We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2009

I totally recommend this. Just stayed there for 2 nights and loved it.
The room faced the magnificent forest and volcano. Saw all kinds of birds
just looking out my window. Very nice front deck as well.
Fabulous spa - excellent treatments at reasonable rates. Take advantage of it.
Other hotels charge much more. Near the amazing Tabacon hot springs which is not
to be missed! Delicious buffet breakfasts with excellent and friendly service.
Gorgeous gardens and places to walk. They have their own zip line which I did not do.
Very nice visit in every way.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUANVIVA, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about our property, we will ensure to share the same with our teams.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay,

Best Regards,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    342
    207
    98
    71
See reviews for
300
451
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison.Wi
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2009

My favorite place of the whole Costa Rica trip. Beautiful grounds and bungalows. Great staff. Excellent breakfast buffet included with room. Big food spread of Costa Rican and American type foods. Omlette chef. The wait staff were so nice and sang happy birthday
,with a piece of yummy tres leches cake. It rained while we were there so we couldnt see the entire volcano but all the lush vegetation and wildlife kept us thrilled.
The staff will coordinate any trip you want. I suggest the cano negro boat tour. It was fantastic!! Also their hanging bridge tour. Also a gorgeous pool with Toucans flying around.
Wish I was still there
Claire...and John Kopp

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 555alive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUANVIVA, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your kind review and glad that you had enjoyed your stay with us. I have conveyed your kind words to our staff and very much touched by your thoughtful gesture.

If there is anyways that we can be of further assistance, please do let us know and we are all looking forward to meet you on your next visit to Costa Rica

Best Regards,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila., PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2009

Near Arenal Volcano

Large, clean and pleasant rooms with a small veranda in the front and a rocker and a small balcony in the rear. Large shower.
Cable TV.
Decent restaurant with a fairly good buffet breakfast.
Pretty pool and jacuzzi.
I had a spa service there and would rate it as good as or better than some of the spa services I've rec'd. in other hotels.
Front desk staff were very pleasant.

(-)
Although, I was told that I could call their shuttle for a lift back, on the last day we were there, we called the number listed on the business card they gave us and it was ringing busy for an entire hour. We had to resort to other means to get back to the hotel. When we arrived back at the hotel, the front desk clerk was deeply engaged in a personal telephone conversation.

But all in all, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GitsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUANVIVA, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your review and glad that you had enjoyed your stay.

Your feedback encourages us to continue to provide outstanding service and improve on our shortfalls and your transportation incident has been noted.

Kind Regards,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Without knowing it (and without surcharge), we were upgraded in a deluxe room. The room was big, nice and clean, and very quiet (don't know about the standard room as they are closer to the road). It's supposed to have a nice view over the volcano, but the weather was terrible during these 3 days so we didn't see anything.
The only negative comment would be on the restaurant which is a bit expensive. Food was ok, but nothing special. If you look for a romantic restaurant, go somewhere else.
Breakfast buffet is ok but if you like sweet things, you may be a bit disappointed (only Cornflakes and toasts with only one kind of jam).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUANVIVA, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your experiences here at Montaña de Fuego Hotel & Spa.

I was very happy to read that you found our hotel to your liking and that we have been able to upgrade you to a Deluxe Bungalow. I have also noted your comments regarding the restaurant.

Best Regards,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owings Mills, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

Montana de Fuego is a quaint log cabin with excellent views of the volcano. Liked it very much with no compliants. Due to being a rain forest area, the rooms are a little musty and your clothes are hard to dry. Overall, everything is clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nena626196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUANVIVA, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about our property, we will ensure to share the same with our associates.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay,

Best Regards,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anadyr
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2008

I visited costa rica for my honeymoon and I stay in this country 15 days and the best hotel that I visited was montaña de fuego in arenal, My experience was beautiful, my husband and I enjoyed a excellent honeymoon in this hotel. the room has jaccuzzi and the hotel has a excellent wiew to the arenal volcano.
the light , the water, the pool, the room, all hotel is perfect.

  • Liked — The service
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank escube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUANVIVA, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best Regards,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2008

This was our least favorite place we stayed in Costa Rica. It's not a terrible place, and we certainly had a fantastic view of the volcano from our cabin (even from lying in my bed). These days most of the lava is flowing off the other side of the mountain and so you don't get the dramatic nighttime views of the red hot rocks flowing down, but we were lucky enough to catch a moderate-sized explosion at 3am and see some red coming out the top and a little bit of red dribbling down the side. To get the real lava views, you have to drive around to the other side of the mountain and hope for a clear night. Surprisingly, apparently the early rainy season, May-August, can often mean lots of rain in the afternoon, but by late evening things clear up nicely. Unfortunately it seems to often clear up later than the 6-7pm times of the "lava tours".

So, despite the nice views of the volcano, a variety of small things added up to considerable annoyance. The list of annoyances included: 1) there were no bedside lamps, only a few not very bright overhead lamps, 2) despite several requests we never got any soap, 3) there were three of us but only two towels. They brought another when we requested it, but then the next day housekeeping came and replaced it with just two towels again. 4) sure, it's nice to have the option of air conditioning, but it's the only option. There are no windows to open to get some fresh air. This may work in large hotel buildings, but in cabins why not have the option of fresh air? This problem became particularly critical when their air conditioning system broke down for a couple of hours on a sunny day and the cabin quickly became intolerable with no way to get any kind of air ciculation. 5) our final complaint may not apply to many people reading this, but Montana de Feugo also didn't appeal to us because it was too much of an attempt to be a resort. Looking around the area, though, this might not be too unusual. We preferred the Monteverde area, which was somewhat less touristy and much less resort-like.The grounds at Montana de Feugo are pretty but the rooms are a bunch of cookie-cutter cabins that bring to mind suburban sprawl. They have a pool, wet bar, and spa, and they are attempting to be a full-service resort. They own a moderately-large chunk of land and so they are trying to copy all of the tour concepts of the area all within the confines of their own property, including horseback riding, zip lines, rainforest tours, rafting, etc. They only list and recommend their own tours, not even acknowledging the tons of other local companies specializing in these different activities. They even have plans to build their own butterfly garden, insect museum, and serpentorium! Now it's possible that these tours are great, the government does a good job of training and certifying tour guides. It also might be a relief for some people to have all this stuff centralized rather than having to investigate and choose their own tour options. But, I'm just really skeptical that an organization can spread itself so thinly and still do a good job, especially when everything is restricted to their own grounds. It seemed to me to be more like a sad attempt to imitate all of the successful models of tourist attractions in the region and cram them all into one location. We didn't actually take any of their tours, though, so I can't say for sure.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Too much of a cookie-cutter resort
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNH73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUANVIVA, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

As it is feedback from our valued guests that enables us to improve our services, we thank you for posting your review following your stay at Montaña de Fuego Hotel & Spa.

We truly regret to know of your disappointment on some of the hotel’s facilities, we have taken note of your particular observations and appreciate your comments.

Please feel free to contact me at luis.villegas@montanadefuego.com should you require any assistance.

Yours sincerely,
Luis Andres Villegas
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#20 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
4.7 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
1.6 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
Address: 142, Costa Rica | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 824417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL THE SPLENDOR AND ADVENTURE OF LA FORTUNA JUST IN ONE PLACE!Welcome to an experience full of adventure and nature in Costa Rica...Just by the foot of the Arenal Volcano stands Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, a hotel inspired by its great natural environment, surrounded by 35 hectares of tropical forest on our private reserve.In balance with nature develop a site of rest and fun that makes you feel in a new world.With our All-Inclusive Package in La Fortuna, you can enjoy aholiday full of sustainable adventure and cultural experience.Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa has received the Fordor's Choice Award for several consecutive years, distinguished by Fodor's Travel as the best of hotels in the region of La Fortuna de San Carlos.PURE ADVENTURE IN OUR GO ADVENTURE PARK. Experience the best and exclusive eco adventure tours, feel the extreme nature of tropical forests and the powerful energy of the Arenal Volcano! A BREATH FOR TOUR SOUL... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana De Fuego Hotel And Spa
Montana De Fuego Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Montana De Fuego Resort
Hotel Montana De Fuego Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing