed to be worse as well. This was a huge shame, and we went to town to eat every day after this happened. It is also the only reason I am giving a 4 rating instead of a 5. The hotel also helped us out tremendously in booking some tours and adventures. They work with only top notch tour companies. They also helped us to arrange transportation to San Jose airport. There are shuttles that go back and forth to the town of La Fortuna, but they aren't very frequent, and it's only a $10 taxi ride so we just did that. Overall, I would highly recommend Volcano Lodge to anyone looking for a great place to stay in the Arenal area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We only had time to spend one night, but we would love to go back. Very nice and very private rooms with private porches overlooking the expansive gardens and a great view of the volcano. A walk through the gardens is a must for plant lovers and bird lovers will enjoy it too.

The happy hours and the meals were good value and well prepared with the landscaped pool area, butterflies floating by and the volcano in the distance. The included breakfast buffet was a pleasant surprise.

I would highly recommend this location to anyone who loves the outdoors and a very comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any poor ones based on our wander around. There is a second pool for those like to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very wonderful hotel and it was way too cheap. It has wonderful gardens and a beautiful pool. The room was spotless and the view remarkable. It was a great start to a Costa Rica vacation. The service was friendly and attentive. Each room has a private patio wonderfully landscaped to view the volcano.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johlou372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked this hotel for two nights and stayed for five. It was the best hotel overall that we stayed at in our three week visit.
The staff were excellent. Almost all were fluent in English, but more importantly all excelled in customer service. Every staff member we met was unfailingly polite and helpful. Servers knew proper serving etiquette, were attentive but not intrusive.etc. The food was excellent, well presented and very reasonably priced. We ate at the hotel every night, which is unusual for us because we usually like to try different locations. But the food was so good with plenty of variety, and service was so excellent we felt no need to explore other restaurants.
The rooms were very nice, nothing special but clean, comfortable, and roomy with beautiful views of the Arenal volcano from the patio. The grounds are beautifully maintained and you can just wander the paths admiring the flora. The pool area is relaxing and happy hour is a nice touch.
Kudos to the management of this hotel. You can tell the staff are well trained, the kitchen is well run, grounds and pool maintenance is continuous. All in all, a very well run hotel and a great value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cancus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I thought the stay was nice at the Volcano lodge. The room was good, shower was huge! It was very quiet and peaceful. The restaurant food was good, but breakfast was the same everyday. The staff was nice, but do not expect very "up to par" service. Your drink goes dry and will stay that way until you go and find your waiter/ waitress. Hardly any of the wait staff speak english which made me feel a bit out of place. White water rafting was great and so was the volcano hike.

Room Tip: make sure your room is not by the scenic trail
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The standard room is spacious even with an extra bed, and we had 3 adults and 1 child. Rooms are clean an modern. Probably not the best choice if you don't have a car, as it is a few km west of town. Bfast buffet was very good. All rooms have good volcano view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sea_and_sky478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,046 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,699 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#7 of 67 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 2,108 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Property: Volcano Lodge & Springs
Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing