We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super great value central to the town, a short drive to hot springs, and en route to Arenal.”
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Las Colinas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 22, 2014

This hotel was our pit stop on a long, leisurely drive from San Jose to the ferry terminal in Puntarenas. The room was an excellent value at $62 USD per night for a two bed suite, and also was equipped with air conditioning. Wifi is free and the signal was adequate in our corner room on the second floor. The premises are cleanly and there is a nice upper deck area with lounge chairs to relax in. The stay was overall quiet, despite being on a road filled with shops and eateries. We ended up parking on the street, but were able to get a space right across fro the hotel. The hotel offers discounted tickets to the hot springs. Breakfast is complimentary and will be enough to get your day going (think scrambled eggs, potatoes, plantains, sausage, fruit, coffee, juice)

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back will likely be quieter than those facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nica1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 481 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

We really lucked out with this place!
Clean, spacious, and you couldn't get better front desk staff! Above and beyond helpful.
Thank you, thank you, thank you.
Breakfast was yummy, and the location was the best!
Nice to have a comfortable bed, hot water, a/c, and a common area to relax.
The Volcano is in plain view.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone
Stayed May 12-15th 2014.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1travellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel is owned by a family tha put a lot of heat in making the place clean, confortable and eco-friendly.

A/C and hot water functionning, very clean, nice terrasse partially covered, very helping staff, delicious breakfast.

Since every activities and tours are very expensive in Fortuna-Arenal, you don't want to pay too much for your hotel. Las Colinas is really the perfect place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The front desk staff is wonderful. They will help you with anything you need. The hotel is in good condition considering what you are paying. Rooms are clean and adequately maintained. Open common area was great for us to have a beer (purchased from down the street - LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION) and watch the April storms.

Downsides? Light/noise from the road. No point deduction as it didn't bother us much as we were tired from walking around! I could see it disturbing very light sleepers, especially during high season.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The staff is attentive and speaks English, Spanish, and German. The rooms are excellent and comfortable, the tropical setting is beautiful, and the food in the restaurant is delicious. I recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Atenas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lydia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This hotel was in a great location and I can't say enough about the friendly staff. The staff was willing to help with every request and question. The breakfast was great and the room was nice and clean. The rooms are simple, but you don't need much in this area with so much to do. There are many restaurants and bars within walking distance and the patio area was our favorite! It was so nice to sit out there with an amazing view of the volcano. Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Propietario at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2015

Thank you Thank you for your review.
We are a family bussines, so of course we are glad helping our guest with tips and recomendations!
There are many small details than can make the difference during a hotel stay... Breakfast is one of those, so we tried to offer different choices of fresh and delicious home made plates every day!
Be a small hotel is a challenge, there are so many options.. so thats is why we decided to leave a beautiful open terrace garden, where the guest can just relax and enjoy life!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The staff were super friendly and helped us with any question. The room was clean and the breakfast was good. The location is in the center of the town with many places to eat around. They also have a parking . Very recommended

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roni1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Propietario at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2015

Thank your for your review!
We are glad than you liked our hotel, our location, homemade breakfast and frindly attention make the difference!
Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,562 reviews
3.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,965 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
829 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,486 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#32 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Address: Calle 468, entre Avenida 325 y Ruta 142 | Half a block from the central park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $50 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Decor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing