We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointed but average place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed but average place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Renovated rooms are ok. Food is very good if you have a package deal. The main problem is the hot springs. We decided to go around 6:00pm and the hot springs pool area looked infested with Mosquitos and fallen leaves. The water was cold. I ask front desk and they also agreed the water was cold. Hot springs? Should be called Cold Springs!!!! Probably will not come again. A bit disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philitico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    289
    174
    87
    64
See reviews for
238
383
23
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel has a beautiful view of the Arenal Volcano, plus all the service that they have like, Spa, pool, hot springs, restaurant and tour operator.
The hot springs is not too big, but are very comfortable place. At the restaurant the breakfast is great and the Spa is good for all that people that are looking for a relaxing moment.
One of the things that this people they have is the tour operator, the same hotel has many activities in side but you know has a cost, for me is better take a tour with another local company, why is that, remember that the idea of EcoTurismo is not only save the trees or the water, part of this is the support of the local business at the area, so to do everything at the same place is not a good option for this wonderful area that has many things for fun.

Room Tip: Any rooms is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a great place to visit for the price that we paid. It's only a 3 because we went to the Tabacon Spring Hotel afterwards. Otherwise this would be a 4 star hotel.

There is a beautiful pool area that is worth the visit! All rooms have a view of the volcano.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mila Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife & I spent two nights in this hotel. Room: We stayed in one of the Junior Suites; it looks like a small wooden cabin, very comfortable, with a king-sized bed & a jacuzzi. They are very well decorated and if you're lucky, you'll have a nice view of the Arenal Volcano.

Food: Breakfast buffet was included for us. I just can say than it was "ok"; not good and far from being excellent. Most of it was flavorless. We never had lunch or dinner there because the prices are very high for Costa Ricans and you can get better food at lower cost close to downtown (La Fortuna).

Facilities: The gardens and common areas are beautiful, although there are some trees and bushes that block the volcano view. The hot springs are nice, but I'm still questioning myself if they were really hot springs... (they didn't feel like in other hot springs we have been). The other issue I found is that they're opened until 9 p.m. but the illumination is terrible. There is also an area where they have volcano mud. The mud is supposed to be warm, but it was cold; they try to warm it up with a kind of a rock oven, but I guess it wasn't hot enough or it wasn't well designed. The last think I want to talk about is the mountain trail. This was bad. It is in a very bad shape and it is totally unsafe. You can notice that it hasn't received maintenance in a while. The worst part is that there isn't any warning sign and no one from the staff warned us about it. We probably walked around 500 meters and there were two fallen trees blocking the trail path, we were able to go through one of them, but we decided to return after we found the last one. There are some parts of the trail path where you actually feel your life is in danger; lots of the trail path has been narrowed because it has been washed out by the rain.

I think this is nice hotel, and it could be better if they pay attention to details.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank telalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel.
Room are large and most of them are facing the volcan. (Our was 241)
Free wifi only at the reception.

But it's far from everything!
If you do not have a car do not go there, the shuttle from the hotel when available will cost you $10 each way and $12 with a regular taxi.
I would say that a hotel of this standing should have free shuttle, even with 3 nights booked we could not negotiate any free ride....
This hotel is more interested in large groups than individual travelers.

The breakfast is a buffet with various choice.
The spa is nice, free hot pool and jaccuzi. Sauna is $5 per day per person.

For the tours:
Tours organized by the hotel are $60 minimum, the highest in town!
You can either go to La fortuna to compare the different tours or contact Julio-cesar working for RedLava.
Tours are "best price in town" and Julio-cesar is open for negotiation and discussion.
We did the volcan tour with RedLava, arranged by Julio-cesar, our guide was Chris, amazing guide who knows all secrets of the forest and noise of animals.
Go for the bath at the hot springs (public ones, no need to go to Balci) it's great!

When you book a tour, ask for the pick up at the hotel included in the price so you save the taxi cost.
You might have to negotiate since Montana de fuego is far from the center.

To contact Julio-cesar : julioxx@yahoo.es or 837 725 85
You can also check the website Lava Land Tour cr

For diner we recommend to go to La fortuna, there is a very nice bar-restaurant on the town square named Kazan, good food and price ok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Floxygenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellen, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in late October 2012 for one night. We stayed in one of the Jr. Jacuzzi Suites. The front desk staff were very friendly when we arrived and we were escorted to our room. The room was in a duplex building with beautiful gardens in the front and back. I had hoped we would have a better view of the volcano from our room that we did. We could see it from the front windows, but it wasn't like you could sit comfortably in the room and enjoy a volcano view. But other than that the room was really nice. I think other rooms on the property probably had more direct views than we did so I recommend you ask about the view from your specific room if that is important to you.

The room was very spacious and had very nice furnishings and decorations. My one complaint in the room was that the mattress was not very comfortable. For such a big beautifully dressed bed, I expected a better mattress.

The jacuzzi tub was nice and they had nice touches like incense and candles to use. We enjoyed a short walk to the swimming pool and hot springs pools and had a nice soak in the evening. The breakfast in the morning was very good and the view of the volcano from the dining room is spectacular. We could see the steam rising from vents near the top of the mountain.

We didn't have time to take advantage of the spa services but it looked very nice and the staff we met there were very friendly. This hotel is very close to the national park entrance. A 5-10 minute drive. We really enjoyed hiking the trails there. It is an easy 10-minute drive into town from the hotel.

Room Tip: I recommend you ask about the view of the volcano from your specific room if that is important to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisijb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
212 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We just left this hotel yesterday and were there for four nights. The dinner on the first night was really good, but the "free" breakfast was just okay. On the first morning everthing was cold, however, over the next few days they did a better job. We stayed in a room near the lake and really enjoyed the view of the volcano for the one day that it was not foggy, but he room was dirty and we will definately try another place if we decide to return. My girlfriend and I got a couples massage which was nice, but I would not recommend the hot tub inside the spa. I am not sure that it has been cleaned in a LONG time. The canopy tour behind the hotel was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#17 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,191 reviews
1.2 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,881 reviews
1.6 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
Address: 142, Costa Rica | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 824417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL THE SPLENDOR AND ADVENTURE OF LA FORTUNA JUST IN ONE PLACE!Welcome to an experience full of adventure and nature in Costa Rica...Just by the foot of the Arenal Volcano stands Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, a hotel inspired by its great natural environment, surrounded by 35 hectares of tropical forest on our private reserve.In balance with nature develop a site of rest and fun that makes you feel in a new world.With our All-Inclusive Package in La Fortuna, you can enjoy aholiday full of sustainable adventure and cultural experience.Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa has received the Fordor's Choice Award for several consecutive years, distinguished by Fodor's Travel as the best of hotels in the region of La Fortuna de San Carlos.PURE ADVENTURE IN OUR GO ADVENTURE PARK. Experience the best and exclusive eco adventure tours, feel the extreme nature of tropical forests and the powerful energy of the Arenal Volcano! A BREATH FOR TOUR SOUL... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana De Fuego Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Montana De Fuego Hotel And Spa
Montana De Fuego Resort
Hotel Montana De Fuego Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing