We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated rooms” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dated rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotel presents itselves as luxurious and 4-star quality. Rooms look really dated and where full with ants. Smelled horrible and the sheets had a lot of stains. The balcony had two iron chairs on it, which hurt when Sittting on them. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevendj84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Google Translation
Estimado huésped.

Gracias por su visita en la Fortuna de San Carlos y tomarse el tiempo de escribir sus comentarios, los cuales son muy importantes para la empresa.

Lamentamos mucho que su estadía no haya alcanzado el objetivo que traía en mente. Nuestro motor principal es que todos los clientes salgan complacidos de nuestras instalaciones.

Estas situaciones no son comunes y estamos trabajando en todas las observaciones que usted nos hizo para que no sucedan nuevamente.

En los próximos días estaremos en contacto personalizado para darle un mejor seguimiento a sus comentarios e informarle de las mejorías de la empresa y nuestros esfuerzos por alcanzar un mejor récord de servicio.

Una vez más, muchísimas gracias por sus comentarios


Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    338
    200
    95
    69
See reviews for
288
444
27
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Arrived to the hotel with family. Looked forward to a 4 night stay at Montañas de Fuego.

After about five hours of being at the hotel we decided to speak with the manager and leave the hotel due to security concerns.

(The hotel had hired an employee who had defrauded our family months ago)

The manager and staff where very friendly and understood our security concern. However, several days later we received an email from the manager stating that the hotel president decided to charge us for the four nights, when we only stayed for five hours!!

The hotel staff is friendly, but the president of the hotel demonstrated that money first, then customers.

In addition out of the three thermal water pools only one was warm. The mud bath was almost comical. The pool was not heated.

The view was nice, however any hotel in the area will give you a similar view.

Please do not stay at this hotel. I was truly disappointed by the president a decision of charging us for nights NOT stayed. It's unethical and a bad business practice.


Sincerely
Jafet Mendoza & Family




  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JafetMendoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Mister Mendoza

Greetings from Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa

Thank you very much for all your comments, each of them one way or another help us to be better.
As for the issue you mentioned, it is to highlight that a return policy proceeds as each company and in your case, it was a completely personal and has nothing to do with the Hotel policies. The hotel never failed you, or gave reasons for an early check out.
Personal problems in your past, are something that we can´t take into account and use them as a cause for a refund.
We don’t expected to understand our situation, we are only trying to explain the reasons why these measures were taken and it is super important to highlight Montaña de Fuego cares about all our customers, unfortunately we can’t give you what you wanted, does not contradict our mission and vision.

Have a great day!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Getting there is Adventure Travel ! It's 5 hours from SJO. 25 MPH on switchback roads and no signs. It was extremely stressful, to the point of wanting to just go back to the airport and go home. I cant imagine riding a tour bus on those roads. We spoke with others who rode the bus and said 6 hours with no bathroom. The rooms are bungalow type. Large and ours had a great view of the volocano. Beds were terrible. Service was good. Tours were very good. Tubing is challenging and beware of rocks. Horseback riding is fine. Amount of time was just right for me, about 30 minutes. Alex, at the tour desk, is a great resource and was very helpful. Service and food in the restaurant were both very good.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view of the volcano. Some rooms are tucked back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monbro85396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest.
Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.
We regret that your stay has not reached the goal that you had in mind. Our main gold is that all guests leave our Hotel pleased and satisfied.
Those situations are not common and we are working on all the observations that you made will not happen again.
In the following days we will be in contact with you to provide a better personalized follow to your comments and inform the improvements of the Hotel and our efforts to achieve a better record of service.
Once again, thanks for your comments
Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: reservasonline@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had problem after problem with our stay and it was only 1 night.

1. The safe's in the room, worked sparatically, had to call multiple times for someone to come open it.
2. Maids left patio doors open and found several large bugs in the room.
3. There was mold all over the shower head.
4. The beds were terribly uncomfortable.
5. There weren't any hand towels in the room, after we checked in.

Other than that, the front desk staff were friendly and it was nice that breakfast was included.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest.
Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.
We regret that your stay has not reached the goal that you had in mind. Our main gold is that all guests leave our Hotel pleased and satisfied.
Those situations are not common and we are working on all the observations that you made will not happen again.
In the following days we will be in contact with you to provide a better personalized follow to your comments and inform the improvements of the Hotel and our efforts to achieve a better record of service.
Once again, thanks for your comments
Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: reservasonline@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent a couple of days at this resort. The pool and the spring thermal waters were really nice. The girl at the front desk was Prompt to help us and every request we had was attended fast and nicely. The happy hour at the bar by the pool was awesome. Luis Diego, the bartender was friendly and courteous and fixed the best cocktails.
The room was spacious and nicely distributed. Bed was comfy but sheets were a bit stained.
Breakfast was great, buffet style and with a good assortment to choose from. Overall it was a good experience. Highly recommend it!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Edwin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.

First, thank you very much for staying at our Hotel Montaña de Fuego. We greatly appreciate your comments, because it encourages us to persevere, our goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of our customers.

We will like to encourage you to repeat your experience and see for yourself the quality of our services. I sure you will not be disappointed.

Again we appreciate your trust and your positive review of our Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa

Once again, thanks for your comments

Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, FL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

rustic lodge with nice views of the volcano (Arenal) Well landscaped. Rooms are ok. Nice pool with waterfall and nice dining area. Very relaxing place. I was with a group and accommodations were made to keep the group as close together as possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest.
Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.
First, thank you very much for staying at our Hotel Montaña de Fuego. We greatly appreciate your comments, because it encourages us to persevere, our goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of our customers.
We will like to encourage you to repeat your experience and see for yourself the quality of our services. I sure you will not be disappointed.
Again we appreciate your trust and your positive review of our Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa
Once again, thanks for your comments
Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

I like the idea that the rooms are a cottage by itself. It has a neat, little balcony that is quiet and looks out to the Arenal Volcano. The pool is lively with music and a bar. The restaurant was quiet on the evening we were there as it was raining, but the food is quite tasty.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendysdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest.
Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.
First, thank you very much for staying at our Hotel Montaña de Fuego. We greatly appreciate your comments, because it encourages us to persevere, our goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of our customers.

Again we appreciate your trust and your positive review of our Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa
Once again, thanks for your comments
Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
4.7 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
1.6 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,696 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
1.8 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
Address: 142, Costa Rica | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 824417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL THE SPLENDOR AND ADVENTURE OF LA FORTUNA JUST IN ONE PLACE!Welcome to an experience full of adventure and nature in Costa Rica...Just by the foot of the Arenal Volcano stands Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, a hotel inspired by its great natural environment, surrounded by 35 hectares of tropical forest on our private reserve.In balance with nature develop a site of rest and fun that makes you feel in a new world.With our All-Inclusive Package in La Fortuna, you can enjoy aholiday full of sustainable adventure and cultural experience.Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa has received the Fordor's Choice Award for several consecutive years, distinguished by Fodor's Travel as the best of hotels in the region of La Fortuna de San Carlos.PURE ADVENTURE IN OUR GO ADVENTURE PARK. Experience the best and exclusive eco adventure tours, feel the extreme nature of tropical forests and the powerful energy of the Arenal Volcano! A BREATH FOR TOUR SOUL... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana De Fuego Hotel And Spa
Montana De Fuego Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Montana De Fuego Resort
Hotel Montana De Fuego Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing