We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful property and excellent volcano view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful property and excellent volcano view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The garden atmosphere of the property was a real treat- be sure to wander all around. The bungalows were charming and private. Restaurant food was delicious and service there was top-notch.
It is not walking distance to anywhere else, so you will need a car (or a taxi) if you want to try a different restaurant, etc. The lighting is poor in the rooms and there are no activities onsite, so if you have kids, bring games or something to do. They do have a pool and 3 minimal "springs." I didn't know they had them, so it was not a big deal that they were small. We were doing so many activities ( white water rafting, zip-lining, waterfall rappelling, hanging bridges hikes, etc.), that the lack of activities at the hotel was not an issue for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest.
Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.
First, thank you very much for staying at our Hotel Montaña de Fuego. We greatly appreciate your comments, because it encourages us to persevere, our goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of our customers.
We will like to encourage you to repeat your experience and see for yourself the quality of our services. I sure you will not be disappointed. Again we appreciate your trust and your positive review of our Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa
Once again, thanks for your comments
Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: reservasonline@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    287
    167
    87
    63
See reviews for
234
374
22
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very impressed with all aspects of the hotel. You have a private bungalow that has great views. The food at restaurant is great and the complimentary breakfast was yummy! Great pools and hikes. Service and cleanliness are A+ Already planning a family trip next August!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisart10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest.
Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.
First, thank you very much for staying at our Hotel Montaña de Fuego. We greatly appreciate your comments, because it encourages us to persevere, our goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of our customers.
We will like to encourage you to repeat your experience and see for yourself the quality of our services. I sure you will not be disappointed. Again we appreciate your trust and your positive review of our Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa
Once again, thanks for your comments
Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: reservasonline@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My daughter wanted to have a mother/daughter trip Costa Rica to celebrate her 30th birthday, and she left the details of the trip to me. When I read about this hotel, it appeared to fit our needs and was in the price range where we wanted to be. I was not disappointed with our selection. It was rustic enough where you knew you were not in a Marriott, and it gave you just enough of a feel for being in the wilderness. The Arenal Volcano was right there for us to see, whenever the clouds would allow us to view it, and the property was surrounded with tropical vegitation. We had a mini suite, with a bedroom and a living room. The bathroom was large with a jacuzzi/shower. It also had a hair dryer in the bathroom. In the hallway area there was a counter with sink, a mini and a microwave. In the living area, there was a small refrig which was stocked with bottled water, soda and a candy bar, all available for purchase. Our room was on the ground level, and had a door which opened to a paved porch area. In both the bedroom and living room, 2 of the 4 walls were wall to wall windows, with curtains for privacy. The room had a lot of outlets available to charge your phone, ipad, camera or whatever you needed to charge.

Since we went in the rainy season I should have expected it to rain. We brought our ponchos, and had to use them often. We went to breakfast one morning, and it started pouring while we were eating, forunately we had our umbrellas. It usually did not rain all way, but it was often overcast and very humid even when it wasnt raining.

The breakfast was a buffet, and had a large selection. Food was very tasty. We ate dinner there 2 nights, and the entrees were reasonably priced ($13-22 USD). Restaurant also overlooked the volcano and had 2 walls full windows.

The hotel location was about 5 miles from town (LaFortuna) and the taxi ride was around $12 one way. The hotel shuttle would sometimes take you places for a fee which would probably be less than the cost of a taxi.

We went to The Springs resort to visit the hot springs (it was not far from the hotel). The cost was $50, and it was for a 2 day pass. This is a really good deal because I was pricing the other hot springs nearby on the internet, and they ranged from $30-45 for one day.

The only down side of this experience is that you could not get internet in the room, but they had a computer and free internet in the lobby. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and I would stay here again.

Footnote: Lots of the tours recommended that you wear long pants. Since it was summer we only packed one pair, and wished we had packed at least one more pair.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryMountain28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest.
Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.
First, thank you very much for staying at our Hotel Montaña de Fuego. We greatly appreciate your comments, because it encourages us to persevere, our goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of our customers.
We will like to encourage you to repeat your experience and see for yourself the quality of our services. I sure you will not be disappointed. Again we appreciate your trust and your positive review of our Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa
Once again, thanks for your comments
Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: reservasonline@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My fiance stayed here in January and really liked it. The price was great when you consider that you get your own little bungalow. It was neat, clean and I found the people at the resort to be really cool. The hot springs at the hotel weren't great, but I didn't even know they had em when I booked this place, and spent a day at a local hot spring, so I wasn't really concerned with it. I met another couple from New England, and the staff allowed us to watch the patriots playoff game in the restaurant bar area, and even let us bring in our own booze if we paid a few bucks. They were very accommodating. At no point did I feel nervous at this resort, or see anything that would make me feel unsafe. I read some reviews about theft, And I didn't see anything close to that. For the price, I was very impressed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest.
Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.
First, thank you very much for staying at our Hotel Montaña de Fuego. We greatly appreciate your comments, because it encourages us to persevere, our goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of our customers.
We will like to encourage you to repeat your experience and see for yourself the quality of our services. I sure you will not be disappointed. Again we appreciate your trust and your positive review of our Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa
Once again, thanks for your comments
Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: reservasonline@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Our room was in poor condition. It was a cabin that was more of a better fit for kids at a camp. The shower had no water pressure and took forever to heat up. The air conditioning unit cooled very little. The curtains are see thru and in the morning the light pours in. The WIFI is free in the lobby a huge plus. Breakfast was so so ... The general areas need TLC ... Pool bar needs work and needed to be cleaned. The spa was not a true spa. The location was fine and I was happy I was only there for one night. The cabins/rooms need a major facelift ... And the pictures posted do not reflect the true conditions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dec2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest.
Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.
We regret that your stay has not reached the goal that you had in mind. Our main gold is that all guests leave our Hotel pleased and satisfied.
Those situations are not common and we are working on all the observations that you made will not happen again.
In the following days we will be in contact with you to provide a better personalized follow to your comments and inform the improvements of the Hotel and our efforts to achieve a better record of service.
Once again, thanks for your comments
Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: reservasonline@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights at the Hotel Montana de Fuego in July, 2013 and were less than happy. The hotel has individual cabins scattered on a hilltop each with a great view of the . The gardens surrounding the hotel were beautifully landscaped with flowers, plants and grasses. Since the hotel is located four miles west of La Fortuna you're stranded if you don't have your own transportation or you have to take a taxi. The food at the restaurant was very good, but way over priced. The service tip is automatically added to the bill so you can't deduct for poor service which we experienced twice during our stay. Wi-Fi is only received in the reception area and there are two computers there for guests' use. Our room was large, the furnishings were old and dated, it was clean except for an invasion of tiny red ants. The mattresses on each double bed sagged and needed to be replaced. The pillows were in bad shape.
Overall, I would recommend the food quality and the view and not recommend the rest.

Room Tip: All rooms have a good view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinJud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest.
Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.
We regret that your stay has not reached the goal that you had in mind. Our main gold is that all guests leave our Hotel pleased and satisfied.
Those situations are not common and we are working on all the observations that you made will not happen again.
In the following days we will be in contact with you to provide a better personalized follow to your comments and inform the improvements of the Hotel and our efforts to achieve a better record of service.
Once again, thanks for your comments
Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: reservasonline@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, Usa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

large group staying in a facility with plenty of amenities for all, nice pools, hot springs, trails, scenery. food was good, breakfast fantastic. climate change was well needed and deserved for our purposes. did have some ac issues. I mention this because of the resort environment, I feel the facility should check and run mechanical equipment to verify operation.

Room Tip: check a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest.
Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.
First, thank you very much for staying at our Hotel Montaña de Fuego. We greatly appreciate your comments, because it encourages us to persevere, our goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of our customers.
We will like to encourage you to repeat your experience and see for yourself the quality of our services. I sure you will not be disappointed. Again we appreciate your trust and your positive review of our Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa
Once again, thanks for your comments
Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: reservasonline@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
1.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,319 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,000 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,861 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#29 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 stars 1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
Address: 142, Costa Rica | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 824417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#12 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL THE SPLENDOR AND ADVENTURE OF LA FORTUNA JUST IN ONE PLACE!Welcome to an experience full of adventure and nature in Costa Rica...Just by the foot of the Arenal Volcano stands Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, a hotel inspired by its great natural environment, surrounded by 35 hectares of tropical forest on our private reserve.In balance with nature develop a site of rest and fun that makes you feel in a new world.With our All-Inclusive Package in La Fortuna, you can enjoy aholiday full of sustainable adventure and cultural experience.Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa has received the Fordor's Choice Award for several consecutive years, distinguished by Fodor's Travel as the best of hotels in the region of La Fortuna de San Carlos.PURE ADVENTURE IN OUR GO ADVENTURE PARK. Experience the best and exclusive eco adventure tours, feel the extreme nature of tropical forests and the powerful energy of the Arenal Volcano! A BREATH FOR TOUR SOUL... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana De Fuego Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Montana De Fuego Hotel And Spa
Montana De Fuego Resort
Hotel Montana De Fuego Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing