We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great view, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We landed in San Jose late and drove through the countryside at night. It wasn't until we woke up the following morning that we saw the beautiful garden that was right outside our door, and it wasn't until that afternoon when the clouds finally parted that we saw the fantastic Arenal volcano looming over us! Take the short walk by the river on the hotel grounds. Very friendly staff, nice pools, great breakfast buffet (the gallo pinto is great, and you can spice it up with some sausage or scrambled eggs). Definitely take a guided tour of the volcano which you can book at the hotel - the guides are much better at spotting and explaining the flora, fauna, and geology around you.

Room Tip: It's a series of single-story buildings surrounded by gardens. Ask for a good volcano view or n...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forvalaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,932)
There are newer reviews for Volcano Lodge & Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,791 - 1,797 of 2,932 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

The Volcano Lodge & Gardens was a fun place to stay. The rooms are cabin like with an amazing view of the Volcano. The staff was very helpful in getting other activities and transportation scheduled. The food and drinks in the restaurant were excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

This was the first part of our trip to Costa Rica.The grounds were beautiful ,the staff friendly and helpful,breakfast was above average.The swimming pools were great except the jacuzzis were not verey hot.If we come this way again thru Costa Rica we will defintley stay here.Our maid Georgietta was great,our room was spotless and she is also great with towelart.She made a awsome turtle for our son.

Room Tip: They let us check in early since we came in on a 5am flight and had to drive 4 hours,that was a huge...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slc2700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We really liked this hotel. The grounds are amazing, the staff is very friendly, the restaurant was good and the room was perfect. I would very happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Our stay at the Volanco Lodge & Gardens was a very memorable one. We took the inclusive package which included breakfast and evening meal. Although we are vegetarians we found plenty of choices, the food was excellent and the waiter staff attentive and helpful. It was very convenient eating at the lodge restaurant and saved time and taxi fares to go into La Fortuna where I doubt we could have found better culinary choices. When we arrived there was a bottle of wine waiting for us and artistic towel sculptures daily.

Our room was very comfortable with an excellent view of the volanco which we were lucky to see clearly and indeed smoking. The lodge staff were very helpful and pleasant. We were very happy with our choice in picking this resort. We were able to go by foot to the nearby frog farm. The gardens at the lodge are well maintained too, which attracted hummingbirds to visit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilanastone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The rooms were comfortable and the views were spectacular. Service was excellent. We enjoyed walking the nature path on the lodge property. Beautiful gardens on the premises.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcompoundsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We had a wonderful time at the hotel. There are beautiful gardens of flowers, fruits, and sugarcane. Try the whole friend fish (tilapia). It was delicious. My boyfriend wanted to eat it every night. I had to make him try other items on the menu...LOL. There is a free breakfast buffet. After breakfast, we signed up for tours for that same day. The staff was friendly. Secure parking. Computer with internet access in the lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phxgirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.9 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,531 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,472 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,850 reviews
3.8 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,344 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $82 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing