We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A little paradise in the midst of a jungle area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little paradise in the midst of a jungle area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and we loved it there! The waiters at the restaurant were fantastic! The front desk staff were great too and they really helped us out with getting our lost luggage back. Even all the staff (including maids and shuttle drivers) were all so friendly and made us feel so welcomed! The grounds were beautiful too - so much work put into it to make the place so beautiful. It was a bit of a drive from La Fortuna (about a $20 CDN drive) but it wasn't a priority for us to be so close to the local town. We definitely recommend staying here if you are looking for a quiet, safe and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Proudtobecdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    815
    139
    30
    11
See reviews for
551
1,133
58
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stunning! This is what comes to mind everytime I think of the hotel gardens and the surrounding area. Very nice hotel, good prices. The rooms are very simple but clean, which rates high on my list. What really makes it are the grounds. We came in the rainy season, so we never really could see the top of the volcano for mist. However the mornings were sunny and I couldn't wait to get up early to drink my coffee on the back lanai and watch the humming birds dip in the pools created in the banana leaves from the previous nights rain.. Flowers and tropical plants that defy description. Great little pool and nice big outdoor spa. We sat in it one night in the rain and it was quite surreal for us kids from the desert. Restaurant was fair. The Tabacon Hot Springs are just down the road and definitely worth buying a day pass. We were so busy with day excursions that we wished we had booked another day or two, just so we could have enjoyed this little gem of a resort longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandTonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, SK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel/resort for 7 nights during Costa Rica's "green season"- and the staff, services and especially the beautiful grounds- blew me away.
Everyone was SO helpful, so nice, so accomodating. I booked several tours through the hotel and they were all seriously fantastic. I would have paid much more than the small amount ($50 average per tour) I was charged.
Horseback to La Fortuna waterfall, Safari Raft Float, Night Hike (an absolute MUST for nature lovers) and Hanging Bridges tours- these were safe, informative, comfortable and stunning.
Transportation was also arranged for me between San Jose airport round trip. This is a solid 3 hour journey each way. The drivers were excellent and so nice, but it does make for a long trip.
Breakfast every morning was excellent- and the pool areas were gorgeous.
The actual gardens and forestry/trails surrounding the property made it extra special.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.
Travellers expecting to stay 3-4 days would probably find this their ideal hotel.

Room Tip: Try asking for a room in the 200s- the volcano-view is more striking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badness59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This was the cheapest hotel that we stayed at in Costa Rica (stayed at 3 others on the trip) and it was my favorite! First of all, we could not make it for our first night due to flight delays, and they credited our first night although our reservation said no refunds. The grounds outside of our room were absolutely gorgeous (and perfect view of the volcano too!). There were two pools and a huge hot jacuzzi that were great. The breakfast was good, pretty standard for CR we found: beans and rice, eggs, fresh fruit, an assortment of breads, juices. The location was good, just outside of Fortuna, so it was a short drive to many attractions. The room was pretty nice-air conditioned, great view, comfortable bed (though they were small so my husband and I slept separately!!). Overall, my only regret with this hotel was that we didn't get to stay longer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C-Wid_2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The restaurant/bar staff were so incredibly friendly and accommodating. Sip on cacique during happy hour as you take in views of Arenal!

Negatives:
- One woman at the front desk was consistently rude to us whenever we asked a question
- Breakfast buffet: Most things were covered to protect from the flies, but for the things that weren't, they were smothered in black from all the insects. I steered clear of any food in that area. Unappetizing.
- We used a Groupon for this hotel, so the value for us was excellent. I looked at their regular prices though and felt they were a bit on the high side for what you got.

Rooms were lovely and the towel animals were a nice addition. Clean bathrooms and floors plus AC and TV.

An employee once saw us running to the restaurant and offered us a ride in his golf cart instead :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JT715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We were a bit backwards in coming to this hotel after Tabacon - hard to go from a resort to more modest accomodations. However, this was very, very clean and the front desk staff was very friendly. They helped us book several tours. The property is beautiful and has lots of birds and butterflies. We had a great view of the volano and enjoyed sitting on the patio to watch the afternoon thunderstorms. I would definitely recommend this property, especially after staying at other similar-level hotels throughout Costa Rica. This would be a great place for a family, especially since a full breakfast buffet is included.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pearlwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, NC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We were very happy with the Volcano Lodge. The WiFi worked well in our room, and the room had a coffee maker, which was a plus, as we had to leave very early on the last morning of our stay to make our rafting excursion. There were phones in the rooms as well, which came in handy, as my husband had a business call that he was able to take in the room. The breakfast buffet was outstanding, so I'm sorry that we weren't able to eat there the morning we left. Happy hour is a little odd. Service is slow, and margaritas are not included in the happy hour pricing. Go figure. We did enjoy a couples' massage at the spa. I probably should have saved that for after the rafting trip! The grounds were absolutely beautiful and relaxing, but as always, views of Arenal are often obscured by weather.

Room Tip: We were in 318, an end unit near the restaurant with great views and WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,965 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 67 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 2,049 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,655 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Property: Volcano Lodge & Springs
Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing