We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view of Arenal volcano” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Carolina
Level Contributor
347 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Good view of Arenal volcano”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel is ok, the staff is ok the rooms are ok the breakfast buffet is ok the shower is ok the bed is ok. There is nothing to grand or special about this hotel except beautiful view of the volcano, and its close proximity to the fortuna town. We had ants in the bathroom which on complain the maintenance crew came and exterminated the bathroom after which our stay was ant free. The value for money I will say is average.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms having windows which faces the main road as you will have a beautiful view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gotofly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,313
    830
    141
    31
    11
See reviews for
577
1,149
59
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the hotel last week; we were 4 adults and 3 kids and had two rooms. First the pros- beautiful gardens, well-appointed rooms, decent breakfast. The pros end here, however. Cons- small rooms, hot water in the shower can be hit or miss, POOR customer service. We had a few terrible experiences which tainted our stay in La Fortuna. After returning from an excursion around 4, we requested the ladies at the reception if their shuttle could drop us off at the Baldi Hot Springs which is literally a 5 minute drive away. The ladies agreed right away; however when we went to the reception we were told that we were not promised a shuttle ride and we requested them to order a cab which they did. We waited for about 45 minutes and when we asked Natalie would tell us that the cab will be here in 5 minutes. We had paid $$$ to enjoy an evening at the Baldi Hot Srings, but because of their inflexibility and lack of concern for their guests, we were unable to spend the time that we paid for. Natalie at the front desk kept laughing every time we went to check on the status of the cab, clearly some behavior issues rather than a language barrier! There was absolutely no trace of empathy in her demeanor.
The biggest mistake we made was book an excursion through the hotel. We booked the "Aerial Tram" with Sky Trek for 2 days later through the hotel for $66 pp. We called to cancel this activity in 20 minutes because we realized that our kids will not be able to zipline there and thought it would be a rip-off to just ride the tram way for 66 bucks. They refused to cancel and said we would lose all our money if we did. So we decided to go ahead with the excursion anyway. At the Sky Trek, everyone including the staff was appalled that we were charged 66 bucks to ride the Gondola! While we paid $314 for the whole group through the hotel, my husband found out that we could have booked the same activity for $168 if we booked directly through the company! What a rip-off. Not only that, they were willing to refund our money and were surprised we were not able to cancel this when we were trying a day and a half ago. Claudio at the hotel was able to give us $248 back for an activity we didnot do, wasted an entire morning on with cranky and tired kids and paid $66 for riding their bus! This whole mess could have been easily avoided by the hotel staff convincing the Star Trek staff to cancel the activity and refund us our $314 when we requested them 2 days ago.
All in all, they fail to care for their guests. We wish we stayed somewhere else and would have avoided wasting a whole day dealing with messes caused and mismanaged by the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellover2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volcanolodge, Public Relations Manager at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Have a good day,

We are very sorry, that your stay with us was not as pleasant as you and we would have liked.

We understand that many situations may have been solved, with decisions at the right time.

On the other hand, in high season, some things are out of our hands, because our suppliers are inflexible, which does not give us a chance to provide more satisfactory answers.

As for the situation with our staff, your comments will help us to adjust some procedures, that can never get away from an established standard.

We hope that this unfortunate step, in our property has not tarnished your visit to our beautiful country Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

I was put at this hotel for two nights on a Living Social trip before I was moved to another hotel. I wish I had been able to stay here for all four nights! The grounds were beautiful and the rooms were great! While I never got to see the volcano due to the rain, I'm sure it would've been a great view! The food in the restaurant was great as well. I would certainly stay here again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Centerice99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed there from Dec 8 - 12, 2012. Great hotel with great service (english speaking staff), delicious restaurant (might be the best in Fortuna) and a fantastic view of Arenal volcano from the back of almost every room. Will definitely stay there again if I visit Arenal. Only downside was that it is not directly located in La Fortuna, but it is only a 10 min drive away. Only thing they can change would be better lighting on the way to the rooms at night, but other than that, the stay was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GanaK98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Beautiful property, amazing gardens, comfortable and modern rooms, AC, hot showers, great view, good food, pleasant staff.... We can't wait to return!!

We drove form Santa Teresa to La Fortuna.... It was adventurous and fun! Def reccomend renting a car.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I was very impressed with all we got for the price at volcano lodge! $63/night incl taxes and a Delish buffet breakfast for a proper resort with 2 hot tubs, pool w swim up bar and kiddie pool, bar with well priced yummy drinks and a surprisingly good restaurant. Service is impressive, there were ants in the first room so they immediately moved us next door with no hassle and no further problems. Loved the individual porch with rocking chairs and great view (not of the volcano though), comfy beds, bamboo lights and all the amenities you could need (coffee maker in the room, extra towels, safe box). We had a big din at the restaurant one night and was very surprised at how good it was - fantastic tuna Ceviche and steak and Greek salad. We definitely enjoyed our stay and thought it was terrific value for the price

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was our first stop on a 10 day trip in Costa Rica. We stayed for 2 nights. The room was nice, it had a patio with 2 rocking chairs that looked out over a very beautiful garden. The room attendants made towel sculptures with flower pedals that were very nice. We went walking on the trail around the compound and saw all sorts of animals and birds. The pool area is nice, breakfast was delicious and plentiful (and included). We spent 1 night hanging out in the hot tub and the bartender checked on us frequently and brought us drinks so we wouldn't have to get up. The front desk staff was very friendly and helped us arrange zip lining, which was SO COOL. The guy at the desk steered us to the option we decided on and it was one of the most amazing experiences. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Arenal area. Also, parking was free and the entrance to the hotel had a guard 24 hours per day.

Room Tip: We booked the "economic package" which included breakfast and passes to the Baldi Hot Spri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Halley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,003 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#7 of 67 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 2,082 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,863 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Property: Volcano Lodge & Springs
Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing