We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$234
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$114
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$251
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$86
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$217
$201
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$183
$134
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$429
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$750
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,255)
Filter reviews
1,255 results
Traveler rating
436
383
247
114
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
383
247
114
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarenal volcanosuperior bungalowcosta ricahot springsvolcanic mudhorseback ridingcanopy tourpool barbeautiful viewbreakfast was includedstayed for two nightsstandard roomspring poolsrocking chairshanging bridgestown of la fortunapura vida
Filter
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 1,255 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Rooms are quite spacious and well equipped including a small refrigerator. Front desk employees are very helpful… don’t hesitate to ask for ice or a pair of wine glasses. You will have a very nice view from your room if the Arenal Volcano is clear and not too cloudy. All rooms have wide windows just in front of the Volcano. If you decide to do the walking in the trails is better that use adequate shoes and take any beverage with you. The trail to the river gives you the opportunity to admire the tropical rain forest and of course, do some good exercise. Don’t miss it! The hot springs are not so hot as I would expect compared with others around. If you don’t find enough tropical fruits for breakfast, ask for it.

Room Tip: Choose a room on top of the hill
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonaldVega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Customer.

Thank you very much for visiting us and have commented about your beautiful experience in our hotel. We appreciate knowing that you took the trails and enjoyed the beautiful surroundings that adorn this lush place.
Also thanks for the tips you provide the readers, ( (: ).
we hope you can return again and again to consent you.

Thanks a lot.

Marielos Madrigal.
Operatios Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I decided to spend the weekend in this nice resort, and what a good idea it was for us to stay there. First, we upgraded our room for a junior suite, which has jacuzzi in the room, for an inexpensive amount, the room was beautiful but we felt that the beds were a little bit small for us. Each room is surrounded by beautiful gardens and our room particularly speaking had an excellent view of Arenal Vulcano. During the night we went to the pools, there are some and all of them are independent and in the middle of the jungle, but they have good illumination. Being a gay couple we did not feel any discrimintion by the staff. Unfortunately we woke up a little bit late and did not have the chance to have our breakfast. I would come back to this hotel, It is a really good and relaxing place to take a vacation In La Fortuna.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oscar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Friends.

Thanks a lot to take your time a write about us and also let to kow the rest of the readers , it was nice to stay in Montaña de Fuego. is of great satisfaction for us to know that we meet your expectations.

Remember we offer significant deals throughout the year, do not forget to ask for them.

Sincerely,

Marielos Madrigal.
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I have to admit, while I was searching for hotels I was searching on a tight budget and found this hotel for a great price, expecting nothing more than an average experience. When we arrived, the receptionist was more than caring, even called our room to ensure the room met our standards. The hotel/resort has an awesome Spa (highly recommend Rosa!) and there also are amazing hiking trails right outside the hotel which takes you to a small waterfall. The most beautiful view you could imagine is right outside the bungalows, the Arenal Volcano, it was enchanting! I highly HIGHLY recommend this resort, it's close to everything, the rooms are very nice, and the service is absolutely wonderful, very caring! They even let us stay a little late because we needed the time and there is free breakfast during your stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabrielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for taking time and comment on your fantastic experience at our hotel. We are very happy to know that you received more than you expected.
We are very pleased that the spa area liked you and it´s important to know Rosa attended you with honors.
True, Hotel Montaña de Fuego has one of the best views of the area and especially the Arenal volcano. It is also known for its beautiful trails and excellent customer service in general.

Thanks a lot once again.

Marielos Madrigal.
Operations Manager.
operacioneshotel@montanadefuego.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2014

After a long day we checked into the hotel at about 7pm. Our desk clerk welcomed us and gave the keys. We thought the room would be bigger since it was a suite,but it wasn't. Anyway we turned on the AC and it was blowing out hot air. Returned to the front desk and given another room. That's when the comedy began.The new room had AC not working. Reurned and the desk clerk went out and checked as he had a problem.I am editing alot. I could not get a refund. After back a forth with another room and offering a junior room. I am editing a lot! He said he could not call the manager. Finally the room assigned needed to have freeon to charge up the AC. We had to wait in the lobby for an hour. The AC worked. We met the manager the following morning. She apologized and offered a free massage and dinner. She was trying to fix our miserable expereince with clearly a very inexpereinced front desk person. We took her up on the massages but could not get some money refunded. The rooms need to be updated.Our bathroom tub tile was broken and outside railings were missing and busted. I expected more for $180 a night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommy745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Guest.

Thanks a lot for all your comments.
I remember your case , therefore I know very well the situation.
The AC in your room were fine,is true that lacked a bit of gas, but cooled very well. . For the second room only was a wrong use of the control.
I don´t understand why you say the other room you saw had the same trouble, if I was with you and the AC was perfect.
The mision and vision we have with all the clients, is they (you) can come back to at home with a nice memory about us and when we get this kind of situations, we try to the best to compesate the "bad moment" and tha´s why the dinner and spa...
You and me know the AC continued working 100% the rest of your stay. We checked them again and made the correct control program.
We hope you give us a second chance to give you the relaxing trip you were looking for, please remember Montaña de Fuego Offers nice royalties for our frecuently clients.

Thank you very much.
Marielos Madrigal.
Operations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Overall this is a great resort. The grounds are stunning.

We had two bungalows that were well equipped.

Pool was beautiful and the hot springs are not to be missed. The two women in our group LOVED the spa. Great service and excellent price.

Restaurant was excellent albeit a bit a overpriced.

This area of Costa Rica has many resorts. You can choose from 5 star to basic. This resort needs some minor updating especially in the area of wifi in the bungalows.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to view different rooms. They actually have several rooms over a beautiful lagoon. We choose rooms closest to the pool and spa (upper 240's).
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your nice comments, they allow us to see that our efforts worthwhile.
Montaña de Fuego Offers nice promotions and better prices for repetitive customers, please ask for them to reservaciones@montanadefuego.com.

Will be waiting for you in your next time.

Marielos Madrigal.
Operationsmanager@montanadefuego.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews