We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable for a weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Hotel offers a very nice view to the volcano, even though most of the time it was cloudy. Rooms have a nice size but furniture is old and worn out. Bath tub is a not comfortable to get it and may be dangerous to fall down. Also tried the spa where I had a body exfoliation. The person that assisted me did a great job, even though there was no music or shower caps-price is reasonable. We also tried the restaurant: food was good and prices also reasonable for a hotel. My husband did the two hourl trail around the hotel and said it was beautiful, even though return to the hotel is not very well indicated by signs. Please be advised there are no natural water springs within the hotel. The only hot water available is an indoor jacuzzi. Last but not least, hotel employees were always very polite and willing to help at all times.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tutty256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear guest.

Thank you for visiting the Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for the company.

First, thank you very much for staying at our Hotel Montaña de Fuego. We greatly appreciate your comments, because it encourages us to persevere goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of our customers.
We regret that your stay has not reached the goal you had in mind. Our main target is that all guests leave our facilities pleased.


We will pay attention to the irregularities that you mention, to change them and they are not repeated.

Marielos Madrigal.
Operation´s Manager
Telephone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: operacioneshotel@montanadefuego.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed there in Nov. 2013 on the first leg of our honeymoon journey. Thankfully, we had a Living Social deal, making it a low-cost place to stay in the Arenal area (and many other hotels were booked). Overall, I wouldn't recommend it, especially at regular prices.

A) The rooms:

Pros:
-The delux cabin was large with a living area, bedroom, bath and kitchen counter
-We were able to watch Sunday night football in the room
-Good views of the volcano
-Pretty grounds and a decent hiking trail

Cons:
-The rooms have an odd, unpleasant smell
-There were small ants throughout, especially in the living room area
-The sheets were stained with holes
-The water temperature in the bathroom was hard to adjust and hot water sparse
-The sofa had stuffing coming out and looked like it had never been cleaned

B) The restaraunt:

Pros:
-The food is decent, just far too expensive for the quality and quantity you receive
-The fajitas were good, the flan is delicious and the pineapple juice great. The breakfast buffet was fine and gallo pinto is decent.

Cons:
-WAY overpriced for the quality and quantity
-Stay away from the pasta dishes
-There were large groups that had access to a buffet. We assume it was a group deal, but it was unclear if we were the 'tourists' who had to order from the expensive menu or if the other group had other arrangements

C) The tours:

Pros:
-We had 2 included tours in our package, but purchased 3: The horseback tour to the Volcano, to the River and Zip Lining
-The tour staff are great, especially Alex, who led us on the horseback tours. Fantastic! The Zip Line guys were also very good.

Cons:
-The volcano trail needs work. I was a little concerned about our safety and that of the horses in the rocky, muddy, steep terrain
-Double check the tour invoices. We were charged for the wrong tour. The Go Adventures staff worked it out in the end, but double check the charges.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LASH22201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear guest.
Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.
We regret that your stay has not reached the goal that you had in mind. Our main gold is that all guests leave our Hotel pleased and satisfied.
Those situations are not common and we are working on all the observations that you made will not happen again.
In the following days we will be in contact with you to provide a better personalized follow to your comments and inform the improvements of the Hotel and our efforts to achieve a better record of service.
Once again, thanks for your comments
Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: reservasonline@montanadefuego.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The first room they gave us was moldy, had ants everywhere, had a poop (maybe bat) on the bed, had stains on the sheets,stains on the walls, had no view from the balcony and smelled so terrible it turned my stomache. After going to the management in tears they gave me a lake suite. One of their best rooms. This room had an amazing view of the volcano and was built over a small lake. The room still had an awful smell, but reception will give you free insence. The hot Springs on the grounds are very nice as is the pool with swim up bar. The restaurant is very fancy and deliciouse. We ate there for 9 meals and had no complaints. Many of the staff are friendly even though it seems they are paid more to act like snobs. The maleko ranch offers amazing riding tours and the horses are healthy and docile.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel. Do not be fooled or rung in by the all inclusive packages they offer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank costaricamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear guest.
Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.
We regret that your stay has not reached the goal that you had in mind. Our main gold is that all guests leave our Hotel pleased and satisfied.
Those situations are not common and we are working on all the observations that you made will not happen again.
In the following days we will be in contact with you to provide a better personalized follow to your comments and inform the improvements of the Hotel and our efforts to achieve a better record of service.
Once again, thanks for your comments
Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: reservasonline@montanadefuego.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is a nice place to visit with awesome views of the volcano and the surrounding forest areas. The staff was nice and the food was good. Attractions are not far by car/taxi and. The rooms are quite nice and most have parking in front of the buildings if you have a vehicle. Don't forget your camera.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGMPhil60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear guest.
Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.
First, thank you very much for staying at our Hotel Montaña de Fuego. We greatly appreciate your comments, because it encourages us to persevere, our goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of our customers.
We will like to encourage you to repeat your experience and see for yourself the quality of our services. I sure you will not be disappointed.
Again we appreciate your trust and your positive review of our Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa
Once again, thanks for your comments
Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Wouln't recommend this place. Positieve: the bungalows are big with cable tv (fox sports) and a whirlpool. Negatieve: ants in the bathroom, horrible lunch, small pool, rooms are not clean. We had a car and where able to have diner outsider this place. After the horrible breakfast we dind't try diner.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Bart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado huésped.

Gracias por su visita en la Fortuna de San Carlos y tomarse el tiempo de escribir sus comentarios, los cuales son muy importantes para la empresa.

Lamentamos mucho que su estadía no haya alcanzado el objetivo que traía en mente. Nuestro motor principal es que todos los clientes salgan complacidos de nuestras instalaciones.

Estas situaciones no son comunes y estamos trabajando en todas las observaciones que usted nos hizo para que no sucedan nuevamente.

En los próximos días estaremos en contacto personalizado para darle un mejor seguimiento a sus comentarios e informarle de las mejorías de la empresa y nuestros esfuerzos por alcanzar un mejor récord de servicio.

Una vez más, muchísimas gracias por sus comentarios


Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel presents itselves as luxurious and 4-star quality. Rooms look really dated and where full with ants. Smelled horrible and the sheets had a lot of stains. The balcony had two iron chairs on it, which hurt when Sittting on them. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevendj84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013
Google Translation

Estimado huésped.

Gracias por su visita en la Fortuna de San Carlos y tomarse el tiempo de escribir sus comentarios, los cuales son muy importantes para la empresa.

Lamentamos mucho que su estadía no haya alcanzado el objetivo que traía en mente. Nuestro motor principal es que todos los clientes salgan complacidos de nuestras instalaciones.

Estas situaciones no son comunes y estamos trabajando en todas las observaciones que usted nos hizo para que no sucedan nuevamente.

En los próximos días estaremos en contacto personalizado para darle un mejor seguimiento a sus comentarios e informarle de las mejorías de la empresa y nuestros esfuerzos por alcanzar un mejor récord de servicio.

Una vez más, muchísimas gracias por sus comentarios


Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Arrived to the hotel with family. Looked forward to a 4 night stay at Montañas de Fuego.

After about five hours of being at the hotel we decided to speak with the manager and leave the hotel due to security concerns.

(The hotel had hired an employee who had defrauded our family months ago)

The manager and staff where very friendly and understood our security concern. However, several days later we received an email from the manager stating that the hotel president decided to charge us for the four nights, when we only stayed for five hours!!

The hotel staff is friendly, but the president of the hotel demonstrated that money first, then customers.

In addition out of the three thermal water pools only one was warm. The mud bath was almost comical. The pool was not heated.

The view was nice, however any hotel in the area will give you a similar view.

Please do not stay at this hotel. I was truly disappointed by the president a decision of charging us for nights NOT stayed. It's unethical and a bad business practice.


Sincerely
Jafet Mendoza & Family




  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JafetMendoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Dear Mister Mendoza

Greetings from Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa

Thank you very much for all your comments, each of them one way or another help us to be better.
As for the issue you mentioned, it is to highlight that a return policy proceeds as each company and in your case, it was a completely personal and has nothing to do with the Hotel policies. The hotel never failed you, or gave reasons for an early check out.
Personal problems in your past, are something that we can´t take into account and use them as a cause for a refund.
We don’t expected to understand our situation, we are only trying to explain the reasons why these measures were taken and it is super important to highlight Montaña de Fuego cares about all our customers, unfortunately we can’t give you what you wanted, does not contradict our mission and vision.

Have a great day!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,585 reviews
1.6 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#19 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,481 reviews
4.3 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,379 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#20 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,337 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa

Address: 142, Costa Rica | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 824417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $79 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL THE SPLENDOR AND ADVENTURE OF LA FORTUNA JUST IN ONE PLACE!Welcome to an experience full of adventure and nature in Costa Rica...Just by the foot of the Arenal Volcano stands Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, a hotel inspired by its great natural environment, surrounded by 35 hectares of tropical forest on our private reserve.In balance with nature develop a site of rest and fun that makes you feel in a new world.With our All-Inclusive Package in La Fortuna, you can enjoy aholiday full of sustainable adventure and cultural experience.Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa has received the Fordor's Choice Award for several consecutive years, distinguished by Fodor's Travel as the best of hotels in the region of La Fortuna de San Carlos.PURE ADVENTURE IN OUR GO ADVENTURE PARK. Experience the best and exclusive eco adventure tours, feel the extreme nature of tropical forests and the powerful energy of the Arenal Volcano! A BREATH FOR TOUR SOUL... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana De Fuego Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Montana De Fuego Hotel And Spa
Montana De Fuego Resort
Hotel Montana De Fuego Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing